We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fern Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
46 Fiddlehead Bay Road, Chestertown, NY 12817
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fern Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    100
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just recently stayed at Fern Lodge on a quick visit as we were driving back home from Quebec City. Our room was the Birch room, which was huge with a whirlpool ...steam room, small screened porch, lovely fireplace and more. All the special details are taking care of in the room..and Sharon is a lovely host. She recommended places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you even though your stay was brief- come back again soon! More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We were there for Memorial Day weekend. What an absolute gem this place is! Absolutely gorgeous property and such friendly, welcoming staff. The pine room was amazing. The breakfast was delicious. The boat rides on Friends Lake - very serene and beautiful. The steam shower and Jacuzzi in the room were so great. There are many beautiful hikes in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Manager at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry to have missed meeting you and so glad you enjoyed yourselves! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

This place is horrible! The room I stayed in was musty and hadn't been cleaned. The staff was also very rude and not helpful during my stay. Will never go here again!!! Save you're money and go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Tiffany and Vanessa never have stayed with us. They did have a wedding scheduled and they did cancel. Per the contract we retained their initial deposit. Because they are angry, they posted this trumped up hateful untrue review. More 

Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We decided at last minute to get away for a long weekend. My husband found the fern lodge near lake George. What a gem. We stayed in the birch room. It was very romantic. We used it as our base to go to lake placid one day and lake George another. The 3rd day we stayed on premises, went kayaking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry to have personally missed meeting you, but so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to meet you next time! More 

Portage, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

If you are a city slicker..... Please find time to get away. The seclusion of this luxury Lodge is relaxing and peaceful. Sharon and staff is amazingly accommodating. The amenities seemed endless. This will be my new hidaway/getaway from home. I encourage all to visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Manager at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

All your city slicker friends are most welcome- and even your non-city slicker friends! So nice to meet you. Thanks for sharing with Trip Advisor. Best, Sharon More 

Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My husband and I visited the Fern Lodge in November, and it was wonderful! The property is beautiful and feels very romantic. We loved watching a movie in the basement together, snuggled by the fire sipping wine with another couple, and enjoying a steam shower. The breakfast was amazing! Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review- we hope you do come back soon! More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Fern Lodge in May 2014. I can't say enough nice things about our experience. We stayed in the Forest room, which has its own private fire pit on the walkout patio. It also has a fireplace, an in-room two-person Jacuzzi, an enormous shower with multiple shower heads and large rocks to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Hope to see you back for an anniversary getaway! More 

Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The Fern Lodge was incredibly accomodating! Sharon was very friendly and helpful.They provided maps and suggestions for restaurants. We enjoyed playing ping pong, and watching movies in the theater with some freshly made popcorn! The steam shower, jetted tub, fireplace, and sounds of crickets chirping outside made for a very relaxing, and romantic honeymoon in the Adirondacks. It was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

We hope you come back soon also- maybe for an anniversary or babymoon! More 

Lake Placid, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed at The Fern Lodge in November 2014 and Sharon and Greg are the perfect hosts! Our room was beautiful, its one of their newest rooms and at every turn they thought of everything. The view was beautiful and bathroom over the top! Breakfast was wonderful and this is the place to be if you are snowed in. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you - we hope you will be back soon!! More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I just got home from a very relaxing one night stay at The Fern Lodge. When we arrived, innkeeper Sharon and the dogs, Noche and Shadow greeted us!! If you're not a fan of dogs, this is not the place for you! The dogs are not allowed in the guest rooms, however they are allowed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We are adult only - our guests are couples that are enjoying a romantic time alone - away from their own children. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
3:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#1 of 3 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#6 of 9 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conway's Lake Manor
Conway's Lake Manor
#4 of 8 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay