We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Chautauqua hotels

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Spencer Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Chautauqua
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
JohannaSC South Carolina
  • Reviews (115)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    11
    14
    17
See reviews for
19
59
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Spencer accommodations are disappointing in that the picture of the Room which we booked certainly looks larger and different from it actually is. Upon check in no one was at desk, so we "yoo hooed" , and the very affable Laura met us. She took us to our room. The room was/is quite stuffy. Though the hotel advertises air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Spencer Hotel looked beautiful in the pictures on the website. The owner was very nice on the phone, however she didn't tell us about all the fees you have to pay to be on the grounds of the "Chautauqua Institute"! We get to the hotel, which was quaint, but dated. We unloaded our things from the car and got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night passing thru the area. While tricky to find, the location is wonderful. Excellent hotel, unique rooms, awesome friendly staff, great ambiance. We plan on coming back for an extended stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I booked a night at the Spencer Hotel for a one night getaway for my girlfriend and I to celebrate our anniversary. Everything about our stay was great. From booking online til the breakfast we were served before we left, everything was outstanding. The room was even better than I anticipated and the service was top notch. I would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate the guest comments about their one night getaway to celebrate their anniversary. We strive to make our guests comfortable whether their stay is for one night or a full week during the Chautauqua Season. Our location within the historic Chautauqua Institution affords guests unique accommodation in the only literary themed hotel in the country. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, comforts of home and chock full of character!! If you like family dining, easy access to local community events and vineyard adventures, this hotel provides acentral location for all!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We are very pleased when our guests enjoy our central location within Chautauqua County and especially within Chautauqua Institution. Our four seasons afford guests a wide variety of events and activities; during the Chautauqua Season (third week in June through the third week of August) there are numerous learning opportunities on the grounds as well as world-class speakers, art &... More

Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful weekend trip to The Spencer Hotel and Spa. Chris, the manager, was spectacular. His knowledge of area restaurants and events was most helpful. Breakfast served in the formal dining area was a great way to start the day. The relaxing fireside glass of wine was a great way to end the night in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We are most appreciative of the guest review. We strive to make our guests memorable and enjoyable and we are pleased to assist them in finding enjoyable activities while they are our guests.. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at The Spencer for New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. While driving there, we phoned ahead and inquired about local restaurants in the area that would be open for the holiday. The staff at The Spencer called around and researched for us, then called back with ample information and even offered to make a reservation for us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We were delighted to have this couple as guests over the New Year's holiday. They made good use of the winter activities that were enhanced by a winter snow storm. When the storm prevented one of our massage therapists being available for our wonderful "couples massage" the guests were happy to split the hour+ time with our best massage therapist... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Spencer was amazing. It's absolutely beautiful, clean, warm, and relaxing. It really is like being at home (if your home is a 30+ room mansion decorated in the Victorian style with an amazing staff that prepares you fresh breakfast every morning!). I would recommend this hotel to anyone and actually already have.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the guest's comments about their recent stay with us. We try to afford our guests the same hospitality and warmth that we would expect when staying somewhere and also try to make our guests comfortable enough that they feel the Spencer is their "home away from home". Sleigh rides are being offered each weekend throughout January &... More

Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a weekend getaway. It was very quiet in the area so not much was open. The Manager was awesome. So accomodating and had great suggests on where to go for lunch and dinner. The breakfast the next morning was not great. I do give the inn keepers a lot of credit for making us feel as welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate the guests positive comments and feedback. We strive to make each guest stay as "special" as possible and find it gratifying when guests compliment us on our hospitality. We look forward to the guest return during the upcoming Chautauqua Season. More

Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Outdated; plumbing issues to include low and no water pressure. No climate control in room. Could not open a window. The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept on. Spa services were limited. Could not enjoy them with spouse. Very overpriced and very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We regret the guests' experience this past weekend was unsatisfactory. Management attempted to address each concern raised by the guests in a timely manner. Due to one of our regular massage therapists being unavailable, we were only able to offer the guests individual massages by our best therapist; unfortunately, the guests did not wish to available themselves of both services... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Spencer Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Address: 25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book'. Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Every room lovingly created as a literary fantasy. Breakfast included daily and dinner included M-F only. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer