We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Chautauqua hotels

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Literary Themed!
Save Saved
You added The Spencer Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity Tingo.com
and 4 more sites!
64%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Chautauqua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014
kearsarger Erie, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    10
    14
    16
See reviews for
19
56
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful weekend trip to The Spencer Hotel and Spa. Chris, the manager, was spectacular. His knowledge of area restaurants and events was most helpful. Breakfast served in the formal dining area was a great way to start the day. The relaxing fireside glass of wine was a great way to end the night in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at The Spencer for New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. While driving there, we phoned ahead and inquired about local restaurants in the area that would be open for the holiday. The staff at The Spencer called around and researched for us, then called back with ample information and even offered to make a reservation for us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We were delighted to have this couple as guests over the New Year's holiday. They made good use of the winter activities that were enhanced by a winter snow storm. When the storm prevented one of our massage therapists being available for our wonderful "couples massage" the guests were happy to split the hour+ time with our best massage therapist... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Spencer was amazing. It's absolutely beautiful, clean, warm, and relaxing. It really is like being at home (if your home is a 30+ room mansion decorated in the Victorian style with an amazing staff that prepares you fresh breakfast every morning!). I would recommend this hotel to anyone and actually already have.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the guest's comments about their recent stay with us. We try to afford our guests the same hospitality and warmth that we would expect when staying somewhere and also try to make our guests comfortable enough that they feel the Spencer is their "home away from home". Sleigh rides are being offered each weekend throughout January &... More

Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a weekend getaway. It was very quiet in the area so not much was open. The Manager was awesome. So accomodating and had great suggests on where to go for lunch and dinner. The breakfast the next morning was not great. I do give the inn keepers a lot of credit for making us feel as welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate the guests positive comments and feedback. We strive to make each guest stay as "special" as possible and find it gratifying when guests compliment us on our hospitality. We look forward to the guest return during the upcoming Chautauqua Season. More

Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Outdated; plumbing issues to include low and no water pressure. No climate control in room. Could not open a window. The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept on. Spa services were limited. Could not enjoy them with spouse. Very overpriced and very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We regret the guests' experience this past weekend was unsatisfactory. Management attempted to address each concern raised by the guests in a timely manner. Due to one of our regular massage therapists being unavailable, we were only able to offer the guests individual massages by our best therapist; unfortunately, the guests did not wish to available themselves of both services... More

Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know. It was very well maintained and the staff were great. As stated in many other reviews Chris is excellent. He was very friendly and seemed to know everything about the institution and surrounding areas. We visited during the off season, Sept 12-13, and the rooms were very quiet. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the guest couple's relating their very positive experience staying with us and look forward to their return for a future stay. More

Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

They were the only positives I could find in this otherwise abysmal hotel. The owner, Helen, has no concern for the safety or comfort of her guests. We were here during an an unusual heat wave of 90+ degrees. The first night sleep was impossible, as the inside and outside temps were both unbearable. I thought the Ac was broken,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We deeply regret the guests disappointment with certain aspects of their recent stay. We try to maintain a comfortable and friendly facility. The situation with the air conditioning was an oversight and resulted from an internal miscommunication; when we learned of the guests concern about the room temperature we remedied the situation immediately; unfortunately, the problem arose again the second... More

Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First, our biggest complaint would be with the breakfast that was served. There were only six people staying at the hotel the weekend we were there, yet the breakfast was made the night before and we believe left out overnight. It was some sort of (lukewarm) egg strata without any flavor. None of the guests enjoyed it. We all thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We regret the guests stay, especially the food service, were not up to their expectations and what have been favorable comments we usually receive from guests. It is customary for us to prepare some breakfast items e.g. our egg based casserole (strata) the night before and finish baking the dish prior to serving to our guests. Our breakfast entrees are... More

East Aurora, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is lovely and relaxing and everything we hoped it would be. And it is surely the people who own and manage the hotel that make it exquisite. Chris, the hotel manager, is such a wonderful host with history and knowledge and a willingness to share. Kudos

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We were delighted the guest found the Spencer to be the perfect spot to experience Chautauqua Institution. We hope your stay whetted your appetite for a return visit for the 2014 Chautauqua Season or another "getaway" weekend during the coming Fall/Winter/Spring Seasons. Thank you for your very kind comments about us. More

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not only was this a great location, but the hotel is warm, friendly, and "green" (no paper products used for meals). One of the best parts is listening to concerts from the balcony outside our room. This was our first visit to Chautauqua. We would definitely return to the Spencer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate this guest's recognition of our service quality which is the rationale for our use of china, flatware and glassware for our meals at the Spencer. We feel our guests deserve a high standard of food service and quality. The guest also points out our very good location in the heart of Chautauqua Institution close to the Amphitheater and... More

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua
Address: 25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book'. Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Every room lovingly created as a literary fantasy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.