We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015
Jennie K
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    13
    14
    20
See reviews for
22
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I am currently staying in the hotel for a Clinique conference and have to say the staff are amazing. They're super friendly, attentive, courteous and kind. I was first greeted by Paul who was really friendly and took both myself and my colleague to the table where the other girls were already sat and he helped us all get better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The staff alone are so so so nice. We went for a spa day with the pool and sat in the gym afterwards and the manager of the gym offered us two complimentary gym sessions. The spa was amazing. I'm sitting here writing this in the gym because I don't want to leave!!!! A+++ for this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Our stay at the Spencer Hotel was so restful and fun. We have never slept better in our lives. The beds were amazing and the rooms so clean and decorated so lovely. It's fun to choose your favorite arthur and read about the person in your room that has been decorated so tastefully to depict aspects of their novel. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is one of the most nicest places we've ever stayed the staff Helen and Melissa and dick are very nice and make your stay wonderful look forward to coming back again we've been here at least 8 or 9 times in the last 2 years we will continue to come back more. Thank you spencer hotel staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

My wife and I attended the Spencer Hotel and Spa for a marriage retreat this past weekend and we were pleased with our stay here. Helen was a nice and hospitable owner and the meals were delicious. We enjoyed the company of friends and enjoyed meeting new couples in the lobby/den area. Not to mention it is just a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

this was such a scam. My husband and I came up for the wine and chocolate weekend and decided to stay here based upon the photos online. First off when we got there we were greeted by a dog first and not a human. Finally Helen came out and said hello. We were told our room was not ready and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SpencerHotel, Director of Sales at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

This review is very surprising to us as the owner of the hotel took the guests to their room herself and even took time to show them how to operate the window shades in the room. This guest was also given the most popular room in the hotel at $50.00 less than the asking price when she informed us she... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

The woman who runs this place (I believe her name is Helen) is a crook and a scam artist. She takes advantage of older travelers with lies and false advertising. They hotel is dirty, cold and poorly managed. The woman is deplorably rude and disrespectful unless you are handing her money. She ruined our vacation and I will never solicited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

I am so terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I deeply regret that you did not let us know that you prefer your room warmer or that you didn't enjoy your breakfast to our attention while you were here. We would have happily adjusted the thermostat and made you something different to eat. I would ask you... More 

Unadilla, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight well after the close of the season; our room was a bit on the grungy side (the curtains need to be cleaned!), but the breakfast was lovely and we had a VERY nice time talking with the owner. The hotel is pretty and there are many interesting things to look at having to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpencerHotel, Sales and Marketing at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed the details of your room. It is our intention for our guests to feel submerged into the literary theme of their room! Getting to know our guests and visiting with them is important to the owner and the rest of the staff, so we are pleased that you were able to experience her... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My sister and I were looking for someplace within a few hours' drive of Cleveland to get a way for the weekend. We wanted to stay only one night, a Saturday in early November, and the Spencer kept showing as unavailable. I called them directly and found out that during the season, a Saturday stay usually requires a two-night booking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SpencerHotel, Sales and Marketing at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank-you for all of your kind words about our staff! We are so pleased that you and your sister had such a lovely time. Our hotel really does have the ideal location for a peaceful getaway from cities such as Cleveland, Pittsburgh and Buffalo. Many of our non-summer season guests come here for the serenity and to enjoy the beauty... More 

webster, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We booked a week for July 2015 and treated ourselves to a drive and orientation your and introduction at the Spencer hotel. Helen greeted us as if we were old friends. Hannah the puppy lead us on our tour We are very pleased with out discovery and look forward yo next July Trust your instincts. Helen is very helpful. Price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We are so glad the guests stopped for an in-person tour of the Spencer. There is much to be said about actually experiencing the hotel's charm, exquisite decorating and commitment to making our guests feel "at home". A very satisfactory alternative is to visit our website and view all of our guest rooms on line. Of course should a guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay