We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
25 Palestine Avenue, Chautauqua, NY 14722
Announcement
'15 rates for '16 Season
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    32
    15
    15
    24
See reviews for
27
76
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Spencer is an older but a lovely hotel with decor that nicely reflects the cultural environment of Chautauqua Institution. The proprietors obviously love art and literature. Paintings of water lilies reminiscent of Monet dot the entry walls and every room or suite is charmingly themed to an author. Much thought has gone into the furnishings throughout, which are beautifully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, the hotel is extremely expensive for what you get. The rooms we stayed in were very small (my k8ds stayed in one room, we ere in another). Pictures on site are misleading. The bathroom had a 'whirlpool' tub, however, at 80+ years of age, I could not risk attempting to climb into a tiny bath tub. Not even close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location a block from amphitheater allows quality porch time to listen to great music. Meals included were good and we met many interesting people at breakfast& dinner. The bathroom floor and sink could have been cleaner. Future upgrade should include shower in all units. Bob the general manager was very attentive to our needs. Our personal preference is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
East Amherst, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just this afternoon returned from the Spencer, I am amazed at what I read below by others. I had no problem with the water pressure, in fact the shower spray was strong and the space quite roomy; the food was ample, never running short; breakfast was yummy, cooked in-house by the manager, a guy who like a full breakfast;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My review is that the Spencer Hotel shouldn't call itself a hotel or even a B&B. It was dirty, cramped , old, and not at all comfortable. There wasn't anyone in charge most of the time and the young staff was always trying to help without direction or assistance from the management. The a/c, wi-Fi, and water pressure was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you feel that you did not have the same experience at the Spencer on your last stay as you have had in the past. I'll address some of the points your brought up in your review. Although the Spencer Hotel & Spa is over 100 years old, all of the infrastructure (pipes, a/c, heating, etc.)... More 

Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful location in the center of all the activities. That's about the only thing they had going for the place. Sonetimes there was no staff available in the later evening if there was a problem that needed to be taken care of.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSpencer, Owner at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, this gives me an opportunity to answer your concerns. We have grab bars for all the shower but we only put them on when requested. We do have staff in the evening, there is a bell at the front desk to ring if they have stepped away for a moment. there is also a phone... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last year I gave the Spencer a five star rating. This year I am giving it a one star rating. The entire staff has been changed. Here are just few of this year's problems. Elevator failed for 24 hours impacting those who could not climb the stairs. Low water pressure in upper floors. Chinese staff speaks very little English. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSpencer, Owner at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

After reading your review I want to take a moment to respond to your thoughts: The elevator repair man came immediately but did not have the part needed so came back the next day everything fix and running beautifully. The water pressure required a changing filter everything running fine. The Chinese girls are lacking in language skills and western culture... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst hotel, inn or B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. The service was terrible (except for one 22 year old just out of college); the rooms were marginal (teeny bathroom; uncomfortable bed and no space at all); the food was okay at best, but sometimes not enough for all who paid for breakfast and dinner, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay during your visit with us. Regarding the rooms, we have rooms ranging from two twin beds to full suites with 1 1/2 baths and jacuzzi tubs for two. The original hotel had 48 rooms, and when purchased and renovated in 1997 the hotel was changed to only 24... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Welcoming staff, clean room, very comfortable bed. Great location in the heart of the institution but quiet enough to sleep undisturbed. Loved the literary theme and wonderful murals. Would happily return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

A bit outdated and in need of repairs. Rooms are small. Can't open windows. Plumbing has issues (toilets running and sinks leaking). Beds were good though. Food was fair. Not crazy about the manager's dog in the dining room and yapping in the halls. Can't beat the location (1/4 block from the Amp).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSpencer, Owner at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

thank you for your review it gives me an opportunity to share important info with you..There were 45 when I started and 24 now so the rooms are much larger than in the beginning. The reason you can not open the windows is we have central A/C through out the entire building. The plumber came and fixed the water leaking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
2.2 mi away
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
17.1 mi away
Peek'n Peak Resort and Spa
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown
Comfort Inn Jamestown
#3 of 6 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay