We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    58
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
65
20
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Maple City, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent staff and attention to detail. Clean, comfortable and convenient. The room was easy to get to from lobby. The bar staff was friendly and attentive. Very easy to get to meetings at St. Lawrence University

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoy your most recent stay. Furthermore, I am very glad the bar staff was able to take care of you so well. We hope to see you again in the future. Truly, Justin A Chapman, CHA General Manager More 

New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here many times in the past and have never stayed where there hasn't been something to complain about, but this visit reached new lows: noise, problems with heat, slow housekeeping, lousy mattresses, private child's birthday party taking place in the pool area(?!), etc. My family stays here often as we have a daughter at a nearby college. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your most recent stay. We strive to make sure every guest has a pleasant experience. I have forwarded your comments to our department heads to examine what we can do to improve from your feedback. We do rent out our pool facility for birthday parties but we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Our equestrian team came to Canton to see the college riding comp. The rooms were great- the pool was so fun- and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was a bit slow and disorganized for not being very busy, but the food was hot and delish! We will happily bring this group back to this hotel in the fall!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corning, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Gina in the restaurant was wonderfully helpful and friendly. food was great. Hotel was quiet and very clean. Pool and Hot tub were excellent in cleanliness and temperature. very nice workout area. enjoyed my stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairport, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I didn't see other hotel options in Canton. However, the Best Western would be a great choice even in a more populated area. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. I will stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
RI, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

DUMP, Dark, Dingy, like a jail cell! Parking lot - an unplowed mess! No place to unload out of weather, & girl got snotty when I asked! Had to lug bags up slippery front steps, No elevator, TV Poor, Room Service Meal Poor, and THE LIST GOES ON!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I want to start out by thanking you for sharing your feedback on your most recent stay. Furthermore, I want to apologize for not delivering the quality stay that I know we can. I am investigating your issues and I will rectify the poor service at the front desk as well as the room service issues. I... More 

Scottsville, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The rooms were typical of Best Western hotels in size and amenities. Ours was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Small bathroom, but clean as well. It was very quiet, which is huge for me as I am a very light sleeper. The staff was very friendly. I wish I would have brought my cross-country skis as there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Furthermore, I am glad you were able to take advantage of the live music provided over the weekend. It is to bad you did not bring your skis as the cross-country trail over the golf course it quite enjoyable. Hopefully, next time when you are visiting during... More 

Rochester, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Second time staying here. Awsome little hotel, very friendly staff, food is excellent, rooms clean and comfortable. Bed was so comfortable slept through 2 alarms. Would stay here for business or pleasure when in this region

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Previous guest's hair all over shower walls. Went to breakfast and even though the place was virtually empty, waited over 15 minutes for my order to be taken. Staff was more interested than putting dishes away and socializing with one another.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I wanted to thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I want to apologize on behalf of the hotel for not meeting your expectations. Our hotel prides itself on a high level of cleanliness and I am very disappointed we did not achieve this during your last stay. I have addressed... More 

Verona, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

As always, we had a wonderful stay at the Best Western University Inn in Canton NY. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We ate at both of the restaurants, one is a pub setting and the other a restaurant. Our server For breakfast, Gins, was very attentive. Her recommendations were spot on, and the service was efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, It was a true pleasure reading your review this morning. I cannot thank you enough for such high recommendations. It is our goal to ensure each and every guest has a clean and comfortable stay. Furthermore, Gina was extremely excited to hear the review at our morning stand up meeting. It truly made her smile. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question