We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Canton hotels

BEST WESTERN University Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn to your Saves list
71%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
George B Mills, United States
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
60
17
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Mills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a wonderful hotel and the staff was great. The room was perfect and so was the room service. The food was excellent and you can walk out of your door onto the golf course, or go down stairs to the work out room, pool or hot tub.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bottom floor felt like I was staying in a basement, room seemed really small. I love the fact that they are a "Eco Friendly" but most of the pillows had some sort of make-up all over them, they really should have been cleaned and not left for the next guess. The Bathroom was small, old and dirty (hair in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, It is with sincere apologies that I write to you. I am very disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations during your last stay. We are aware the building does prevent cellular service for some carriers and we are looking into possible solutions to this issue. I will immediately investigate the issue you had with your pillows.... More

Steelville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The heater was noisy. The pool ' spa is nicely appointed. There pool / spa is nicely appointed. There is no complementary breakfast bar. The Inn is well located near St. Lawrence , but book a year in advance for any major University event, especially Parent's Weekend.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

positive: nice pool and hot tub area negative: room showing age, bathroom unclean and smelled of urine..was cleaned after I called the front desk 25 dollar fee added on just in case I wanted to eat in their restaurant? it will supposedly be returned? I have not encountered a charge like this in a long time...it was in the fine... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad you were able to enjoy the pool & hot tub. We get many great compliments on the quality of our pool & hot tub. The $25 fee is a pre-authorization. This pre-authorization is a hold on the credit card, not a charge. It will drop off your account 3-5 days after checking out. I am... More

Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lack of hotels in Potsdam/Canton is shocking in light of 4 Universities located there. Best Western is among the best of the lot. If it is a big weekend, you need reservations far in advance. Be careful of the lower level because it flooded while I was there and although everyone insisted it was unusual, I wouldn't want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was great. The only draw back was no cell phone service in my room. The location was alright. Wanted to stay in Potsdam but Canton was the only hotel with rooms available. The breakfast was amazing and the price was right.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When your child is going to school in the Canton/Potsdam area in NY there is not a huge selection of places to stay. After a 6 hour drive the Best Western University Inn was a welcome sight. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Over the next 4 years we will be visiting this area... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel for the college drop off. Nice bar, good food. Nice helpful staff. Great price. Call far in advance for special occasions. No complaints, clean and friendly! No really other options, so I was surprised the staff was so friendly, and rooms were comfy. Great indoor hot tub and pool area. Bring your bathing suits, have a drink with... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The bathroom floor was covered in hair. There was pubic hair on the tub and the clean towels! We showed the person on duty at the front desk - he did nothing. There were no other rooms and no rooms anywhere else due to the students moving in. Wee had to clean the mess ourselves they did not offer! Not... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am profusely sorry your stay was below your expectations. We are investigating this issue and will make sure we do everything to rectify it. Furthermore, I apologize for the level of service you received after reporting this issue. This is not how we operate and we are truly disappointed we let you down. We would love a... More

Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Not a big selection in this area. Best Western fair. The front desk staff was okay. Room was outdated. Bathroom small. No breakfast. Easy to find and very close to the university. Didn't try the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Canton Hotel Canton
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western
Best Western Canton

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near BEST WESTERN University Inn