We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Canandaigua hotels

The Inn on the Lake

770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Hotel amenities
The Inn on the Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Nancy S Atlanta
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    38
    21
    16
See reviews for
49
81
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a long hard business day, this was the relaxation I needed. I was able to upgrade to a lake view and it was definitely worth the little extra cost. The front desk staff was nice. The room was nice with a sitting area, bath, bedroom and a deck overlooking the lake. Beautiful area. Able to walk around the lake.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is nice when you can spend a moment and relax after a long day, I am glad we were able to accommodate Thank you very much for the review and all the nice comments, I will be sure to pass them along to the staff. . We would love to have you back when you get some... More

Fremont, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here during a recent vacation with another couple. We chose a room with a lake view. The room was clean and comfortable, but still needs some improvements. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom which seems to be damaging the bath side of the doors. We loved the view and the exterior seating just outside the door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation. The views from our lakefront are truly amazing, especially in the Fall. We are in the process of updating all of our guest rooms, so we hope your next visit will be just as enjoyable. Thank you for your review and I will be sure to pass along your... More

Babylon, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

8 sorority sisters have a yearly gathering and this year we chose Inn on the Lake's Un"wine" d package from 9/19-9/21/15. What an amazing experience for under $300 per sister. Prior to our arrival we had requested rooms together and our request was met. Our reservation was confirmed with a friendly email from the Desk Manager about a week prior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our popular Un 'Wine'd Package. I will pass along all your nice comments to the staff at the New York Wine and Culinary Center and especially Mellissa and the rest of the staff at The Inn who had a great time... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very lovely Inn. Beautiful views and very convenient access to everything from the lake to downtown to various restaurants withing walking or biking distance. The two double bed suite was gigantic, with comfortable space for everyone. I was especially surprised by the living room with its own TV and a little kitchenette. Yes, the room is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate the time taken to post your review, and all the nice comments about your stay. Hope you can visit the area again sometime soon! More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great two nights at the Inn. We were in town for the triathlon but since we made our reservations early we were a little afraid after reading some of the reviews here though we knew we would be on the water so at least that would be good.We arrived early and went to our lovely room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments! I will also pass along your nice comments about our restaurant and Sand Bar. We really enjoy having all the tri-athletes back every year and when we can, accommodate them with late check-outs, we understand the time constraints your under. Hope to... More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a recent trip to the Finger Lakes my wife and I decided to stay in a Lake Side Room. Here are a few things you should consider prior to booking here on a Friday night: If you arrive after 5 there's NO parking due to the popularity of the resorts lake bar. They really don't cater to the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your personal feedback regarding our hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay with us was not what it should have been. It is our goal to provide the best hotel experience and we will work hard to rectify these issues. That being said, we are currently underway with updates... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Inn on the lake has beautiful grounds. It is right on Canandaigua Lake and has great views. The waterfront rooms also walk out to a small porch area to overlook the water. There bar/restaurant on the lake and its got a nice atmosphere. The rooms are very dated. Drop tile ceilings and similar bathrooms that you would find in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Your comments are and will be acted upon. We do have beautiful grounds with incredible views of Canandaigua Lake. We are happy you had a chance to enjoy them. Our guest rooms and public areas are currently going through an upgrade that we are very excited about. On a different note, I am... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it here! Peaceful, gorgeous rooms overlooking the lake. Nice balconies with Adirondack chairs and a large lawn to hang out on. Pool was nice too. Went to the sand bar and had good pub style food and drinks and there was a band which was fun. The only reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating is because the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the review. Updates are underway, which include pillow-top mattresses! See you again soon! More

Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location, but the property is in need of a serious update in the rooms and with their staff. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights for a wedding. The wedding was done on location as well and was a great wedding. The food, and service during the wedding were fantastic. The hotel was apparently sold out during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All comments are taken very seriously and acted upon. To begin, I'm glad to hear that the food and service at the wedding you attended was fantastic! I will pass that along to our Banquet Department. It does however, disappoint me to hear the impression the... More

East Greenbush
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended a wedding at the Inn. It was a beautiful setting for a wedding and we were lucky to have perfect August weather. The wedding setting was lovely but the rooms were in need of updating. Old bathrooms and old furnishings. Nothing terrible but the partially used toiletries in the bathroom made me squeamish. Would not stay here again. Three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that you had perfect weather at a beautiful wedding location. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the guest room. We have recently started the process of updating our guest rooms and public areas and hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. More

Do you own or manage The Inn on the Lake?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Inn on the Lake