We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Canandaigua hotels

The Inn on the Lake

770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
The Inn on the Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
66%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bridget6667 New York City, New York
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    91
    38
    21
    16
See reviews for
48
80
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great two nights at the Inn. We were in town for the triathlon but since we made our reservations early we were a little afraid after reading some of the reviews here though we knew we would be on the water so at least that would be good.We arrived early and went to our lovely room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments! I will also pass along your nice comments about our restaurant and Sand Bar. We really enjoy having all the tri-athletes back every year and when we can, accommodate them with late check-outs, we understand the time constraints your under. Hope to... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a recent trip to the Finger Lakes my wife and I decided to stay in a Lake Side Room. Here are a few things you should consider prior to booking here on a Friday night: If you arrive after 5 there's NO parking due to the popularity of the resorts lake bar. They really don't cater to the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your personal feedback regarding our hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay with us was not what it should have been. It is our goal to provide the best hotel experience and we will work hard to rectify these issues. That being said, we are currently underway with updates... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn on the lake has beautiful grounds. It is right on Canandaigua Lake and has great views. The waterfront rooms also walk out to a small porch area to overlook the water. There bar/restaurant on the lake and its got a nice atmosphere. The rooms are very dated. Drop tile ceilings and similar bathrooms that you would find in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Your comments are and will be acted upon. We do have beautiful grounds with incredible views of Canandaigua Lake. We are happy you had a chance to enjoy them. Our guest rooms and public areas are currently going through an upgrade that we are very excited about. On a different note, I am... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it here! Peaceful, gorgeous rooms overlooking the lake. Nice balconies with Adirondack chairs and a large lawn to hang out on. Pool was nice too. Went to the sand bar and had good pub style food and drinks and there was a band which was fun. The only reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating is because the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the review. Updates are underway, which include pillow-top mattresses! See you again soon! More

Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location, but the property is in need of a serious update in the rooms and with their staff. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights for a wedding. The wedding was done on location as well and was a great wedding. The food, and service during the wedding were fantastic. The hotel was apparently sold out during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All comments are taken very seriously and acted upon. To begin, I'm glad to hear that the food and service at the wedding you attended was fantastic! I will pass that along to our Banquet Department. It does however, disappoint me to hear the impression the... More

East Greenbush
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended a wedding at the Inn. It was a beautiful setting for a wedding and we were lucky to have perfect August weather. The wedding setting was lovely but the rooms were in need of updating. Old bathrooms and old furnishings. Nothing terrible but the partially used toiletries in the bathroom made me squeamish. Would not stay here again. Three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that you had perfect weather at a beautiful wedding location. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the guest room. We have recently started the process of updating our guest rooms and public areas and hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the 3rd Canandaigua Hotel we've stayed at, and it tops our list. It was a bit higher priced, and no breakfast included, but the location, comfort of the rooms and nightlife made up for that. We found the room quiet, clean and comfortable. The Sand Bar and Lounge were fun places for an evening cocktail with a view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and nice comments! I will pass along your comments to our Bar Manager. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime! More

Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is due for an update but still clean and relatively comfortable..The people were friendly and helpful..We ate breakfast there and found it to be ok..It was located right on the lake on some very expensive real estate so the price was reasonable..In door pool and hot tub were nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the worst hotels I've experienced in a long time. Overall it was like staying at some cheap hotel chain like La Quinta or Quality in, but older and way more expensive. Negatives included ceilings so low I hit my head on a fire alarm in the hallway, deteriorated furniture, broken fixtures (lamps, ironing board, etc), dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed from 8/11/14-8/14/14. I was extremely disappointed with The Inn on the Lake. The rooms were adequate, but nothing special. We reserved a suite with two queen beds and a fold-out sofa specifically for three adults and two children. No bedding was provided for the sofa, and the two beds each only had two pillows. Upon entry, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry your 3 night stay with us was not an enjoyable one. Our maintenance and housekeeping staffs are on duty 24/7 so hopefully someone took care of the issues you had mentioned upon your arrival. I have also reviewed the issues you encountered in our dining facilities with our Food and Beverage Director, to ensure that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Canandaigua with
any amenities