We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cold Spring Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
530 Oliverea Rd, Big Indian, NY 12410
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cold Spring Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property was the perfect place to get away from the noisy city. I loved that the cabin was perfectly sized for me and my girlfriend. We got to bring our dog which was a plus! all 3 of us did not want to leave. Very quiet, far enough from other people but close enough to get to a grocery... More 

Helpful?
Thank will r
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We wanted a place where we could get away for Christmas. We found Cold Spring Lodge by searching "Best pet friendly cabins in NY". We didn't know what we were looking for. All the reviews on trip advisor and elsewhere for Cold Spring Lodge were better than average. We had a party of four and a dog. We stayed in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Not thrilled for two reasons: One is we had to leave for a family emergency reason and they refused even a partial refund. Sorry but we're not going to sit around in a dead cell area when there is a family issue. (We're not told about the cell coverage ahead of time, which we wouldn't normally mind, but management should... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank KodaBeaufort
Mount Vernon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

I would like to share my experience with you guys during my stay. For quite a while i was looking for a quiet little getaway when i could rest not only my body but my mind as well and i could not have found a better place. I loved my stay here and for a long time i had not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

We have stayed for 2 nights in a cabin #2. I love the rustic feel of the living room, nice fireplace. Bed mattress and pillows were comfortable. The heat was working good, the shower had a good water pressure and it was plenty hot. I like that they didn't charge for the wood and they don't have a pet fee.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelerCZ08
Laurens, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Beware! The office lobby was dark rang bell for service. Karen showed me to cabin 7 treading rotten apples under a tree. The deck needed paint or stain with loose boards near doors. Opening the creaky storm door there was a hole in it where the arm to hold it open was broken off (later found on the floor next... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank H9683Hcarolm
Kundapa W, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review

We are very surprised & disheartened to read this. As managers we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy the stay with us and wished you had shared even one of these issues with us during your time here. Although most guests tell us they enjoy the cabin you stayed in and have a great time at our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

Cold Spring Lodge has been a family favorite for years. The new Managers have really spruced things up. You can purchase wood which they deliver to your campsite or pick up all the fixins for making smores at the Lodge office. The grounds are so well maintained and now there are marked walking/hiking trails on the mountain. While the cabins... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esteretta S
Kundapa W, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review

Esteretta, as one of the valued members of the "Cold Spring Lodge Family", your review means so much to us. So kind of you to include us in the "family favorite" category! Your family has been visiting us year after year, and we are grateful to you for allowing us to be part of your vacation traditions. We hope to... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Me and my party of 18 had a great time. The 3 cabins we took was great. Remember is a cabin not a hotel room. I would recommend Cold Spring Lodge to any one and I will return anytime. We are from the City and we was looking for a quiet and peaceful place to get away from the hustle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramkissoon
Kundapa W, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review

Wow! Thanks so much for the kind words. Your group was such a pleasure to host and we truly enjoyed having you on property. We are glad to read that you found things to be a good value, clean, well stocked and well kept! It was nice to see your family and friends enjoying the pool and lawns. We'd be... More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

This is an old, neglected property that is in need of lots of work. Although the property managers seemed friendly and helpful, the condition of the cabin couldn't be overcome with friendliness and helpfulness. There were no chairs on the nice deck (you had to go to the main office and get some folding chairs if you wanted to sit... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank zhq01
Kundapa W, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your brief stay at Cold Spring Lodge. Your family booked online, arrived, and had very little interaction with us before leaving immediately. We truly wish we would have been given the opportunity at anytime during your booking process or when you got here, to converse with you to be sure you knew what... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Went looking for a place where you could lodge with your dog and stumbled across this place through a recommendation. Arrived and the staff (Matt and Karen) immediately came out and helped us with our stay. Really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. There were some nice trails around the area plus a great restaurant (Peekamore) that really enhanced the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frankie A
Kundapa W, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We truly enjoyed having you & your awesome four legged friend visit. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed some of the awesome hikes and restaurants around here... there are so many to choose from! We've been working hard on fixing screens all over the property so we hope your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
19.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
23.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
16.3 mi away
Scribner Hollow Lodge
20.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#1 of 6 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay