We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge

55 Hessian Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Hotel amenities
Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
demejo825 Hollywood, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    42
    31
    9
    13
See reviews for
30
62
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Hollywood, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was adequate and clean with a coffee pot and refrigerator but no frills. The hallway smelled a bit musty but the view from the porch is gorgeous. Maintenance was quick to fix the Wi-Fi. A continental breakfast was included and located in the Main Lounge. It's a beautiful area with lots to do. The bonus is that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here because I got a groupon, the hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside was that bear mountain state park's pool was closed so there was no where to swim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed one night in room 108 . There was a view of the lake and river which was very nice . The room was past it's best , worn and stained carpet etc . It was clean but don't expect luxury . The office is in Bear mountain inn and the keycard has to be collected there first .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Very good but a good distance from the main inn. Very comfortable bed and very quiet. Other than morning coffee or tea nothing available until you return to the main inn. The breakfast was not the best with very little available and only for a very short period of time. They had serve yourself waffles but only one station for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our overlook lodge. The building has beautiful views of lake hessian and the Hudson river, and the lobby is such a nice quaint area for relaxation. I will share your feedback on the continental with our culinary and restaurant team, we... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I just returned from a two night stay at one of the Bear Mountain Inn's Stone Cottages. Upon arrival, you must first drive to the main building to check in before driving to the stone cottages, which we did not mind at all. However, walking into the cottage was a let down. The "beautiful front porch" was dusty, full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are terribly sorry that the cottage lodging did not fulfill the expectations of your visit. We do try very hard to accommodate all of our guests, and we strive to deliver clean, comfortable and affordable lodging. We have spoken with the maintenance and housekeeping teams regarding the... More 

Skaneateles, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My son had a lacrosse game at West Point so I booked a room in the cottages at the Bear Mountain Inn. What a huge disappointment. I arrived at night and it was difficult to find the cottage and once I did - the room was filthy, ants on the carpet, musty - the smoke detector in the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We value the feedback from all our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We are currently working with the state department to address lighting issues around the cottages. Also since we spoke first; I have called in our fire alarm company and have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bear Mountain hotels

Bethlehem, NH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed here recently for a work trip to the Hudson Valley area. This was definitely a great choice for lodging and breakfast. Ultimately this was aa great experience. They had the best rates in the area. Surprising considering this is a historic lodge situated on a bluff with an amazing view of the Hudson River. The main room of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We try very hard to please all of guests, and in your case we’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. The rooms are one of kind, and views are second to none. Our continental breakfast is only that by its name, we try to take continental to a new level so our... More 

Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We stayed here 25 years ago and were happy that they finally finished renovations and reopened. This time was a superb stay and altogether too short. The front desk staff started off our stay with a friendly easy check in, our room was wonderful and roomy. Cool amenity was a cocktail shaker and glasses in the room! Sadly, the beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and welcome back! We love to hear stories of how the inn used to look and the park activities. The history of Bear Mountain is very interesting to learn. We’re glad that our building renovations impressed you after such an anticipated reopening. The rooms are truly one of kind in design. The... More 

West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I will paste the glowing review I wrote about the Overlook Lodge below. Unfortunately, things have changed. There is no longer a front desk attendant at the Overlook Lodge. That’s fine. Breakfast is no longer served at the Overlook Lodge. Instead, the breakfast which comes included with the room rate is available at the Tapas Bar within the Bear Mountain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We certainly want to hear from all of our guests, but it’s our repeat guests that really can help us grow by sharing their thoughts. I apologize that we didn’t deliver as great an experience as you had the previous year. The coffee issue has been resolved and we are... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I stayed at the Bear Mountain Inn for a recent wedding. We stayed in the overlook lodge. It is a very nice area. Unfortunately our issue with this place had everything to do with the service. We started off with being checked into a dirty room. Although the lodge was completely booked there was no one stationed at the service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am extremely sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. We want every guest to have a memorable experience when visiting us and we fell short of creating great memories for you. If you would like, I would love the opportunity to speak about this visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay