We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Mill Inn

Certificate of Excellence
4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027
Hotel amenities
The Red Mill Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sshortmarchese Milford, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just got back yesterday after spending the weekend at the Red Mill Inn. It was a great place to stay. The room is clean, spacious and had an awesome view. I am very particular about the room being clean, so for me to give a rating of excellent , you know it was very clean. The front desk was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We stayed at the Red Mill Inn recently during a trip to Syracuse ..it was a nice out-of-the-way hotel ...the rooms are tastefully decorated..free breakfast... It sits on the Erie Canal at one of the locks.... The products in the bathroom are all handmade soaps and lotions..... Warm friendly atmosphere... Shopping and restaurants extremely close by... We would go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Ok place but they could do much better. I arrived to find my reservation was not in their system. I got a room and when I went in the bed was a mess. Turned out they missed cleaning that room. I got a different room. It was adequate but in serious need of updating. The havc was marginL at best....very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ske1980, Manager at The Red Mill Inn, responded to this review

Jeaff, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us. Although we are usually known for our attention to detail, I sincerely apologize for your missing reservation upon arrival. We have implemented system checks so that in the future we will be prepared to welcome all of... More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here in January on a night after new year, I believe we could have been one of two guests in the entire place. The room we were allocated was large and pleasant on first appearance. However, the heating system was so loud that I couldn't sleep, and to make things worse there was loud (mechanical grating/grinding) noise starting in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ske1980, Manager at The Red Mill Inn, responded to this review

JHM, Thank you for choosing The Red Mill Inn for your recent stay. I am very sorry that your experience with us fell short of your expectation. Although, we strive to provide a quiet, relaxing atmosphere for all our guests, outside distractions do sometimes happen. It is our first priority that all our guests have a pleasant, comfortable stay as... More 

Talkeetna, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

In spite of the original mill building being torn down and rebuilt, they incorporated some of the original timbers in the hallways and did their best to keep it historic feeling. Right by Lock 24 on the Erie Canal, the rooms are spacious and comfy, the beds are comfortable, the self-serve breakfast is adequate (nothing special). Easy walk to nearby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ske1980, General Manager at The Red Mill Inn, responded to this review

We would like to extend our heart felt thanks for your kind review of our property, The Red Mill Inn. In it's previous life as a grist mill, our property became one of the central meeting points of the Baldwinsville community. Built in 1830 and located on Volunteer Island in the Seneca River, The Red Mill was one of the... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We received awful customer service from The Red Mill Inn! They accept reservations and don't honor them canceling them at them at the last minute. We booked and paid for our room via hotels.com weeks in advance of arrival. We wanted to use this location as a layover for our Lake Placid vaction so our children (1&3) would have two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ske1980, General Manager at The Red Mill Inn, responded to this review

Justine L, Thank you for your recent review of the Red Mill Inn. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you have been able to share with us regarding your experience at our property. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the manner in which you were received at our front desk. The interaction that you have described is... More 

Wyckoff, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We reserved and had confirmation numbers for 3 rooms. On arrival we were told one had been canceled, which was false, and no room was available. No real effort was made to find solution. Nothing was available nearby and situation resulted in one of our party driving some 3 hours home that night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A cute place! Very comfortable and clean. Within walking distance to a few places to eat. We were very pleased at how reasonably priced the room was. The employees were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
39 hotel reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Ok... This is a tale of two reviews.. 1 if you have options, and don't really want the " value " of a non cookie cutter hotel, skip this place.. 2 it's clean.. No worries there.. I think I owe this place a tad longer review.. Of both the positive and the negative.. Neg : its also a wedding venue..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Hadley, Massachusetts
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Red Mill Inn was very nice. It's a unique property and the location makes this hotel. Pleasant staff. The room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was fine ( it's a continental breakfast; not, fine dinning). The hotel was quiet. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (17)
View from room (2)
Room/suite (3)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (13)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Room/suite (3)
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay


Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question