We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Chobe National Park accommodations

Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Save Saved
You added Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge to your Saves list
Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (53)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • More
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely lodge and was the last place we visited on our recent trip to Botswana. The view from our room / tent was fantastic. We could sit and watch the elephants take a bath in the river right in front of us. We were lucky enough to see two prides of lions, one pride had young ones... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plettenberg bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In July,our group of 5 [including visiting daughter and grandchildren from Boston] visited all 3 belmond group lodges, ending up at Savute.Food very appetizing, tents the ultimate in comfort,. but instructions pinned to the wall about how to handle aircon would be helpful. Met and spoke to Karen [new ceo of the three camps] about this. Was highly impressed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish we could stay longer at this beautiful lodge, perched high above the Savute channel that brings so much wildlife right to your doorstep. Kudu, impala, elephant and giraffe are regular sightings right in front of the lodge and if you look down to the river, huge catfish lazily swim around. We were lucky enough to see a pride... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staff and guides were exceptional. The food was delicious, varied and plentiful. We stayed three nights in Late June and had a thoroughly great time. Our guide, Watch, made the trip for us. If you are considering a safari, please consider this option. The game viewing was astounding. We had daily visits with lions and leopards, zebra and giraffes. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just wanted to thank on behalf of all the family a memorable visit and in particular to Robert our hugely knowledgeable guide for 3 days and 6 drives. We learned so much and broke all the rules!!! But Robert was fantastic. We saw everything we came to see (multiple Leopard sightings, Lazy Lions, Buffale, Elephant, Giraffe, And and and ........ More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently had three nights here as part of two weeks in the Central Kalahari,Savute,Selinda and was left a little disappointed considering what one pays.The location by the Savute Channel is beautiful,tents large and comfortable but weeds at the entrance,weeds around the tents,broken footpaths and steps,a fallen tree right at the entrance to the lounge/bar that one has to navigate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and we do apologize that you had such a disappointing experience at our lodge. We have addressed the general maintenance of the camp with regard to weeding. However, the broken footpaths are caused by the elephants that roam through the camp on a regular basis. As our camps... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went on a six day safari to all three former orient-express camps in Botswana. The first was the Savute Elephant camp. We were impressed with the tents, they were really nice. clean and very well kept. The staff was very nice specially Bujos who is the assistant manager. His knowledge about his country is enormous. We had some wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great location, wonderful view on the Savute channel and the elephants, perfect room, even if air conditioning is a bit shocking in a tent... BUT Poor service, common food - I could not even eat what they serve you with morning tea & coffee at the tent, lunch and dinner were not you expect in such a place, breakfast buffet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre D, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. What you experienced at the lodge is most certainly not our service standard, and we apologize for not living up to our 5 star promise to you as our guest. We have recently employed a new Food and Beverage manager to address the availability and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

thankfully, given the rates, this lodge lived up to expectations. The tents, service, waterhole and food were all exceptional. It should be noted, however, that the bush around Savuti Elephant Camp is mostly very dry mopani so do not expect the diversity or density of game you would see at Chobe waterfront or in the delta. Nice contrast however.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

this is the place to go to sleep in a tent,A/C at that, and enjoy annimals outside you front door. you are protected from them but you can sit on your porch and hear the sounds of Africa. We watched painted dogs chase impalas on our porch. we had an excellent guide,Mighty,who found all the animals we wanted to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Also Known As:
Savute Elephant Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Chobe National Park

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Near Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the very heart of a wildlife reserve, Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge is authentic and truly wild - the perfect place to feel the pulse of Botswana. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer