We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Special Offer
2 Night Spa Break
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Els L Verbier, Switzerland
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
310
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (476)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (152)
All months
Verbier, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bushmans Kloof is really worth visiting. What a views, what a service, what a Food! The staff was extremely friendly and everything was taken care off. Couldn't think of any suggestion to make our stay better. Top class!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Bushman's Kloof for the second time from 24 to 28 January 2015. Just as in 2014, our stay was a most fascinating and inspiring experience. The natural friendliness of the staff, the choice of delicious food and wine, the beautiful rooms in pure Karen-Blixen-Out-of-Africa style, the life changing spa treatments, the amazing game drives and - most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muenchen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you book through an International agency and get a package deal, this will be lovely. Unfortunately we paid the full price as published on website and what we got was not what we paid for. Whereas the spa experience was great, everything else was very much on a 3 to 4 star niveau, very far from being 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear rogerlitty123 Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the feedback about our lodge. I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and I sincerely apologize for this. Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated as this gives us an... More 

South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a piece of paradise! Warm greetings from arrival and friendly service throughout! This place has so much to offer, friendly and professional staff, beautiful rooms, fine dining (delicious food) and an amazing location! Overall experience here was unforgettable! Absolute bliss!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Isis101 Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the stay with us and It was an absolute pleasure having you here at the lodge. I hope to welcome you back very soon. Yours Sincerely James... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is like a little bit of paradise in the middle of nowhere. After busily travelling Africa for over 4 weeks this was the ideal location to chill out - magic room, staff, amenities and the food was exceptional! And saw different variety of zebra and antelope than in Botswana and Zimbabwe, so enjoyed game drives and walks to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Gary D Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the stay with us and It was an absolute pleasure having you here at the lodge. I hope to welcome you back very soon. Yours Sincerely... More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Bushmans Kloof for 2 nights after driving up from Franschhoek where we stayed at The Last Word (amazing hotel so may have clouded judgement on Bushman's). The drive from Franschhoek was probably about 4 hours but easily roads to follow and directions given were good. We both had a few niggles with the property. Although 'all-inclusive', no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Tomo_nufc Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the feedback about our lodge. On the whole I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the food and the spa, in saying this I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the activities... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancé and I just came back from spending a weekend at Bushman's Kloof, and we couldn't be happier. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, the food is incredible and the service was impeccable from beginning to end! Cecile and the entire team at Bushman's Kloof were amazing and we can't thank them enough for everything they did to make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear AO_Kapoor Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the food and service stay with us and I was pleased to read you had wonderful stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure having you here... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I first went in 2009 and I'm going back again this year, 2015. Everyone is so kind and If I went anywhere else it would be a disappointment. The food is so delicious and everything is to order. The activities are exceptional as are the guides. It's such a friendly environment. The views are incredible. The facilities and rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Caleb M Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you had another enjoyable stay and once again it was an absolute pleasure having you here at the lodge. I hope to welcome you back in 2016. Yours... More 

Worcester, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we checked in we were treated like house guests where our every need was met with a smile and the question- anything else we can do for you? The food was just fabulous..breakfast - lunch- high tea and then dinner! Oh my word and the last evening was spent having dinner under the stars! Just wonderful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Nick & Brenda W Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the food throughout your stay, I have to agree, our special dining venue under the stars called Embers is one of the most spectacular dining... More 

Guidlford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bushmanskloof is a small slice of paradise set in the Cedarberg about 3 hours from Cape Town. It is a retreat with good food stunning scenery and staff keen to ensure your experience is the very best. There are 130 rock art sites on the estate and the guides are suitably knowledgeable on their supposed origin and equally knowledgable about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JamesBasson, General Manager at Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear MBrOx Thank you very much for the taking the time to write a review and for the feedback about our lodge, it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the stay with us and it was an absolute pleasure having you here at the lodge. I hope to welcome you back very soon. Yours Sincerely James Basson... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question