We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calitzdorp Country House

Follow the 'Groenfontien' Sign at the Old Cemetery for 2 Kms | Besemkop, Calitzdorp, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calitzdorp Country House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Calitzdorp Country House
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While driving to Calitzdorp Country House for the first time, we wondered if we were in the right place.It felt as if we were in the middle of nowhere. Inside we found a comfortable and welcoming place with great views of the surrounding countryside..Andrew, the owner, was really friendly and helpful. On the night we stayed, his wife cooked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It seems odd to have a luxury lodge in a small town like Calitzdorp, but this is an excellent choice if you are visiting anything in the region: Cango Caves, the mountain passes, the wine farms or Route 62. The air-conditioned rooms are huge, with big bathrooms with full shower and corner bath. Being a little out of town it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, please visit us again soon. More 

New Forest, Uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyable stay .Stayed for 2 nights and had dinner in the hotel which was also excellent Andrew and Nell lovely people .would definitely recommend staying here and will stay again if we return to South Africa next year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, we look forward to hosting you again next year. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an awesome, awesome place to stay at. Stayed over for one night and truly the most friendliest service from the owners. A must for all passing through the town. Great service, stunning views and most comfortable facilities available. Thanks for a great stay over. Damian (Northlink college)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we hope you stay with us again when you are passing through Calitzdorp. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
63 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our road trip along and around the Western Cape delivered several first-class overnight stops. Back home now, we reflect on how impressed we were at the overall standard of accommodation. However the Calitzdorp Country House is up there with the best of the best. Ignore it at your peril. Pass by at your own risk. Don't ever say 'you should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the most awesome of reviews, it was fantastic having you as guests. We hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Off the beaten track in a small town. Great hospitality from the hosts Andrew and Nell. Would strongly recommend the evening meal. Comfortable accommodation with a patio. Large swimming pool in the grounds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Calitzdorp Country House, we would love you to visit us again. More 

Sevenoaks, Kent, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Can hardly believe such a stylish, welcoming, tranquil guest house exists in the small village of Calitzdorp. We stayed in many lovely places on our Garden Route/R62 trip but felt at our most relaxed here thanks to Andrew & Nell. We arrived later than anticipated after a long day & despite not having pre-booked dinner, Nell saved us having to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, it was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you visit us again in the future, this time for a few more days. More 

Sandown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A haven of peace and tranquility just off the beaten track. Nell and Andrew could not have made us more welcome. Our room was spacious and clean, and Nell's cooking was outstanding. Dinner was exceptional and breakfast beautifully presented. If only it hadn't rained!! Highly recommended and would love to go back for more than one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Calitzdorp Country House, it was great hosting you. We, of course, absolutely welcome the rain as we are in the midst of a severe drought. we hope to see you again soon. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay. The hosts were most welcoming and friendly and the food was great, especially breakfast. Unfortunately we could only stay one night, but It was one of the best night's sleep of our extended holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the fine review, next time we know you will stay for a few days. More 

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were delighted to find this guest house and were rewarded by a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. This is a beautiful area and a worthwhile stop on the way around the garden route. We had an excellent meal despite the power cuts.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew_and_Nell, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor, we hope to see you again on your next trip. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question