We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkeld Country Estate

80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunkeld Country Estate
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunkeld Country Estate
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    25
    12
    14
    9
See reviews for
41
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent a wonderful long weekend away as a family at Dunkeld Country Estate. It is seldom that I long to stay on at a holiday resort, but I would happily have spent another week, and we are already planning a return visit. We stayed in the lodge which meant we enjoyed 5-star breakfasts every morning and although we had... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have spend a longweekend at the Lakeview selfcatering chalet and were very disappointed with their accomodation...it NOT 4 star...one room were covered with spiderwebs...the 2 room had NO form of heating...where our very young ones were sleeping. Shocking! Bathroom and toilet down stairs(not pratical at all)...with NO shower!!! Chalet is in desperate need of a modern make over (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Salome V, Thank you for taking the time out to review Dunkeld Country Estate. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to better our services for guests in future. Salome, I would like to apologise for your experience at the resort. I can understand that it must have been disappointing for you to hear that the resort is 4 star... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dullstroom hotels

Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was not as it specified. Was meant to be a 4 sleeper which is was not. It was so cold that we were shivering and are now sick. And to top off everything there was not enough hot water for us to all bath/shower that night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Roxanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Dunkeld Country Estate. These reviews are extremely important to us as they provide the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Roxanne, I would like to personally apologise to you for your experience at the resort and would like to address the issues raised in your review.... More 

Johannesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Needing to get out of the rat-race, the family headed off to Dullstroom for the weekend. The check-in was quick and efficient and the unit was complete and relatively clean with all the necessary amenities. Whilst the unit could do with a few small touch-ups, the surrounding area was stunning with lots of activities to partake in from fishing, horse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear MartinW_SA, Thank you for your positive review of Dunkeld Country Estate. So great to hear you found the staff, units, activities and scenic views to meet your expectations. And it is wonderful to see you would recommend the resort to others. Martin we are launching even more exciting activities on the resort soon. We are looking forward to adding... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Absolutely fantastic place to go for a break. Units are well kept with friendly staff. Lots to keep you busy including bike trials, horse riding, trout fishing etc. Shops and restaurants are close by if you feel like getting out a little.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Bandit314, Thank you for the lovely review of Dunkeld Country Estate. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Kind regards, Jessica Brink Communications Project Manager Dunkeld Country Estate. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Setting and Scenery is Magnificent , Warm Welcome at Reception from Brenda , Fly Fishing Guide David is great with Kids , Rooms are OK but not 4 Star and need some TLC , Food is not bad but Restaurant itself needs a revamp , Horse riding staff were great with 1st Time riders which made it very enjoyable ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Steve E, Thank you for your review of Dunkeld Country Estate. Your feedback has been extremely constructive and it is a great help to us in bettering our services for future guests. We are extremely proud of our staff and it is wonderful to hear the services and activities they provided you and your family exceeded your expectations. I... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

The most fabulous scenery that you will find any other place!! Stunning stables and dams for trout fishing. You cannot take enough photos of this place. The woods is such an awesome place to see and eveything is clean, friendly staff. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Henning G, Thank you for your review of Dunkeld Country Estate. It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time at Dunkeld. I have passed on your complements to the resort staff and they are thrilled to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Kind regards, Jessica Brink Communications... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

As per all the reviews, the scenery is beautiful and gardens are well maintained. My biggest gripe was housekeeping. At 12h00 on Saturday our 8 sleeper unit was not yet serviced. We went to reception and was informed that housekeeping was anytime from 09h00 until 14h00. In my opinion this is totally unacceptable. Who wants your chalet only serviced at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lynnde Lange, Thank you for your review. Your input is important to us as it allows us to better our services for guests in future. Lynnde, I would like to apologise on behalf of the resort for your experience at Dunkeld Country Estate. I can imagine that having to wash your own dishes and make your own beds on... More 

Witbank, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We had a fabulous time. Food, accommodation and the staff were excellent and made us feel welcomed. the room was neat and we had a lot of interesting things to do. we didn't get bore at all. Thanks a lot

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your review of Dunkeld Country Estate. How fabulous to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and found all facets of your stay to be satisfactory! We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunkeld in future. Kind regards, Jessica Brink Communications Project Manager Dunkeld Country Estate. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This was our second trip and this time we brought two other families with us. Large guest houses that are set widely apart are perfect for family travel. We enjoyed the trout fishing, the roaming gorgeous horses. Dinner was good at the restaurant, but we also enjoyed having full kitchens and barbecue facilities to make our own. Safe parking, lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GoTouchdownResorts, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear EastonWoodhouse, Welcome back to Dunkeld! Thank you for taking the time out to review Dunkeld Country Estate. We appreciate your positive feedback. I see you enjoyed the activities on offer at the resort. We would love to have you back, once again, at Dunkeld to try our brand new Adventure activities: rock climbing, abseiling, and Extreme Mountain Biking. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay