We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Taos hotels

Indian Hills Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Indian Hills Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Hills Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014
NaomiofMystery Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    23
    15
    33
See reviews for
29
33
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

There are good things to say about Indian Hills Inn--great location close to the Plaza, rooms were clean, seemed to be recently decorated, nice courtyard, takes pets, very helpful staff. Not so good--parking in the rear seemed unsafe especially off season with relatively few customers, and no amenities. I didn't expect shampoo for what I paid, but not even a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The most common reason select Indizn Hills Inn, Taos Plaza is location which as you said is about as good as it gets. Other oft meantioned Guest comments are similar to your observations, a friendly "tour guide" like front desk team and a great value. Thanks for your business and comments!... More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Checked in, got to my room and it did not have a memory-foam mattress topper as described online and in my reservation. They moved me to a second room that was not clean. Both rooms were non-smoking, but smelled like smoke. Both rooms were very cold upon arrival (no heat turned on). Both rooms had gas flame units that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.Sorry we were not able to satisfy your needs. We are able to do so for well over 99% of Guests. Surprised at your comment that I was rude during our telephone conversation. I was matter of fact that our cancellation policy is day before arrival by 3 PM. We did make... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I was looking for a budget hotel in Taos. I heard Indian Hills was decent. The desk person was very helpful when I made my reservations by phone. The room I was given had a carpet full of clumps of dog hair. It had not been vacuumed. The bedspread was so filthy I removed it. There was no soap. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.Sorry we were not able to satisfy your needs. We are able to do so for well over 99% of Guests. Surprised that the carpet was dirty and the front desk did not at least acknowledge your questions and comments. We'll work harder to make certain the rooms are properly cleaned. Again... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

this place is a complete dump - a $5 hostel is a better value - no soap no shampoo - heating system sucks, bed was horrible - hostess had to go to a grocery store to get guests soap cause "owner forgot to order some"

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Really glad I didn't read the reviews before turning up in Taos at the Indian Hills! We had already looked at rooms at El Pueblo (overpriced, more than twice as much for a small, dark room, and staff mentioned being #1 on TripAdvisor like we should be grateful to stay there) and Sun God Lodge (only had a dog-lovers room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Double thanks for taking the time to leave a review and your positive observations! You are part of the 99% who like us and the less than 1% who'll take the time to write a review. Our claim to fame is Locations, Comfort, Service, and Value. Your extending your stay says more than anything else I could add! Thanks so... More 

Mandan, North Dakota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

They have let maintenance slide. Needs paint carpets and good cleaning. Bring your own shampoo. Not provided. Continental breakfast amounts to coffee juice boiled eggs frozen waffles bagels. This sounds great but it wasn't done well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

New Mexico and Taos charm - meets great location, friendly staff, and calm clean oasis. Totally walkable location AND easy access by car to any direction in town. Spent a great fall arts weekend in Taos and was happy I was at the Indian Hills Inn. They were knowledgable about the happenings in town and happy to help us out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review! Something more than 99% of our departing Guests never take the time to write any comments. The vast majority of them tell us they like us. Sometimes seems like the majority of comments are from those we failed to serve properly. Location, comfort,service, and value are our primary... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We got to our room it smelled like someone who hadn't showered in weeks roomed there prior to us. The beds were clean, I will give them that. But I couldn't sleep because of the horrid smell. It gets better. So around 8 pm there is a commotion on the porch and the cops were called. Turns out a drunk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review

Denise, sorry your room smelled badly. I'll ask our staff to investigate further and fix so the next Guest has a better experience. For that, we should be able to provide a clean room every time. As for the drunk, we run such people off as quickly as we find them but that is really out of our control. We've... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Well to start I will mentioned the only thing good about the hotel is that it's a short distance from the plaza and that pretty much all that's good about my room was just terribly dirty and disgusting I don't think there housekeeping even vacuum the rooms the just looks plain dirty so my suggest to Everyone is to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This property is severely run down and very poorly maintained. Everything is filthy from the front entry to the rooms. I thought the ceilings on the exterior walkways were going to fall in on us before we got to our room. I recommend sleeping in your car over staying here. I am sure it would be cleaner and safer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Indian Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Hills Inn

Address: 233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Indian Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hills Hotel Taos Plaza

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay