We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

4.0 of 5 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    151
    88
    52
    35
See reviews for
147
353
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (668)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (229)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall the place is beautiful but was sadly disappointed during my stay. Bathroom walls were stained and dirty especially in the toilet closet. The room's carpet was dirty and didn't appear to be vacuumed throughout my stay. Disappointed in the food and especially the service. The staff was rude and unwelcoming. I paid 20 dollars per day for "valet" that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear travelerZ8216SS, We appreciate the feedback you have given us and we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments and use them to improve our operations. I apologize for the issues you encountered and I hope you would stay with us again next time you travel to the Taos Area. More 

New Canaan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In general happy with our experience. We stayed in Marrakesh, a two bedroom unit that was comfortable and well appointed. Setting is pleasant and the pool was a huge hit with the kids. Only criticism is that they appeared understaffed and the staff themselves, while well intentioned could use a little more training.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for our anniversary. Beautiful grounds, gardens and unique rooms that are very nice. Our reserved room was near an entrance and a bit noisy where people walk by, but the staff was very generous and moved us to an upgraded suite. We loved the room. Everything at the hotel is pricey, but very nice. Worth it for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were traveling back to Colorado after the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta in October 2014. We were looking forward to our stay, because the website made the property sound good. When we arrived, the power was out. This caused a delay in checking in, understandably. We decided that we would try to relax by getting a massage in the spa, since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Dawn F., Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is true that during the power outage (line accidently cut in town) there were many issues. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and everyone here finds it very disappointing when we fall short. Many of... More 

Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My third stay at the hotel and pleased to be back. A wonderful property - great rooms and interesting public rooms - I understand originally built as a vanity project by a very high net worth individual. Feed and service are delivered by universally smiling staff who make up for occasional lapses in training with great attitudes. If you're in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my girlfriend during the winter holidays, so high season for hotels. We were skiing up at Taos and wanted a nice warm place for our nights. While the hotel itself adequate and as advertised. A nice open dinning space and six acres of land surrounding the rooms. The room, as well, were clean and comfortable with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear mpalevsky, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize for the lack of staff and the level of professionalism. It is not our intent to staff the resort with less staff than is needed to insure your needs are met. We strive to exceed your expecatations and in your case we fell... More 

Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here during mid December and the prices were so low that it was almost a steal to stay here. It was our third visit and we have yet to be disappointed. The rooms are very big and the bedding is awesome. All in all, a great place to get away from everything in Taos

Was this review helpful? Yes
lv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review comes from a lifetime Platinum Elite member. There were so many things they ~neglected~ to mention until its too late. My expectation of a hotel at this price and level was fairly high... this is why I am so disappointed. Stay date: 1-4-15, Room 14 OVERALL VALUE: C- (see below) Property: A (This site has great grounds an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear bob b, I have recently read your comments about your recent stay with us and wanted to apologize to you personally. The fact you were not advised of the parking charge was something that could have easily been averted. As far as the slippers, the temperature of the hot tub and the lack of selection on our breakfast coupons... More 

Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family of 5 (2 young adult children, 1 teenager) stayed here for a few days before, and over the New Year as we were unable to find a condo/casita that was available for that time this year. El Monte Segrado does have suites/casitas, however they were booked as well. The hotel room we had was quite large and included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rio Rancho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing is perfect. So, despite the pricey rate, don't expect perfection from El Monte Sagrado. Issues included: An ridiculously exorbitant reservation change fee from Hotels.com. In addition, the bed layout for the rooms was lost in translation between Hotels.com and the hotel which necessitated a manager stepping in? Sigh. My suggestions - book this hotel through the property itself so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

494 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Joseph (73)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay