We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Socorro

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1009 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
20
28
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Blytheville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel's exterior is very run down as was the room's furniture. The room's are small and the A/C heater unit noise made it difficult to sleep. The entire bathroom needs to be renovated. The tub is stained, the shower head is weak, the toilet seat is chipped and the floor is stained. I'm sure it was clean but it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Socorro to visit the Trinity Site and VLA nearby. This seemed to be the best place for the price, so we gave it a try. Very Nice and Clean Hotel. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable, clean and had all the extras we needed, such as Refrigerator, Microwave, Free WiFi and Coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Greetings, I am so happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have become part of our family. I wanted to thank you for writing a great review about your stay at my hotel in Socorro New Mexico, as you know my staff does an excellent job in making sure that all of our... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travel to Socorro to visit the Trinity Site the following morning. Trinity Site is only open once in the spring and once in the fall. At the same time the city was sponsoring a soccer tournament. All major motels were booked and this used up motel was available. We booked two rooms, non smoking, we checked in and one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

America's Best Value Inn in Socorro, NM is in desperate need of a make-over. The deteriorating facility was clean-ish. Sheets and linens were clean, but the wear and tear on carpets and furniture is hard to miss. We literally went to the store and bought a can of Febreeze after entering the room for the first time. Breakfast was ok.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Greetings, I am so sorry to see that I did not meet your expectations, and wanted to thank you for writing a review about your stay. I take each review extremely seriously as the information gives me a great direction as to where improvements need to be made so that I may not only meet but exceed my guests expectations.... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel twice in one year. The owners are among the best people we have met. They are always very gracious and very helpful. They make every effort to be personable and offer all kinds of assistance. Some reviewers have way too much of an expectation which sometimes even Hilton might not be able to provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Greetings, I am so happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have become part of our family. I wanted to thank you for writing a great review about your stay at my hotel in Socorro New Mexico, as you know my staff does an excellent job in making sure that all of our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a long drive and needed a place to stay for the night so we stayed at this place. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. They even had the breakfast ready at 6 in the morning. Definitely recommend this place. Great stay for a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Good Day, I wanted to thank you for writing a great review about your stay at my hotel in Socorro New Mexico, my staff does an excellent job in making sure that all of our rooms are clean and comfortable, and that are guests enjoy their stay with us. I am so glad to see that we met your expectations... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our room wasn't as nice as on previous stays. The bathroom floor needed a deep scrub and caulking redone along the tub. No tissue dispenser. Breakfast was great, as always. The cost of the room had gone up, which we wouldn't mind if improvements followed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Greetings I am very happy to see that You enjoyed your stay, we work hard to make sure that we offer the best most comfortable rooms available for our guests. Please travel safely and I hope to see you again soon. Best Regards DJ Americas Best Value Inn Socorro More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

It was a bad sign there were 3 deodorisers in the room. Usually when we see towels this thin they are relegated to drying the dogs. But then the sheets were transparent. The only positive experience here was the breakfast. In a 3 week trip out west this was the worst accommodation we encountered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIPAK G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I have looked into all of the issues that you mentioned and have resolved them as quickly as possible. I hope that you return soon, so that we may show you that we understand the true meaning of guest services. Best Regards Dj Americas Best Value Inn... More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We went to Socorro for the Crane Festival at the Bosque del Apache. When we arrived at the Econolodge where we'd made reservations in September, we were told they didn't have a room for us due to a computer glitch. They did book us a room at this hotel which they said was in every way, comparable to Econolodge. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DIPAK G, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

Greetings I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you return the next time that you are in the area or returning for the Crane Festival. Wishing you very safe travels. DJ Americas Best Value Inn of Socorro More 

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I've stayed at this inn three or four times over the last few years, always while I was attending the Festival of the Cranes at the nearby Bosque del Apache Nat. Wildlife Refuge. I have to say that little by little, but inexorably, the motel is declining. The walls had more holes in them (like from old pictures or shelves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DIPAK G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review

I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, and I have looked into the issues that you mentioned and have resolved them. I hope that this does not deter you from returning in the future, and hope that you return so that I may show you the true meaning of guest services. DJ Americas Best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question