We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Impodimo Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Impodimo Game Lodge
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    13
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
102
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (234)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When i booked this game reserve i was worried. Anyone who reads my reviews knows that i have two kids i thought they would find it boring! it was anything but boring. We stayed in the big family suite. The only problem i found was the price was overwhelming. We really enjoyed it and got two meters away from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing lodge with amazing amenities. The accommodations are luxurious and comfortable. Everything you can want and ever need. Amazing views from the room overlooks a waterhole teaming with wildlife. The food was delicious and prepared with love and attention to detail. Very high end dining in the bush. The wildlife exceeds expectations. We saw the Big 5 on our very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madikwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to a perfect set up with outstanding food and extremely knowledgeable, highly motivated guides. Dinner a little rushed for my liking but I understand that some cultures require a super fast service.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have enjoyed great times in South African game reserves over the years but the four days we spent in Impodimo were the most memorable. Outstanding ranger (Hein) and tracker (Sam) with much detailed knowledge and great sense of humour. Went out of their way to find incredible sightings including brown hyena feeding off a giraffe, a group of wild... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Roger B, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. It was as great week for game sighting and we are happy you were here to see the giraffe carcass. It brought many amazing sightings. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Lodge, Rangers and trackers we good, but the quality of the staff was very poor and the food was below standard. I felt there was a level of hostility from some of the staff, which was very concerning - too much trouble !! There wasn't anyone staff member running the show!! Very disappointed !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Keith B Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review on Impodimo Game Lodge. It pains me to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Impodimo. When I read your review I immediately started to investigate the facts around your stay. I apologize if you did not like the options we provided... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Madikwe is an amazing place and Impodimo does it justice. The rooms - the rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. We travelled as a family of 4 with 2 small boys, 8 and 6, who had single beds in our room. While not spacious for 4, there was ample room. You get the idea of the kind of place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ND and Family, What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We are happy that you and your family had a wonderful time and really hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards, The Impodimo Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family and I had an amazing time in Impodimo, the lodges look over a watering hole so we spent hot afternoons watching elephant, giraffe and zebra coming to get a drink. Our ranger was absolutely fantastic, he was so knowledgeable and we had great fun with him at the meals and on the drives. A highlight was a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, Thank you very much for reviewing our lodge. It is always so exciting to have an up close and personal experience with the wildlife We are happy to know that you and your sister left with great memories and hope to see you and your family back to visit our beautiful home soon! Warmest regards, The Impodimo... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

That's the question I posed to my sister, when she said she wanted to take 'close-up' photographs of animals in a Game Reserve. Secondly, she had limited time to travel & spend in a Game Reserve (i.e. we spent two nights). Private Game Reserve is the only route to go then, if you want to see as much as possible,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, WOW! what a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it up. It is always so exciting to have an up close and personal experience with the wildlife We are happy to know that you and your sister left us with great memories and hope to see you and your family back... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Chalet 2 overlooks a muddy water hole where we saw animals every day.Knowledgeable Rangers had us following Cheetahs on the hunt. We saw Lions and Black Rhino, Giraffe and many types of buck. Small Klip Springers have adopted the lodge as home and welcome you back after a drive. The food and service is excellent. I hope the rains come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tim D, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodge. We are happy to hear you had a great game viewing experience, the klipspringers have become a part of our family here. Thank you for the well wishes regarding the rain! We all hope that this year will be our lucky year. Apologies for no... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The Impodimo Game lodge was simply magical. Being my first safari, I knew the trip was going to be like nothing I had experienced before however, I could not have anticipated that the standard of service across all areas of my stay would have been as high as they were. The main lodge, the accommodation overlooking the watering hole, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KJW64, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is always nice to that hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. Please feel free to come back and visit us anytime, we would love to have you back. Kind regards, The Impodimo Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

254 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (251)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay