We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Impodimo Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Impodimo Game Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    220
    13
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have been blessed to go to many wonderful places and have some great travel adventures. By the second day, we agreed that our Impodimo safari was the coolest, most fun thing we've ever done. I am an obsessive travel planner; I agonized over Kruger or Madikwe, which lodge, transportation options, etc etc. Madikwe and Impodimo were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time we visit the Impodimo Game Lodge, it just gets better and better! We did not think this was possible, but it does!!! Not only is the accommodation ultra-luxurious, but the food, pampering and staff simply go from good to better to THE BEST!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went on my first safari with high expectations, based on what I had heard from others, but Impodimo FAR exceeded everything I had expected. From the moment we arrived on the property the staff was warm, friendly, and inviting. I'm relatively certain that we didn't lift a finger the entire time that we were there. The service was impeccable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

When i booked this game reserve i was worried. Anyone who reads my reviews knows that i have two kids i thought they would find it boring! it was anything but boring. We stayed in the big family suite. The only problem i found was the price was overwhelming. We really enjoyed it and got two meters away from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Amazing lodge with amazing amenities. The accommodations are luxurious and comfortable. Everything you can want and ever need. Amazing views from the room overlooks a waterhole teaming with wildlife. The food was delicious and prepared with love and attention to detail. Very high end dining in the bush. The wildlife exceeds expectations. We saw the Big 5 on our very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madikwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Close to a perfect set up with outstanding food and extremely knowledgeable, highly motivated guides. Dinner a little rushed for my liking but I understand that some cultures require a super fast service.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We have enjoyed great times in South African game reserves over the years but the four days we spent in Impodimo were the most memorable. Outstanding ranger (Hein) and tracker (Sam) with much detailed knowledge and great sense of humour. Went out of their way to find incredible sightings including brown hyena feeding off a giraffe, a group of wild... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Roger B, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. It was as great week for game sighting and we are happy you were here to see the giraffe carcass. It brought many amazing sightings. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

The Lodge, Rangers and trackers we good, but the quality of the staff was very poor and the food was below standard. I felt there was a level of hostility from some of the staff, which was very concerning - too much trouble !! There wasn't anyone staff member running the show!! Very disappointed !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Keith B Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review on Impodimo Game Lodge. It pains me to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Impodimo. When I read your review I immediately started to investigate the facts around your stay. I apologize if you did not like the options we provided... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Madikwe is an amazing place and Impodimo does it justice. The rooms - the rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. We travelled as a family of 4 with 2 small boys, 8 and 6, who had single beds in our room. While not spacious for 4, there was ample room. You get the idea of the kind of place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ND and Family, What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We are happy that you and your family had a wonderful time and really hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards, The Impodimo Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

My family and I had an amazing time in Impodimo, the lodges look over a watering hole so we spent hot afternoons watching elephant, giraffe and zebra coming to get a drink. Our ranger was absolutely fantastic, he was so knowledgeable and we had great fun with him at the meals and on the drives. A highlight was a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, Thank you very much for reviewing our lodge. It is always so exciting to have an up close and personal experience with the wildlife We are happy to know that you and your sister left with great memories and hope to see you and your family back to visit our beautiful home soon! Warmest regards, The Impodimo... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

254 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (251)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay