We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Thakadu River Camp
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thakadu River Camp to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Jeanine B Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    30
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
60
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our ranger Kenny deserves a halo!!! He was fantastic and delivered the magnificent seven!!!!! All the staff at Thakadu were absolutely amazing and all contributed to making our stay the most amazing experience!!! Thanks guys! We hope to return one day!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jeanine Thank you for your ratings. We are very excited to see that you had a great safari experience With Thakadu River Camp. Madikwe is a special Game Reserve and we are glad Kenny could guide you to experience this great park. We hope that you will be able to come and enjoy Thakadu River Camp hospitality with your... More 

Delhi india
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Thakadu is a lovely lodge with friendly helpful staff and very nice "Tents" indeed. Air conditioning a bonus however a small bar fridge would have been very useful. The views over the river are stunning and you enjoy the company of elephants frolicking in the water from the well kept swimming pool .sadly there are only 4 sun loungers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Glennis D, We appreciate your comments and are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. Please except my apologies for the few sun loungers, we are in the process of reverbing the whole pool area. I do take note of the glasses around the pool and did not realise that guest actually take it in to the... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

While this is a mid-range camp price wise we were a bit disappointed with some aspects of the camp service but delighted with our guide and the wildlife we had the opportunity to view in our short four day stay. Madikwe lived up to its description of not being the most beautiful park in Africa, however we did see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for your review and comments. Please except my apologies for the inconvenience caused with your Credit Card payment. We did have other card transaction that went through but somehow we had the problem with this one. We glad that you did enjoy your Game Drive and hope that we will see you back at Thakadu River... More 

Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

we stayed here for 6 days - Dec 21st to 26th 2014. Every minute was made magical by Hanlie and her staff. Myself, huband and son could not believe how amazing this place is. The safari game drives were out of this world, all the animals were within touching distance and we saw the big five and more - too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Debbie L, Thank you for taking the time to review Thakadu on Trip Advisor. We enjoyed your company in camp and are rewarded by the memories of all the “ chats” on the Pool Deck. We are glad to see that you also enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the privilege to host you again at... More 

Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Everything was perfect : welcoming, food, game driving, room, staff... We had a wonderful stay : the place is amazing, the room is clean and safe, the food is excellent (I'm French and I can be picky : here I have nothing to complain about :)), the staff was skilled and helpful. They make you feel home and unique. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Tribu-aniet, We are glad that you enjoyed your Safari experience with us. We hope that your first African Christmas was a memorable experience for you. Instead of a snowman you did Traditional African dancing. Thank you for being a "sport" and participating in this. The staff enjoyed dancing with you. We hope to host you as family again at... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

This was our first safari experience and it blew away all of our expectations! Thakadu has the guest experience down to a science: tea and coffee before the morning game drive, morning game drive with the sunrise, coffee and biscuit break during the game drive, return for breakfast and then to a clean tent/room, nap/rest/lounge by the pool until lunch,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Chritsena, Thank you for taking the time to review Thakadu River Camp on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that we could make your “first time” Safari Experience a memorable one. We look forward to hosting you at Thakadu River Camp in the not too distant future. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We ended a 8-day trip in Madikwe Game Reserve with a 2-day stay in Thakadu River Camp. In spite of being the most low key of all lodges we visited, we really enjoyed the comfort of our tent and its location overlooking the river. A lot of animals can be seen daily from either the tents or the main lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas1222, Thank you for all your comments and suggestions. We do strive to give all our guest a Five Star unforgettable Safari experience and welcome suggestions that will help us to achieve this. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back as returning guest at Thakadu River Camp. More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

For context - I grew up in Botswana and went on safari fairly often growing up...this experience totally blew me out of the water! First off their luxury air conditioned tents were amazing as were the washrooms...luxury in the wild! Their food experience was amazing...fresh local fruits for breakfast...gourmet twists on local cuisine and traditional food service was awesome....still drool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is so good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Tents, Food and Game Drives, exceeded your expectations. It would be our privilege to host and spoil you on a next visit to Thakadu River Camp. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We stayed at Thakadu for 2 nights in September 2014, and had a great couple of days of game drives. Our driver Precious, was fantastic, tracking animals that we wanted to see, and we had seen 4 of the Big 5 by the end of our first day. The room we had way lovely, and we arrived to flowers on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

We are glad that you did enjoy your Safari experience with us. Madikwe Game Park is a very special Park and we are privileged to have Patience, who know and love the Park, as Ranger. Thank you for your great comments. We would love to host you again at Thakadu River Camp and can always arrange one of the first... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We visited Madikwe based on the recommendation of friends who had previously visited the park (but stayed at a different property). After doing a bit of research, and knowing we wanted a tented camp experience, we settled on Thakadu. We had a bit of miscommunication with staff about our airport transfers, and take full responsibility for not fully understanding the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately Transferal Services do not always call the Lodge for advice on the best directions to Thakadu River Camp or the Parks Gate opening and closing times. We always advise guests that prefer Air Transport to make uses of the Airline service that lands at one of the 2 air strips in Madikwe Park. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thakadu River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (95)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay