We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bush House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bush House
Professional photos View all
The Bush House
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Stuttgart
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was very friendly and the service good. There is a waterhole for the wild animals in front of the garden so you can sit in a chair or lay in the simming pool watching elephants and zebras comming to drink. There is also a hide next to the water hole so you can get real close to the animals.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback on your stay.Our waterhole and underground hide are certainly very popular. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second time to the Bush House. This time we brought the other set of grandparents visiting from the US. It did not disappoint! It is such a beautiful setting, the food is great, the animals are abundant, and the staff is wonderful providing for your every need. The underground hide and large lawn are the most amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It was our pleasure having you all with us and your little one stole everyones hearts! More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Bush House on an exclusive arrangement as we needed all 6 bedrooms. We were travelling with 8 adults and 2 small children. Bush House was perfect for our needs. It has the most stunning outdoor area, beautiful lawns with plenty of space and the most amazing waterhole right in front of the property, which is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and all of us had so much fun having the family in camp during your stay. It was way too quiet after you had left! Hope you see you soon. More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An amazing lodge with even better staff! This is a must for anyone travelling to Madikwe Game Reserve, the underground hide is a must for those photography enthusiasts. Being gluten intolerant, it's always a struggle when staying at a facility that provides your meals for you. Not at The Bush House! The staff made sure that everything from bread, cookies,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

It truly was a pleasure having you with us in camp and we were delighted to be part of the birthday celebration.Hope to see you again soon! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Bush House for three nights. it was absolutely fantastic. Great service, lovely people, good food and a family-like atmosphere! Overlooking the waterhole while having dinner is priceless. The Bush House is the kind of lovely, thoughtful and welcoming place where you will instantly feel at home. No pseudo-colonial pomp; instead a luxurious home from home. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind comments. We are so pleased that the whole family could enjoy the sightings together! More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This lodge with a water-bassin near the pool makes your African trip complete. The elephants welcomed us when we arrived, there's also a kind of bunker where you can get very close to the animals. Service of all the staff is excellent, Madikwe is a good alternative for the Kruger Park! You will see a lot of wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Really appreciate you taking the trouble to give us your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The cheetahs even came to say goodbye! More 

Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

An excellent safari lodge - small & very personal (owner-operated). Best feature is the waterhole just next to a large lawn and the underground hide. Both enable watching animals even without going on a game-drive. Except for the wild cats, we also had elephants, buffalos, giraffes et al. by the waterhole several times during the day! This unique setting makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

It was truly our pleasure to have you in camp with us. The staff loved your little one and thank very much for your review. More 

Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We have been visiting the Bush House already many times, during which we have seen change of owners as well. The lodge is very nicely situated and can offer you a lot of joy of wildlife and bushlife. The waterhole, where more than regular all kinds of animals are drinking is an excellent opportuniy, so is the hide, where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed and honest feedback which we truly do appreciate and have noted.We look forward to welcoming you back and trust it will be above your expectations. More 

johannesburg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

The food, service and rooms were superb but the highlight for us, being wildlife photographers, was the underground hide! The Bush House hide allows you to capture eye-level photographs that you will not be able to get at most other lodges. We had brown hyena, zebras, kudu, impala, warthogs, baboons and a constant processions of elephants drinking at the floodlit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed the hide as much as we do and that you were able to get some great shots. You were magic guests to have in camp and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Vellinge, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The Bush House gives an amazing experience. The Lodge fulfill all expectations. A very friendly, relaxing and familiar atmosphere. And you really get close to all animals. The waterhole is like "Animal Planet Live". The Game drives are just thrilling. A memory for life.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that there was the Animal Planet performance at the waterhole for you! Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question