We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bush House

Hotel website
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bush House
Professional photos View all
The Bush House
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to stay for game drives. Excellent food, very comfortable room, and nice and very friendly staff. The Game Reserve is a wonderful place with the big 5. The guide is highly skilled and very interested to show also the small animals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. It was our pleasure having you both in camp with us. More 

South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful property with spacious and very comfortable room, excellent food, highly skilled guide and an access to the superb Madikwe Game Reserve. As we had limited game activities at the hide due to the weather, I found it a very good excuse to come back soon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. The weather did, quite literally, put a dampener on the hide sightings! We look forward to having you back with us in the dry months. More 

Tubingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We had an incredible, wonderful time. It is too nice to imagine. We saw the big 5 and many more animals. The Bush House is amazing. The water hole is usually full of elephants and other animals during the afternoon. The staff is very nice, the rooms are great as well as the "garden area". It is quiet expensive but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Bush House. The elephants at the waterhole are always a special sight to see! More 

Stuttgart
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Staff was very friendly and the service good. There is a waterhole for the wild animals in front of the garden so you can sit in a chair or lay in the simming pool watching elephants and zebras comming to drink. There is also a hide next to the water hole so you can get real close to the animals.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback on your stay.Our waterhole and underground hide are certainly very popular. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This was our second time to the Bush House. This time we brought the other set of grandparents visiting from the US. It did not disappoint! It is such a beautiful setting, the food is great, the animals are abundant, and the staff is wonderful providing for your every need. The underground hide and large lawn are the most amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It was our pleasure having you all with us and your little one stole everyones hearts! More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed in the Bush House on an exclusive arrangement as we needed all 6 bedrooms. We were travelling with 8 adults and 2 small children. Bush House was perfect for our needs. It has the most stunning outdoor area, beautiful lawns with plenty of space and the most amazing waterhole right in front of the property, which is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and all of us had so much fun having the family in camp during your stay. It was way too quiet after you had left! Hope you see you soon. More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

An amazing lodge with even better staff! This is a must for anyone travelling to Madikwe Game Reserve, the underground hide is a must for those photography enthusiasts. Being gluten intolerant, it's always a struggle when staying at a facility that provides your meals for you. Not at The Bush House! The staff made sure that everything from bread, cookies,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

It truly was a pleasure having you with us in camp and we were delighted to be part of the birthday celebration.Hope to see you again soon! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Bush House for three nights. it was absolutely fantastic. Great service, lovely people, good food and a family-like atmosphere! Overlooking the waterhole while having dinner is priceless. The Bush House is the kind of lovely, thoughtful and welcoming place where you will instantly feel at home. No pseudo-colonial pomp; instead a luxurious home from home. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind comments. We are so pleased that the whole family could enjoy the sightings together! More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This lodge with a water-bassin near the pool makes your African trip complete. The elephants welcomed us when we arrived, there's also a kind of bunker where you can get very close to the animals. Service of all the staff is excellent, Madikwe is a good alternative for the Kruger Park! You will see a lot of wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

Really appreciate you taking the trouble to give us your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The cheetahs even came to say goodbye! More 

Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

An excellent safari lodge - small & very personal (owner-operated). Best feature is the waterhole just next to a large lawn and the underground hide. Both enable watching animals even without going on a game-drive. Except for the wild cats, we also had elephants, buffalos, giraffes et al. by the waterhole several times during the day! This unique setting makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review

It was truly our pleasure to have you in camp with us. The staff loved your little one and thank very much for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay