We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Entabeni Game Reserve accommodations

Hanglip Mountain Lodge

Save
You added Hanglip Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Hanglip Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed here for 2 and a half full days and 2 nights... Let me just say it was love at first sight...the setting of the lodge is at the base of a large mountain ridge out in the middle of the plains...your rooms surrounded by wildebeast, zebra, giraffe and many antelope... Our first day we encountered a group of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rhondaxx10 We are absolutely thrilled to hear about your exciting two days at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and even providing the details with regards to the animals you encountered. We will be sure to send your review through to Amos and the rest of the Hanglip team and we look... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We´ve been for two nights in the lodge. The food was excellent and the chiefs fantastic. There is a lot of wildlife around the camp, but we haven´t seen too much on the game drive. Disappointment was that they charge for a tiny drink at the sun downer game drive. We also agree for saving water, but unfortunately in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Afrizola Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our lodge. We appreciate the detail you sent through and will be sure to send your review through to the Hanglip Team. We are happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon. Originally booked to go to Kenya but with the trouble there we had to change! I'm so glad we did. It was a dream we couldn't of asked for a better place the staff there could not do anymore they were superb. I would highly recommend the hanglip lodge! X thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Corrine A We are so happy that you we're able to experience the Legendary service that our friendly staff always strive to deliver. Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review on our lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing honeymoon experience and that our staff were able to make your trip... More 

North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We had a truly wonderful experience at this lodge, so well located with wildebeests and zebras practically outside the balcony of our beautiful and comfortable chalet. The chalets and the lodge are beautifully decorated. We had two game drives daily with the noble and knowledgeable Amos. Coffee in tin cups for the early morning drives and wine, beer or soft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ilishm We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time at Hanglip Mountain Lodge! Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for mentioning the staff members who made your stay extra special. We hope that you we will be able to welcome you back to our special place in... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Hanglip Mountain Lodge is an amazing resort. The location, staff and amenities are excellent. The game drives are truly sublime and Amos, our ranger, was incredibly knowledgeable and went the extra mile to ensure that we saw as many animals as possible, even driving to the end of the resort to find a lioness. We returned from our evening drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Monadevi We are thrilled to read about your wonderful experience at Hanglip Mountain Lodge. We will give your lovely message through to the Hanglip Team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

It's an out of this world experience for us coming from busy city life. The service personnel, rooms, food, songs, rangers, and even the wild animals will be our life time experience. The greatest excitement as a golfer was the chopper ride and playing the Extreme 19th Par 3 hole. There is one area that needed to improve was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John F Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to learn that your overall stay was indeed Legendary! Thank you for the compliments on our property, team and game viewing – we have passed them on to the Team at Hanglip Mountain... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wonderful private game safari experience. Excellent food and very comfortable accommodation. Yes, the bathrooms were a little dark, but does that really matter when there is such natural beauty all around? There was free Wifi in the common areas but the service was patchy and very slow. Game drives were informative and enjoyable .... Albeit very cold even with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marak1970 We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our property. It gives great pleasure to read that you had a Legendary experience. We value your views and compliments and have forwarded them to the Lodge Manager. We look forward to hosting your visit with us, for another excellent experience. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a lovely long weekend. The setting, food, staff were all wonderful. The rooms are perfectly comfortable but not very stylish and lack the "wow" factor of many of the other lodges, but then i guess, so does the price tag. Good value for money and the children had a wonderful time. Lawrence our ranger was just wonderful with them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GllianB, Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge. We are heartened to read that your time with us was indeed Legendary, and that your outing to Waterberry picnic spot was a highlight. We trust you will return for a future visit, and look forward to welcoming you back. Perhaps one of our Winter specials (on our... More 

Saint John, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent two nights at Hanglip lodge on the Entabeni reserve. It rained almost continuously the entire time and our game drives were very limited. We managed to see lions on the way in at dusk and as other said there are animals around the property. Thunder and lightening dampened out excitement about the lodge because they didn't seem to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cruisingatsea, Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge and our apologies for the tardy response! It is most unfortunate that your trip fell over one of the worst weather periods that Limpopo has seen in a long time. The unprecedented rain on our Reserve eventually led to the Upper Escarpment lodges being closed for a few... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Recently we were on a trip which included a stay at this lodge. As we were on our way, after disembarking from our bus, a lightening storm began. We were in these range rovers or what ever and our guide drove like there was no tomorrow. On our way we saw some giraffes. I was not in good position to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanglip Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanglip Mountain Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hanglip Mountain Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay