We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garonga Safari Camp

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Special Rate
EXTENDED STAY OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garonga Safari Camp
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Garonga Safari Camp
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    230
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
187
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is difficult to put into words how fabulous our stay at Garonga was as part of our honeymoon but I can honestly say it is the best experience we have ever had and we travel A LOT! What was so lovely about the camp was the clear family atmosphere amongst staff and guests alike. All staff truly are remarkable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for five nights at Garonga and were treated like royalty from the time we arrived. On arrival at Garonga we saw elephants and giraffes drinking at the nearby waterhole from the lodge balcony and that really made our day showing us what to expect on the game drives and we were not disapointed. The luxury tents were great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A colleague and I spent 2 nights at Garonga safari camp and Little Garonga. The property as a whole including the rooms, the meals and the safari were great! The absolute highlight for me though were the friendly and sincere staff who would always go the extra mile. I would highly recommend Garonga for a quality safari experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thanks indeed for your very kind feedback. I will certainly pass on your comment regarding the Staff at our weekly meeting. It was a real pleasure having you both to stay, and hopefully see you back again. Best Wishes Bernie More 

Leuven, Belgium
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the stay at Garonga, but the way to get there was so appalling, that we had to write à review, which we normally dont do... This is à 4-5 star accommodation, but their private road to get there is totally not accommodated for non-4WD vehicles, although they let you know it is perfectly fine to drive... We entered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were inconvenienced by the Dirt Road, and also by the lack of communications and follow up from the manager. Just to put right a few things; our GPS Co-Ordinates are correct for the location of the Camp. However in these rural areas Google earth does not always recognise names which are very similar in the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Garonga for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon arranged by Imagine Africa. The first part had involved driving a car along garden route and the final part a few days on the beach in Mauritius. They provided us a transfer from the airport and from the moment we arrived at the lodge we were treated like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Many congrats again on your honeymoon and a pleasure having you to stay. Thanks indeed for your very kind words. The staff really do try and glad you enjoyed all the experiences we had to offer. Best Wishes Bernie More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I have visited this place before. I have never been disappointed with any aspect of this camp. The food and accommodation is a delight. And the staff are fantastic, nothing is not to much effort. I felt very special and was treated that way. The game viewing is very good, as of any Safari game viewing may at times a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Brian, Great to see you back again and look forward to seeing you again in September. Thanks for the positive feedback as return Guests will always be able to compare for better or worse. Best Wishes Bernie More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed in Little Garonga. First room we stayed has a problem with aircondition and a mice on the roof ;) But, we enjoyed a lot. Staff are very friendly and drives are taking you to totally different world. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank-You for your feedback and apologies for the Air Con; it does sometimes take days to get Technicians out to fix. The mouse or squirrel can sometimes enter to the roof but we have removed the branches close to the Room now which should help. Keep well and all the best Bernie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We had always wanted to do a luxury safari for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! Garonga ticked every box for us and more! Food - amazing. Three top quality meals every day with tea/coffee and cake available ahead of the evening game drive Game viewing experience - unbelievable.The guides are really experienced and helped us track and find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

A great pleasure having you and thanks so much for your very kind words. Excellent Game Viewing you had. Best Wishes Bernie More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

We truly loved our visit to Garonga. The camp is gorgeous, set on a dry river bed, and with only 6 tented rooms, the number of guests are limited. We had tent 6 - the favourite with the monkeys but we loved them. They sit in the tree next to the balcony, scamper on the tent roof and groom each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback. You tried all the activities which is great, and to have a distraction of a Leopard in the vicinity even better. Strangely enough you can get lucky at the sleepout; the last Guests to do it saw a "Large Cheetah" (Leopard) at the waterhole. All the best Bernie More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Every safari lodge is similar, and yet different. Garonga is more different than the others! The tent/camp is very different, and has terrific views over a very vast expanse of territory. As another reviewer has stated, watch out for the monkeys. The sleepout is a once-in-a-lifetime experience that must not be missed. For a city-dweller, the singular feeling of being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review

Apologies for the delayed response, and thank-you for taking time out to pass on your feedback. Am so chuffed you enjoyed the sleepout; it is a majical experience indeed. You are quite correct about the need for more info from Guides on not just animals; this has been addressed to the Guides. The food is always going to be a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

329 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (326)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (203)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay