We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Timbavati Private Nature Reserve accommodations

Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Johnniesdale Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shindzela Tented Safari Camp to your Saves list
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
98%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
MarionAugust Germany
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (271)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
104
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very lucky to see lions. Trackers and rangers did an excellent job. We felt very comfortable, food was nice and we can recommend Shindzela. Also walking safaris are well organized and are very interesting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose Shindzela for our base in Timbavati based on TA reviews. It offers excellent value for money and gives guests authentic feeling of being in bush as camp is unfenced and quite remote. Honey Badgers, Warthog and plenty birds frequent the camp area and sometime game is seen drinking at nearby waterhole. Tents are big enough but not spacious.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Public Relations Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Mike! The Shindzela Team More

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at Shindzela surpassed all expectations! My husband and I spent 5 nights there in July as part of our first anniversary celebration in South Africa and we are already looking forward to returning in the future! The game drives: In one word-- amazing. In more than one word--we saw lions almost every day, herds of elephants, buffalo, rhino,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you guys had a good time with us! The Shindzela Team More

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shindzela Tented Safari Camp is a lovely way to begin your safari adventure. Te fantastic rangers and trackers show you what you need to know to see everything! The night drives were thrilling but the walk was a little disappointing (not something that can be helped though). The staff cater for your every need without being over the top or... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you guys again! The Shindzela Team More

Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights mid May. We thought we would miss the afternoon drive as we got stopped by police in Hoedspruit and then by a herd of elephants on the way into the reserve. When we arrived, the staff drove us to join the game drive and we saw a big herd of buffaloes, then 2 white rhinos. Saw 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! Hope to see you guys again! The Shindzela Team More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you have warthogs burrowing under your tent you know that you are in a pretty cool place. Shindzela is an amazing place tucked away in the Timbavarti Game Reserve. We spent 4 nights here and we were not disappointed. Our hosts, Andre, Caroline & Eugine were fantastic with Eugine doubling as a driver/guide. Sam was our driver/guide with Geoffrey... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Lovit! Thank you! The Shindzela Team More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an amazing time at Shindzela. It was our first introduction to the South African bush, and it was truly amazing. The small size of the camp makes for an intimate experience, and you have a chance to meet and make friends with the guides, as well as other guests from around the world. We stayed at Shindzela for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Wonderful review! Thank you! The Shindzela Team More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what a place!!! If you want a safari experience that doesn't cost a fortune but has great facilities, awesome guides and trackers, great food than Shindzela is the place to come. I visited with my wife for 4 nights in July and could not have wished for a better time. We saw loads of animals including lions, wild dogs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shindzela, General Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Walkinshaw05! The Shindzela Team More

Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Shindzela for 5 nights and had an incredible experience. This place is 3-star done incredibly well at a great price. All of the staff seeemed to have experience from 5-star lodges and were always friendly, helpful and fun to be around. The meals that were provided were always tasty and plenty available. The fact that animals regularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you AB for your review! The Shindzela Team More

Jupiter, Fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

What an experience! We loved our time in Shindzela - the staff were fantastic;the drives were excellent; the walk was VERY exciting; the meals were superb; the company of the other guests was delightful; and even though it was really chilly for us - the hot water bottles made our already comfy beds feel totally luxurious!!! Loved this experience and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thank you tnt1218! We hope to see you guys again! The Shindzela Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shindzela Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Address: Johnniesdale Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Safari Camp 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shindzela Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

271 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (219)
Viewed
0:46
Videos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (45)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shindzela Tented Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer