We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Simbavati River Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Northern Sector of the Timbavati | Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Simbavati River Lodge
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    48
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
119
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were a group of 4adults visiting in March and I can't say enough about the accomodations the quality of food and the Super friendly and knowledgeable staff....Moshi was our guide and he is the Most knowledgeable kind friendly and open person I've had the privilege of meeting! The days were well planned out and we were lucky enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jocelyn l Thank you for choosing Simbavati to be part of your 6 week journey. We are glad that we could share this time with you and that we helped in making it a trip of a lifetime for you and your friends. We will pass on your compliments to Moshi, he will be very happy to hear that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this lodge was wonderful except for the kids. I realise its family friendly but unfortunately some people take this as an excuse to let their children do what they want. There's a small pool at the lodge but as its always full of kids running about unsupervised so you'll never get to enjoy it during your relaxation time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ausgeordie Wow what an experience you had encountering the baboon in your room, glad to heat that you managed to scare it away and that no harm was done. Thank you for the room tip advising other travellers to choose a tent at the end in the "wild" if they would prefer to be away from any families that... More 

Trier, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time at the Simbavati River Lodge. We booked the photo safari and we learn a lot from our guide Hilton. We will be come back. Great Service, delicious food, friendly staff....perfect stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andreas M Thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear that you went on our Photographic Safari and that you enjoyed it. We will pass on your compliments to Hilton. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge. Kind regard Nadine More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been staying here for three nights with a one year old. The game drives were well organised and the tracker/guide had excellent knowledge. The most exciting part was the tracking down or three lions based on footprints. After an hour rallying through bushes and following prints, we finally found the lions who were settling down for the day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dorieter Thank you for the review it is greatly appreciated. We are so gad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, that you got some quality time on the game drive whilst we looked after your precious 1 year old. It was only a pleasure to accommodate you with the nappy request and meals to make sure that your... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We spent two nights here as a group of 6 including two children. We had a family chalet and a luxury tent. Both were fantastic with wonderful inclusions and views. Regular sightings of elephants, kudus, monkeys and impalas from either our rooms or the main lodge. Food was good and the service was excellent. Staff couldn't do more for you.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Penni067 Thank you for the review it is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, the game drives and our food. We are happy that you got to see a leopard and her cub. That is such a special moment. Our leopard sightings are always one of my favourite sightings. We... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

As a family with 2 teenage boys we booked a bungalow/cottage for 4 days and it was fantastic!! Two large bedrooms and an amazing bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a bath and an open shower that was great with 2 shower heads. Beds were very comfortable, rooms extremely clean, there is a safe, drinking water and a bar fridge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tmm128 Thank you for the lovely detailed review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic safari and stay at our lodge. We will pass on your compliments to Moshe and Nicholas and to all staff involved in making your stay a WOW stay at our lodge. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope that you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

What a beautiful location. from the moment we arrived we were pampered and tended to till the day we left. Management is amazing and the staff are incredibly friendly, we felt like part of a big family. The photos of the tents don't do them justice, they are amazing, spacious, super clean and comfortable. the camp is not fenced and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eels2015 Thank you for the lovely review and for the recommendations. We are glad that we could make you feel part of our family. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge. Keep well, kind regards Nadine More 

Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Simbavati River Lodge was booked as part of my package. I had the Luxury Tent for 3 nights. I was picked up at the airport and saw a giraffe and elephant before even reaching the lodge. You are welcomed by the staff with a refreshing drink and a cloth to wipe your hands and face. Over the next three days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tjwood 198 Thank you for a great review we really appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, loved the game drives and that you were happy with the service from our staff. We really hope that you can visit us again. Perhaps stay at our sister lodge Hilltop Lodge? Keep well, kind regards Nadine More 

Tzaneen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

great service, comfortable stay,not a lot of game but after a long game drive saw what we came to see. Pool was quite small. A good place to come if you want your time organized around game drives. The food was good but the evening meals are served after the evening game drive if you don't mind waiting for the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Arthur B Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is appreciated. From your review it seems as if we did not meet or exceed your expectations? The game drives which are optional are one of the main reasons our guests visit the bush, hence each day is planned around the game drives. We do however... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

A lovely location hidden in the Timbavati Private Game Reserve. The staff and management were really helpful and very friendly. Luxury tented room lived up to its expectation. One day a Bull Elephant decided to visit our balcony. The safari was amazing. Saw the Big 5 in the first 24 hours. Tracked down a pack of South African Wild Dogs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sue H Thank you for the stunning review. We are so glad that you had such an amazing stay at our lodge. You really had some great sightings and experiences. We really hope that you do come back and visit again so that we can wow you again. See you soon. Kind regards Nadine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

240 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities