We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Simbavati River Lodge

Northern Sector of the Timbavati | Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Simbavati River Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Simbavati River Lodge
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
106
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We (2 adults and 2 children aged 15) have spent 2 nights in one of the beautiful family apartments and have enjoyed during our stay 4 spectacular game drives, the friendly staff and the delicious food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at Simbavati River Lodge, which was the first time we have stayed in a private concession, having had many memorable self-drive trips to the Kruger since the early 1990s. We absolutely loved it and have already booked our return visit for 2015! The way they manage guests by allocating a team of staff to look after you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were so impressed with Simbavati's tents and service. It is a beautiful place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer! The food was also excellent! We loved the barbecue and all the wonderful staff. They were so friendly and eager to please. We loved it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pattiholmes49 Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience and that you were happy with our lodge, staff and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge in the near future. Kind regards Nadine More

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The LODGE My family stayed at this lodge for 2 nights in the “Rhino” family rondavel. We were greeted with fruit juice and a 15-minute run down of the “rules” regarding the lodge. The primary one being that since there are no fences we were not to walk from our room to the lodge alone after dark. The second important... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RB dreamtripper Thank you so much for writing a review and for going into so much detail. It was a great read with loads of constructive criticism that we will definitely be looking into to find ways to improve where we have fallen short of your expectations. I must say to hear that you will not be back or... More

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Superior experience for "tent camping". Lodge and facilities quite nice. Accommodated special diet needs. Guide/Ranger and Tracker used knowledge and experience to create opportunities for amazing access to animals on our safari drives.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear beh80301 Thank you for the review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our tents and our game drives. We were happy to accommodate your dietary requirements, and we will gladly do it again. Please come back and visit us again. Kind regards Nadine More

Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Our brief stay has been a memorable experience. Very friendly and caring staff, experienced trackers in the safari ..good food, peaceful ambiance in the middle of 'nowhere' with exciting nocturnal visiting animals.. Latha and Satyan

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Latha and Satyan Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a memorable experience and that we were part of it. Please come back and visit us again. Keep well, regards Nadine More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We had planned our safari trip for over a year. We decided on spending time at two places (loved them both). We stayed at Simbavati River Lodge for 3 nights in late July 2014. Coming from the U.S., we broke up the trip with stops in Europe, but the trip to South Africa is still very long. We flew into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sean SD Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you had an amazing experience whilst staying at our lodge. Your wife has great taste! Just like the elephants who love the Amarula :) We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge. Keep well, regards... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Small hotel which gives you a more personal experience .Real clean rooms , fantastic food and very friendly staff and management. On arrival you are welcomed with a cool drink and refresher towel before being escorted to your room. We rested before joining our guide on the evening safari which takes approx. 3.5 hours where we saw elephants, zebras ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear thchevman Thank you for the great review and the compliments, we will pass them onto our staff :) We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience and that you have booked your next stay at our lodge. We look forward to going beyond your expectations on your return trip. Keep well, kind regards Nadine More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Wonderful stay. Treated like family. Fantastic- Could not of asked for more. The staff make it all the more Awesome. Have already planned to return to Simbavati soon.Highly recommend xxxxx This experience with the Simbavati team was beyond belief, can not recommend them highly enough. Jill, Donna & Greg are fantastic as well as the butlers, Lucky included xxxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terri Thank you for the awesome review! It is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge! We will pass on your compliments to the team. Keep well and see you soon. Regards Nadine More

Garland, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Simbavati River Lodge may have canvas walls but it is more like a nice hotel than a tent. The food was great, service was super, great ambience, exciting game drives and a beautiful setting. Too bad the river is dry, but that is not their fault. I would recommend them to anyone and I would happily stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Checking Travel... Thank you for the great review and for the recommendation it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge again. Keep well, regards Nadine More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati | Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Simbavati River Lodge

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby