We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amukela Game Lodge

2.0 of 5 Sable Road 19, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amukela Game Lodge
Professional photos View all
Amukela Game Lodge
Amukela Game Lodge
Amukela Game Lodge
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Amukela Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My stay on weekend 14 Sep 2012 for my wife's 50th Birthday was realy not what I planned for her I have stayed in cheaper playes like Lyons Lodge for instance in Thabazimbi with much more service etiket and personal attention ! and where the decor off place are something which immediately pulls attention. At Amukela their are no warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corne_1969, Owner at Amukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Mr. Charles C and his wife stayed for 2 nights and they were the only guests that weekend. We hosted them, gave them drinks and asked wether they enjoyed their meals. Everything was positive and no complaints were made. On the day of departure I personally helped them with their flat tire. They thanked me and told that they enjoyed... More

Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 10 days at this fantastic place and saw 4 out of the big five right in front of our nose! Very friendly staff and owners with a lot of knowledge about the local wildlife, plants and trees. Location in tranquility and paradise, but still close to several attractions.(Blyde river canyon; cheeta breeding project; 2 entry gates of Kruger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Amukela, 25-29 June 2012. Overall, good value for money. Quite a bit of room for improvement which I wouldn't think would cost too much. Decor really "tired" looking and crockery can certainly be improved, especially for desserts which, on 2 nights, was served in ordinary kitchen glasses. Was not too happy that there is only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corne_1969, Owner at Amukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, with regards to the crockery where deserts is in served, we believe that taste is more important then looks. Toilet: couldn't get the right part to fix permanent so had to make a plan and cleaned it every day. Managers at that time were not aware of only 1 instead of 2 mugs beeing in... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

It is a small lodge with four roustic and simpathetic rooms. Avoid only the shuttle from / to  Hoedspruit airport, that is unreasonably overpriced (1460.00 rands for the couple!), much more than predicted. There is also the surcharge (5%) over the credit card payment. We payed more than the same stay at Kapama (five-star lodge), but it may be a good option... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amukelaan, Owner at Amukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Clients were booked at our lodge 1 day before arrival via another lodge in the Cape. We offered to do the transfer as clients didn't want to rent a car, and due to short timeframe we couldn't outsorce the transfer - what we normally do - We informed clients as well as the lodge who booked the transfer for clients... More

Almere, Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This lodge lies in a private nature reserve (Balule Nature Reserve) next to the Kruger Park. It is a small lodge with an enthusiastic Dutch couple running the place. Great value for money in a beautiful surrounding. Nice and proper rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My family and I have recently returned from our second visit to this lodge and it was just as fabulous as we remembered from our first trip. Peaceful loaction, traditional comfortable rondawel (with the benefit of an en suite), access to game drives and lots of animals, great food (especially Potije), staff very friendly and helpful, and the hosts couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pretoria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Spent 5 days in this lodge with my wife, last June before the WC started. It was incredible to found a lodge in Big-5 for only R545! 2 meals included. Rooms are rustic and the bed sleeps fantastic. Meals are good, hosts very friendly and hospitable, staff is friendly yes you really feel at home. Only 4 chalets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amukelaan, Owner at Amukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Johan, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Last week the lions killed a buffalo-calf but they were chased away by the herd, as the carcass was intact when I found it. Next morning it was gone, probably the hyena's enjoyed a free meal. Looking forward to host you and Sarie next time. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amukela Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amukela Game Lodge

Address: Sable Road 19, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amukela Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Amukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amukela Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Amukela Game Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby