We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cheetah Plains to your Saves list
Cheetah Plains
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
patto46 western australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (92)
  • Photos (182)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • More
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In early June 2014 my wife and I had the opportunity to spend 4 days and 3 nights at Cheetah Plains, a truly incredible experience. From the moment that Emphriam picked up from the airstrip until we watched the "plains" vanish from beneath the planes wings as we left, it was a once in a life time experience. Initially, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights in Cheetah Plains. What a experience! Great views, we managed to see the big 5, unfortunately we had no time to take a picture of the lion having a meal in our last morning there, due to the flight schedule, but at least we had great pics from lioness and tabbies. Regarding the lodge: great hospitality,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Rosa Thank you for the lovely review! It is always a pleasure to see that our guests leave here with great memories and loads of awesome pictures to remember the African Bush by. . Although it is a real pitty you have missed out on getting some more pictures of the Lions, i am sure glad you got to... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 3 days here in mid-winter and saw everything. We have been on safaris before but thanks to the skill of our guide on the game drives, we saw more creatures and more action (some of it rather grisly!) than ever before. The game drives, at 3.5 hours morning and evening, were longer than usual but every effort was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Norman Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a memorable stay with us, and got too see the 'grisly' part of nature re the "circle of life" as we sometimes forget just how hard survival in the African bush really is, for predator & prey alike.. Cheetah Plains take huge pride in having very skilled and... More

london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Want to say a very warm and heartily thanks from us both for the most amazing safari holiday we have ever experienced and the hospitality was out of this world let alone the game viewing of a lifetime. We cannot put words to the whole experience, but for anyone reading this on trip advisor, if you don't visit cheetah plains... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Zane & Gosia Thank you for the great review! I am thrilled with the fact that you had an experience of a lifetime, and therefore endless fond memories of Cheetah Plains and the African Bush! It really means a lot to me/us, and i will relay your message to the whole staff compliment. Ps, hope to see you again... More

Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights with at Cheetah Plains.Having visited many of the private game Lodges in South Africa I can honestly say the Lodge ambiance, the staff and game viewing compare favourably with the best .The chalets are somewhat smaller and less luxurious than many of the other Lodges we have been to but were comfortable enough. We enjoyed excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Rodney Firstly, was great having yourself and your nearest staying with us at Cheetah Plains. Thank you for the lovely review. Really glad you had some fantastic game drives, and yes, Ephriam's knowledge is exceptional, with over 20 years of knowledge, paired with a great sense of humor...you cannot go wrong :) Regarding the level of noise experienced from... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Amazing game drives. Justin was our ranger for the first two game drives. He is amazing. Very passionate, fun and adventurous. They switched our ranger for the rest of the drives and it wasnt as much fun. Loved the setting of the lodge, individual rooms and warm staff. The food was exceptional and very classy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review :) We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cheetah Plains. I am truly sorry that you missed your flight. In our defence, there were nothing, humanly possible, that we could have done more/better to assist you re getting through a flooded river..i hope that the great time you had with us,... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Was able to stay at Cheetah Plains for a few days with friends, and the place couldn't have been much better. If you're driving there…the drive there is pretty treacherous…I've never seen roads (if you can even call them that anymore) with so many potholes. I would strongly suggest calling the lodge shortly before you are traveling as they will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Thank you for your review. I will relay your compliments towards the Cheetah Plains team and Justin alike! Due to all the rains the last month, the roads, especially from Acornhoek down to Gowrie gate, took quite a 'beating' ! So yes, always a good idea to contact us directly at the Lodge for best directions. Kevin, the... More

Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is my 3rd trip to Cheetah Plains and the 2nd group safari that I have led here, and being a a safari company owner I have a the choice of a number of lodges who all provide excellent service, excellent facilities and fabulous game drives, so why Cheetah Plains. Well it is simple, it is intimate, and the staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Gavin Thank you for the great review. Having you and Your guests here is always a great pleasure :) We sure did have our 'hands full' with more than 400 mm of rain over the period you visited us, but, as you've mentioned, knowing that i have a great team that gets things done, is a blessing! And being... More

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here for a few days, the staff was outstanding - The airline had lost my bag in Johannesburg and the staff arranged for it to be brought to me that same night. Our guide Justin was extremely knowledgeable and made the safari experience fantastic. We were there in Summer so due to the amount of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan Thank you for your review and compliments re efficiency in getting your luggage. It was only a pleasure and glad we could get it here so quickly. I am really honored about your compliments towards our Chefs, and their capabilities! We do cook fresh, and with the best ingredients we can source.. Justin sure loves what he does,... More

Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cheetah Plains had a previous life as the Djuma Bush lodge. It was good then and it is very good now. The new owners did a lot more than just give it a new name. Everything at the lodge that can be updated, has been. All have A/C, new decor and bedding. And they are spotless. Previous owners had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for your great review! Real pitty we've missed each other whilst you were visiting Cheetah Plains.You'll have to visit us again soon? I am truly happy that you've managed to capture and experience the essence of what Cheetah Plains is really all about!! I could not put it in any better/other words than what you have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cheetah Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cheetah Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (165)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer