We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Cheetah Plains
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights. Amazing game drives. Justin was our ranger for the first two game drives. He is amazing. Very passionate, fun and adventurous. They switched our ranger for the rest of the drives and it wasnt as much fun. Loved the setting of the lodge, individual rooms and warm staff. The food was exceptional and very classy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was able to stay at Cheetah Plains for a few days with friends, and the place couldn't have been much better. If you're driving there…the drive there is pretty treacherous…I've never seen roads (if you can even call them that anymore) with so many potholes. I would strongly suggest calling the lodge shortly before you are traveling as they will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Thank you for your review. I will relay your compliments towards the Cheetah Plains team and Justin alike! Due to all the rains the last month, the roads, especially from Acornhoek down to Gowrie gate, took quite a 'beating' ! So yes, always a good idea to contact us directly at the Lodge for best directions. Kevin, the... More

Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my 3rd trip to Cheetah Plains and the 2nd group safari that I have led here, and being a a safari company owner I have a the choice of a number of lodges who all provide excellent service, excellent facilities and fabulous game drives, so why Cheetah Plains. Well it is simple, it is intimate, and the staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Gavin Thank you for the great review. Having you and Your guests here is always a great pleasure :) We sure did have our 'hands full' with more than 400 mm of rain over the period you visited us, but, as you've mentioned, knowing that i have a great team that gets things done, is a blessing! And being... More

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of staying here for a few days, the staff was outstanding - The airline had lost my bag in Johannesburg and the staff arranged for it to be brought to me that same night. Our guide Justin was extremely knowledgeable and made the safari experience fantastic. We were there in Summer so due to the amount of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan Thank you for your review and compliments re efficiency in getting your luggage. It was only a pleasure and glad we could get it here so quickly. I am really honored about your compliments towards our Chefs, and their capabilities! We do cook fresh, and with the best ingredients we can source.. Justin sure loves what he does,... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cheetah Plains had a previous life as the Djuma Bush lodge. It was good then and it is very good now. The new owners did a lot more than just give it a new name. Everything at the lodge that can be updated, has been. All have A/C, new decor and bedding. And they are spotless. Previous owners had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for your great review! Real pitty we've missed each other whilst you were visiting Cheetah Plains.You'll have to visit us again soon? I am truly happy that you've managed to capture and experience the essence of what Cheetah Plains is really all about!! I could not put it in any better/other words than what you have... More

Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here and had a great time. Very clean lodging and excellent grounds which has Animals coming very close to the dinning area. The lodge is protected by a thin electric fence to keep large animals out so is relatively safe and quite child friendly ( they do allow children here ). However we did see a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Hemeka Thank you for your review. Glad you had a great time at Cheetah Plains, and that the Sabi Sands lived up to it's reputation re Leopards! Being a pvt reserve makes for some spectacular 'un overcrowded' sightings, as with your experience. Only x3 vechiles allowed in a sighting/lock, and that way you get to come very close to... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We visited Cheetah Plains in January after 3 days of self-drive safari in Kruger. We had a bit of a nightmare drive in getting there, this was our fault for not checking directions from Kruger beforehand. Our map showed a gate into Sabi sands next to Paul Kruger gate, however you cannot use this gate and you must drive to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Dear Hannah Thank you for your review! glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although the Kruger Park is a fantastic reserve, nothing much beats the Sabi Sand pvt Game Reserve, and with Cheetah Plains being up in the northern section of the park, we surely are blessed with amazing wildlife, especially with Leopards :) As with your experience... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sabi Sands had been on our bucket list for some time, mainly due to the frequent and close-up leopard sightings. Although nothing is given in the bush we were not disappointed. 45 minutes into our first game drive we already had two great leopard sightings. At the end of our 3 days we had ticked the Big 5, cheetah plus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited the greater Kruger National Park over December 2013 / January 2014 and visited four lodges. We stayed 4 nights at Cheetah Plains. Our compliments to the management and particularly to the chef, who went out of his way to satisfy our gluten free dietary requests. Our experience was, however, somewhat dampened by the cramped rooms, especially the bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good day Martin Thank you for your review and compliments given to our Management team and Chefs alike. It was only but a pleasure. Your complaints regarding the Standard Chalets being 'cramped' and the bathrooms being below standard and no outside shower, comes as a bit of a dissapointed if i may say. You mentioned that you have made your... More

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A lovely, small and therefore very personal safari lodge. We, 2 adults and 9 year-old child, spent 3 nights there over Christmas hoping to see a good range of animals while enjoying a more individual experience than we had had at a big lodge in the previous 3 days. All expectations were met and exceeded. Although our son was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemCP, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good day Greg. I am glad to hear you safely back home and that you and your family had a really great time with us! Was only a pleasure to entertain your son, and those little scorpion torches makes for a lot of fun and education. Thank you, Justin sure is a font of information indeed, and loves what he... More

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complimenting the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheetah Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheetah Plains to your Saves list