We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Mountain Lodge

305 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Mountain Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Loved the room and the location; we had an excellent vacation. Room was clean, comfortable, well heated, plenty of hot water, reasonably priced and in an excellent location really close to the ski area. The free fire wood added an extra nice touch and we enjoyed the cozy fire place every evening. The Grill had good food also reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank licorna
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you were pleased with your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us and others! And, we will look forward to seeing you again this summer! The ropes course located on the Red River Ski Area, directly across from the lodge is GREAT fun (not to mention... More 

Wolfforth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

If you can, stay in another lodge or hotel. This one is not worth the price we paid. Walls are very thin you can hear everything in the rooms around yours, including the foul language from the wait staff in the kitchen. Every time we walked outside our door we were greeted by the Grill's staff smoking right on our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A C
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of these issues. We currently lease the Black Diamond Grill, and do not manage it's employees. We have discussed these issues with the managers, and displayed our contact numbers in the room for guests to call if issues with noise control, language, smoking, or other problems occur in the future. We apologize this was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Red River hotels

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed at the Black Mountain Lodge (Unit 10) over Thanksgiving weekend 2015 and would like to offer a review based on our experience. Summary: We will not stay at this lodge again; we will spend a little extra money to have a few amenities like non-icy steps, a live person available, and prime features of the lodge available for... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisa l
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Lisa, for your option. Our BUSY season is from Dec 10th - March 25th and once again from the first weekend in June until the close of Labor day. Had you asked when you booked, we would have gladly provided you such information-seeing how both of these amenities (Playhouse and Grill) were so very important to you. One... More 

Rociada, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had relatives visiting from Wisconsin, and because Red River is one of our favorite places to go, we made reservations for overnight. The places we usually stay were full, so we reserved a room at Black Mountain. I don't worry about a place being old, most of them are in Red River, but I can't deal with dirty rooms!... More 

Helpful?
Thank dasher2004
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize your room was not cleaned to the upmost standard. Please know, we have recently completely changed our hired on cleaning staff and gone with another company. We charge a cleaning fee because that is the price our previous cleaning group charged us. Upon review at the end of this season (late October-early Nov) we inspected the rooms... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Not the nicest place but could be a lot worse. My husband and I stayed here 16 years ago and liked the location, so we thought we'd bring our young family back here. After booking, I read the reviews on here and Expedia and then got a little concerned. We came in with low expectations but they were pleasantly exceeded.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandi L
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .. We hope you can... More 

Perryton, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

First we took are grandkids up there to have fun the bathroom you had to step up to go, in the tub there was hair in and on the top of the tub .My room the bed was hard the closet had a big gap I had to put my suitcase right by the light that was coming in so... More 

Helpful?
Thank laura s
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .I understand your frustration and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed three nights while in Red River. The moment we walked in the room I was disappointed. The room I booked online showed two beds, only had one, it appeared similar rooms were the same. Shower was weak and the fan made a lot of noise. The price was great and the visit was very quiet and peaceful. Great... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbert C
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you did not feel the pictures are up to date.. We are remodeling the units as soon as we are done we will be putting new pictures online and hope you will stay with us again. More 

Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed three days within the Lodge. We weren't in the room much to worry about the accommodations. The room was pretty rough...they need to dust and deep clean! The fan was broken and made a horrible noise! The bed was terrible and too soft. The sheets looked like they were from 1970's and so did the furniture. Bathroom shower... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank scarter8471
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .. We hope you can... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We have been coming to Red River for over 30 years and with out a doubt this is the worst cabin I have ever seen. The carpet is completely worn out and dirty. The bedding looked like someone had been jumping on it. The sofa sleeper, which we were going to use, was filthy. The whole unit needed a complete... More 

Helpful?
Thank GranGo5
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our cleaning staff and management have completely been changed. Thank you. God Bless. More 

North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

This was our third trip to Red River, NM during our kids winter break. I love this town for the very fact that is seems to be stuck in time with a very small town atmosphere and almost no "chain" businesses of any type. What you should not expect when you come to Red RIver is a slick modern or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#3 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ryland
Hotel Ryland
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities