We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ryland

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ryland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ryland
Hotel Ryland
Hotel Ryland
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I gave Hotel Ryland a 3 out of 5 for the overall rating because there were some room details missing that I think need to be added. Towel hooks in the bathroom. For long term guests, the storage for clothing was minimal. The water in the bathroom sink took some time to heat up, wasting a valuable resource. Otherwise, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

We've chosen Hotel Ryland for the past 5 years. They have a really great staff & make you feel very welcome. The rooms & cabins are very clean and cozy also in a great location. Being pet friendly is also appreciated. I would recommend that you book your stay at Hotel Ryland on you next visit to Red River.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

The suite was very tight. It was 2 rooms, but had a large futon in the front room that took half of the room, along side a large round fireplace that didn't work, and a king size bed was in the 2nd room. It did have a refrigerator and a microwave, but no chair, no table, and no closet. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This is not exactly a hotel, but a group of apartments/cabins that are managed under the name Ryland Hotel. We stayed at the Gibson Cabin number 118. It is a small 2 bedroom apartment with a small living and kitchen, nice, warm and cozy. Everything was good - with the exception of the first day, when they were very resistant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mountain Park, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The great room, kitchen, dining room and 2 king bedrooms upstairs are very nice. One bathroom upstairs has VERY small shower stall, other bathroom has tub/shower. The 2 downstairs bedrooms had one door that shut them off from the living room, but NO door between the two rooms. Had a bathroom between them, with a door, but the hall between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We are yearly visitors to Red River, and have stayed in lots of different lodges/cabins. I think this was a great value for the money. Very family oriented - picnic tables, firepits, toys for the kids, bikes for the adults out in the yard area. Nice grills available, propane and charcoal furnished, lots of chairs for sitting out and enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

These cabins are in need of a deep cleaning! There was dirt/lint hanging from the ceiling in our sad little cabin that is in need of refurbishing. The stove settings were broken and the oven door could not be opened unless you first opened the refrigerator. Our view, on both sides, was a building...no mountains. There is a nice grassy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatriciaSmith67, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I am happy you enjoyed our yard and fire pits. Unfortunately, sometimes we don't find out there is a problem until after our guests depart. We are... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

This was a first but not our last trip to red river. The owners, Steve and his family, and the staff were super fun and friendly! The room was clean and the fire pit chats and recreation area were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Jose
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Its an OK place to stay when you don't have another choice. They do allow pets. The owner is nice and very laid back. For the price I expected the rooms to be better taken care of. It appears the maintenance on this "boutique" hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roanoke
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been to Red River three times in the past year. I have tried different places to stay and this last trip ended my search. Great place to stay, coming back in October and bringing a group with me. The nightly gatherings around the fire in the yard with the staff and other guests is a blast!! They make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities