We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    20
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
19
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was overall pretty inexpensive even with the pet deposit, but it is an extremely old motel with very dated interiors. The oops was huge, but that put the 20" tube tv far enough away that I couldn't see it. Ac was off and never actually got the room comfortable, but did cool off. Good new is the sheets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and our three year old son and our lab mix stayed at this motel in June 2015. It is an older, one story motel with walk-up exterior room entrances. It was inexpensive and pet friendly (no extra charge), and we got what we expected for the price. The place was reasonably clean and just fine for a night's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel room was clean but a bit dated. The AC unit was really loud and had to be turned off because we couldn't sleep. There was a bench outside for sitting. The man who checked us in was very kind and helpful. The town itself was minimal, like it had fallen on hard times. Breakfast was plentiful with many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a room on a short notice while travelling, and picked this one at random. Had a few non-flattering reviews, but the price was right so we made the reservation. Driving up, it looked a little...um....'questionable'. Older design (probably built in the 70's, but has been upgraded), but very clean. The hotel itself seems to be a Mom & Pop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband stayed there for the night,.. left the room for one hour and his bag went missing,... door was locked,.. passport and all went missing ,... :) nowhere to be found,... Not a good thing,... the room was not that clean ,.. when he asked the cleaning lady if she saw anyone ,... she said no,... he will not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Raton hotels

Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Older hotel but very nice. Clean, comfortable and HUGE rooms at a great price. They allowed our dogs which was awesome and they had continental b-fast in the morning. Extremely reasonable compared to other hotels in the neighborhood. Very happy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We, the employees of the Americas Best Value Inn enjoy being of service to our guests. we would enjoy being of service to you in the future. Tom Angeli, GM More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The Sands obviously was a top end accommodation back in its younger days and it has aged gracefully. Our room was very large and the king bed was excellent. The bathroom was clean and the towels were good. The continental breakfast in the large, classic lobby was better than most. For dinner we ate right there at the Sands Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I thank you for your review. The manager of the Sands Restaurant does a great job of making our guests feel at home. My housekeeping staff was happy to know that you had a nice stay. Again, thank you for staying with us at the Americas Best Value Inn, Sands. Tom Angeli, GM More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The rooms were a lot bigger then what me and my co workers were expecting. Beds were clean with a mattress that wasn't very comfortable. TV's were terrible. Old tube TV's that were blurry in two different rooms. They did have basic cable. Wifi was free but was very spotty. I'd say it worked about 60% of the time. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with the TV and the wifi in your room. The wifi issue has been repaired and we are in the process of replacing our TV's. I informed the restaurant manager that you were not happy with the meal you had. Again I am sorry for you not being happ with your stay. Tom... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We had travelled ALL day and arrived at our America's Best Value Inn in Raton New Mexico at 11p.m. The king size bed was inviting and comfortable! For the price we paid it was it was reasonable. The staff was helpful and friendly! If your on a budget this is a great place to stay but don't expect anything fancy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our large, clean rooms. We are in the process of up grading the Motel. Again the staff and I would like to thank you for staying with us. Tom, GM More 

Colusa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Looking at the pictures, and the overall rating, I thought this might be an okay place. We drove 12 hours, and were exhausted when we got here. Paid $75, the same as we had just paid for a beautiful, well appointed room in Provo. Although the desk clerk was very nice, the place is really disappointing. Had we not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry your stay was not plesant. I do wish you would have informed us of the problem with your room when you discovered it was not what you expected. We could have moved you to another room that you would have been happy with. Again I am sorry your stay was not plesant. Tom, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay