We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Brighton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Older hotel but very nice. Clean, comfortable and HUGE rooms at a great price. They allowed our dogs which was awesome and they had continental b-fast in the morning. Extremely reasonable compared to other hotels in the neighborhood. Very happy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We, the employees of the Americas Best Value Inn enjoy being of service to our guests. we would enjoy being of service to you in the future. Tom Angeli, GM More 

Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The Sands obviously was a top end accommodation back in its younger days and it has aged gracefully. Our room was very large and the king bed was excellent. The bathroom was clean and the towels were good. The continental breakfast in the large, classic lobby was better than most. For dinner we ate right there at the Sands Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I thank you for your review. The manager of the Sands Restaurant does a great job of making our guests feel at home. My housekeeping staff was happy to know that you had a nice stay. Again, thank you for staying with us at the Americas Best Value Inn, Sands. Tom Angeli, GM More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The rooms were a lot bigger then what me and my co workers were expecting. Beds were clean with a mattress that wasn't very comfortable. TV's were terrible. Old tube TV's that were blurry in two different rooms. They did have basic cable. Wifi was free but was very spotty. I'd say it worked about 60% of the time. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with the TV and the wifi in your room. The wifi issue has been repaired and we are in the process of replacing our TV's. I informed the restaurant manager that you were not happy with the meal you had. Again I am sorry for you not being happ with your stay. Tom... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We had travelled ALL day and arrived at our America's Best Value Inn in Raton New Mexico at 11p.m. The king size bed was inviting and comfortable! For the price we paid it was it was reasonable. The staff was helpful and friendly! If your on a budget this is a great place to stay but don't expect anything fancy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our large, clean rooms. We are in the process of up grading the Motel. Again the staff and I would like to thank you for staying with us. Tom, GM More 

Colusa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Looking at the pictures, and the overall rating, I thought this might be an okay place. We drove 12 hours, and were exhausted when we got here. Paid $75, the same as we had just paid for a beautiful, well appointed room in Provo. Although the desk clerk was very nice, the place is really disappointing. Had we not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry your stay was not plesant. I do wish you would have informed us of the problem with your room when you discovered it was not what you expected. We could have moved you to another room that you would have been happy with. Again I am sorry your stay was not plesant. Tom, GM More 

Valley View, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We had traveled a lot of miles and were tired so we checked into the Americas Best Value Inn Sands in Raton. Our nonsmoking room was clean and didn't have the usual residual smoking odors that we've experienced in some other nonsmoking motels. The beds were clean, comfortable and restful. Their continental breakfast was good. We were so pleased with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with the Americas Best Value Inn, Sands. We try hard to please our guests. I have told my staff that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of making some changes to our rooms and to our breakfast. Again thank you for staying with us we enjoyed serving you. Tom Angeli, GM More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Since this property charges $20 extra for a pet, one would expect that extra money was used to keep the room clean. Carpet was full of pet stains. Furniture was old and worn. The beds were fine. TV was old crt and the room was dark. The lone lamp was broken. Everything for breakfast was in a package. Hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This property, like many in Raton, needs some updating. We did have mold in the bathroom ceiling and at breakfast there was muffins growing a moldy green substance as well so be careful. Has potential but needs some care and attention!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just a pass thru for our drive to CO from TX. The rooms are pretty spacious but everything inside is pretty dated. The pillow and bed covers are old and some had even rips and tears. Breakfast was basic and the town around it is very sleepy, so dont expect much in terms of food choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The lady at checkin was nice. I gave this property a low rating as the pool and the hot tub were closed and this was not indicated at the time of my reservation. The room had a terrible aroma of bug spray. The bed was really hard and the pillows weren't much better. everytime that you moved the headboard bumped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question