We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elkhorn Lodge

Hotel website
Rt. 1, Box 45, Chama, NM 87520
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elkhorn Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elkhorn Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    12
    2
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed at the Elkhorn Lodge for a family reunion and was pleased with the accommodations. Clean and cozy and perfect for a small getaway. Staff was very friendly and I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a motorcycle club meet. Nice place and biker friendly. Linda was our host and did everything she could to make us feel comfortable. Even gave us some old towels to clean our bikes with. Rooms do not have air conditioning but no worries as all you have to do is open the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, your stay here with us was great. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed the Elkhorn Lodge. I hope you make it a yearly destination, I know the roads around here are a biker's dream. Thank you for the review. Hope to see you again. Linda More 

Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Without question, I'll be back to The Elkhorn Lodge! From the time I first called to make a reservation, Linda, Albert, and their entire staff made me feel welcomed; their courtesy and caring was unflagging. I was there with a small group of like-minded motorcyclists, using the Elkhorn as a base for a few days of riding the curvy local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we enjoyed having you visit the Elkhorn Lodge. Hope you come back soon. Thank you for the review, it is sincerely appreciated. Linda More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed here last August 2 nights as we were making our way up to Colorado from Texas. We loved it! We felt right at home with the awesome hospitality. The river right at the edge of the property offers a beautiful walk. We saw deer, birds, & other critters as well. Our Fox Terrier gave it 2 paws up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for reviewing the Elkhorn Lodge. We are glad you celebrated your anniversary with us. Please don't wait til your 40th anniversary to come back for a visit. Linda & Albert More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We arrived mid week before the summer season started. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and rustic. We enjoyed our 2 night/3 day stay. The cabin (#41) is very close to the road, however the traffic noise was not bad at night. This cabin has a king bed. The kitchen provided the basics, but need additional glasses, small plates, and bowls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. The baby owls are still on the property but have ventured out of their nest. Hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

Came up for the weekend, fished, hiked, saw wildlife, sun, rain and snow. It was an amazing weekend, great owners and a homey cozy feel. River is amazing and so much more to explore If we had more time. Thank you Linda and Em.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time. It was great to have you up here for a visit! I hope you will come back again. Linda More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We had an amazing weekend in Chama and definitely recommend the Cabins atElkhorn Lodge for a memorable stay. Good location! Scenic! Plenty of hot water. Well equiped kitchen. The owners are very kind & the blueberry muffins at breakfast were delicious... These guys have a great place & do a wonderful job! Very friendly and inviting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your kind review. We appreciate that you have lots going on in your life so taking the time to write a review is very much appreciated by all of us at the Elkhorn Lodge. Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the blueberry muffins. We hope you come back again. Linda, Albert, Emily and Kenny More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Tried to book through Groupon - resort website shows availability but after you buy and try to use Groupon - nasty woman at resort claims all cabins are completely booked for entire dates of offer then calls you a liar when you tell her their website is clearly having problems and showing availability. Groupon was good about giving refund however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, as I explained to you ( I am pretty sure I am the nasty woman you are referring to) the cabins were not and, to date, are still not completely booked for the Groupon offer period. Yes the time you asked for was booked and you were not happy. The offer we had on GroupOn was really good and... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We chose this property because if the many common areas as this was a working trip. I was so politely informed by the owner these public areas were not for visiting. It's an older property in need of tlc, but open and spacious grounds. We had to change rooms three times. Each room having Its own "rustic" feel. Cold and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

John, I am glad that you took the time to write as I did not have a phone number or any way to contact you to ask you to please remit payment for your last night’s stay with us. You stayed with us on three occasions. The last visit was for one week, during this visit, you requested to be... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Found a great deal on this place on Groupon. It was great the cabin was nice and cozy and its a nice get away spot. They have a great river located right behind the cabins just overall a great place to take the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nsblinda, Owner at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Elkhorn Lodge. We have had a great response to our Group On campaign and hope that everyone has an enjoyable experience like yours. Stop in on your way back home. Linda More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
1.5 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay