We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turquoise Trail Campground And RV Park

22 Calvary Rd., 5 mi north of I-40's Exit 175, Cedar Crest, NM 87008
Turquoise Trail Campground And RV Park
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
1
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this park based on reviews from tripadviser and Yelp and the fact that it was away from the interstate, yet close enough to tour nearby towns, including ABQ. When we turned off the main road, I jokingly took a picture of the dirt trail and texted it to my friend, quoting a low budget horror film scene. While... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Wanted to car camp. Drove in past dark and was quickly approached by grounds keeper. Friendly man-he helped us find a spot, showed us the bathroom area, explained the hot shower system (swap $ for coins to operate), then let us get settled. My friend and I realized the ground was too muddy for our new tent and we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The weather was perfect for the week I stayed. Really nice. The tent area was clean and well managed. The bathrooms and showers clean and the water hot.Barb was a exemplary host and was helpful on any issue that arose. Wi-Fi was spotty in the tent area but near th office it was good. I brought my mountain bike and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We are tent campers and we love primitive camping. We really liked the campground, the location and the views. The staff was friendly. It was nice to be able to do laundry and the laundry room was very clean. The tent sites were away from the RV's and quiet. The view of the stars and moon were beautiful. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Camped here for several nights and enjoyed the shady sites, clean showers, and nice views! This campground is much quieter than others in the Albuquerque area. There is a lot to do in the surrounding Sandia Mountains as well. They also put effort in to protect the local animals and the local environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are new to camping and we had a nice stay. We hung out in ABQ for a Breaking Bad bicycle tour (Routes Bicycle Rentals and Tours-fun!) during the day and came back up the mountain for a cool and quiet night. We enjoyed our breakfast burrito at Burger Boy in Cedar Crest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you like natural, ungroomed, this is your place. It is near enough to Albuquerque to go do and see things but far enough away to enjoy fresh air and natural surroundings. It is the perfect spot for enjoying the Turquoise Trail or for a day trip to Santa Fe. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
madison, in
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's certainly not out in the wilderness, but at over 7,000' elevation in the Sandias, this is as lovely as you'll find if you need to stay close to the city. Cedar Crest seems like a small town and the campground is a little out of the way, so civilization doesn't get in the way of a nice retreat. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
DebbieSwe, Owner at Turquoise Trail Campground And RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and are willing to let others know. Thanks again and please come back to visit us! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have come here over the years many times. The friendly people are gone and the tension here makes this place not very relaxing. I got my head bit off for opening my hood on my toad to check my connections. The long term residents here are not very positive about the park. The sites are very narrow and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had valid reservations for a cabin for two nites here and they called us the day of and had two different reasons why they rented the cabin to someone else. We had no other place to stay and three hours from home. My 7 year old son was heartbroken. We ended up at ABQ and made the most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DebbieSwe, Owner at Turquoise Trail Campground And RV Park, responded to this review

In order to have a confirmed cabin reservation, we require a valid credit card that can be charged in advance for the first night's stay. When that happens, we then send a confirmation e-mail with our cancellation policy. In this case, we were given a valid credit card number but then told absolutely NOT to charge it for any reason.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities