We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guess House Hostel

22 Petitenget Street, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Guess House Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #199 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
lachapellicopter
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a good stay. We were in the mixed dorm. Room was clean with good lockers and beds. Nice staff. Good DVD selection in the common area. Good place to meet people, lots of common space. Really good laundry facilities. Only negatives would be: pretty dirty bathrooms and the staff was quite loud early in the morning, so maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BED BUGS IN THE FEMALE DORM!! Had to switch bed but there were bed bugs everywhere!!! That was the first time I saw bed bugs and it s disgusting... Finally slept in an other dorm upstairs that was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, sorry for convenience. Bed bugs major from other traveller is not maintenance the clean by self. But actually our hostel always keep cleaning every day to keep clean, and always maintenance with bed bug terminate. U can see other review now almost not have problem with bed bug, but thank u for your complaint I will call terminate... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms we're really clean. Comfortable beds, location was a little off the center which was good, for me, more quiet location. Still a short stroll to the beach and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

In a quiet location (but only a 20 min taxi from the party street), guess house hostel is ideally situated for backpackers. There are some cheap and cheerful restaurants close by and the beach is within walking distance. The bedrooms are comfortable and have air con, the showers and bathrooms are spotless and the lounge/lobby area is very homely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Nice modern place with warm showers. thought I just had mozzy bites but 6 weeks later I'm still COVERED from my hips down in bites, which looking from previous reviews and calculating dates must have come from this place. Shame to leave this review as it was genuinely a good place to stay,very secure with key cards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry is about this condition. Actually now our hostel is free from bed Bugs, because we always cleaning, terminate bugs every month, and maintain all facilities. But some we can not control some other guest from other place with infection bed bug and stay to our place. This for the problem. If other guest can maintain him self... More 

New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I enjoyed everything about this hostel until the day I left, when I found huge bed bugs in my bed and bites all over my body. I didn't seem to have a problem the first two nights, but the third was awful for bed bugs. That same day the couch (which had previously been merely out of use for unknown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for two nights with my four friends. On arriving at the hostel everything looked clean and nice (apart from the only seating area being out of use), the rooms are an ok size and the toilets are ok but none on top floor! The second night we were all moved into same room(c) and woke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We have pest control quite regularly to keep cleanliness as Backpackers moved from hostel to hostel. There were no bed bugs report by the guest who stayed in the same room the night before your arrival as it had been sterilised several days before. Guests may request for bed change if available.... More 

Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

my brother and I stayed a week in the 12 bed mixed dorm. I must say that our sleep was great, and everyone was quite friendly. special mention must go out to Mila and Ari, and the lady chef at the hostel cafe, they were fun to talk to and took care of our needs. My only complain is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been staying in the Guess House Hostel this summer for about 1 week. The rooms are rather nice and clean and the Hostel as such is a rather good standard too. Unfortunately the sinks are barely functioning and the toilets are in a disgusting state most mornings. This however is more reflective of some of the guests than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guess, thank you for your feedback about our hostel. The cancellation is policy is stated clearly in the term and condition. Your booking also is promotional price with no cancellation or refundable the website where you made your own booking in the web site. So sorry we not straight, but we follow with terms and condition apply, so hope... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We arrived and staff friendly, rooms looked clean and perfect for price paid. Close to potato head on the beach but at least 30minute fast walk to seminyak. BUT returned back at 1am after a great evening in seminyak. In the main area, the sofa is COVERED in bedbugs which come out at night. Apparently te sofa used to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Sorry for here Bed experience in our Hostel,hope u can return again next time.... We want to explain about this case Bed Bug, Actually our Hostel is under maintenance and always keep clean and also every 3 month we call Bug Terminate to clean. This way we get always good comment about our cleaner. We can not prevent... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question