We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guess House Hostel

22 Petitenget Street, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Guess House Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    18
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Guess House Hostel in June 2015 and they have a bed bug problem. Do NOT stay there. I was in the 6 bed female dorm and both me and my friend had them. After we informed the front desk of the issue they told us that they could "maybe move us downstairs, but only if there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuessHouse, Manajer at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Bed bugs is a problem to any accommodation not only in hostels but also any hotels or villas in any country as a result from travelers staying from one place to another. We experience bed bug as a result of those who carried them from another accommodation in Bali and Lombok and do not maintain their cleanliness. But... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

It was a good stay. We were in the mixed dorm. Room was clean with good lockers and beds. Nice staff. Good DVD selection in the common area. Good place to meet people, lots of common space. Really good laundry facilities. Only negatives would be: pretty dirty bathrooms and the staff was quite loud early in the morning, so maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

BED BUGS IN THE FEMALE DORM!! Had to switch bed but there were bed bugs everywhere!!! That was the first time I saw bed bugs and it s disgusting... Finally slept in an other dorm upstairs that was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, sorry for convenience. Bed bugs major from other traveller is not maintenance the clean by self. But actually our hostel always keep cleaning every day to keep clean, and always maintenance with bed bug terminate. U can see other review now almost not have problem with bed bug, but thank u for your complaint I will call terminate... More 

Travelers are raving about these Seminyak hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms we're really clean. Comfortable beds, location was a little off the center which was good, for me, more quiet location. Still a short stroll to the beach and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

In a quiet location (but only a 20 min taxi from the party street), guess house hostel is ideally situated for backpackers. There are some cheap and cheerful restaurants close by and the beach is within walking distance. The bedrooms are comfortable and have air con, the showers and bathrooms are spotless and the lounge/lobby area is very homely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Nice modern place with warm showers. thought I just had mozzy bites but 6 weeks later I'm still COVERED from my hips down in bites, which looking from previous reviews and calculating dates must have come from this place. Shame to leave this review as it was genuinely a good place to stay,very secure with key cards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry is about this condition. Actually now our hostel is free from bed Bugs, because we always cleaning, terminate bugs every month, and maintain all facilities. But some we can not control some other guest from other place with infection bed bug and stay to our place. This for the problem. If other guest can maintain him self... More 

New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I enjoyed everything about this hostel until the day I left, when I found huge bed bugs in my bed and bites all over my body. I didn't seem to have a problem the first two nights, but the third was awful for bed bugs. That same day the couch (which had previously been merely out of use for unknown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for two nights with my four friends. On arriving at the hostel everything looked clean and nice (apart from the only seating area being out of use), the rooms are an ok size and the toilets are ok but none on top floor! The second night we were all moved into same room(c) and woke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We have pest control quite regularly to keep cleanliness as Backpackers moved from hostel to hostel. There were no bed bugs report by the guest who stayed in the same room the night before your arrival as it had been sterilised several days before. Guests may request for bed change if available.... More 

Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

my brother and I stayed a week in the 12 bed mixed dorm. I must say that our sleep was great, and everyone was quite friendly. special mention must go out to Mila and Ari, and the lady chef at the hostel cafe, they were fun to talk to and took care of our needs. My only complain is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been staying in the Guess House Hostel this summer for about 1 week. The rooms are rather nice and clean and the Hostel as such is a rather good standard too. Unfortunately the sinks are barely functioning and the toilets are in a disgusting state most mornings. This however is more reflective of some of the guests than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guess, thank you for your feedback about our hostel. The cancellation is policy is stated clearly in the term and condition. Your booking also is promotional price with no cancellation or refundable the website where you made your own booking in the web site. So sorry we not straight, but we follow with terms and condition apply, so hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karthi
Hotel Karthi
#141 of 198 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorga
Hotel Sorga
#131 of 198 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kutabex Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#57 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#106 of 340 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ned's Hide-Away
Ned's Hide-Away
#231 of 340 in Seminyak
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay