We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Somerset West B&Bs / inns

Penny Lane Lodge

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 North Avenue | Westridge, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Penny Lane Lodge to your Saves list
Penny Lane Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #37 of 70 Somerset West B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
1nashvillecat wraysbury
  • Reviews (21)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wraysbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After searching for an overnight on a rainy afternoon and not finding anything inexpensive around the beach areas, a self catering sign caught the eye, inland at Somerset West, along a main road. Finding accommodation was available and entering reception, it was a surprise to see Kevin behind the bar, wearing his Man U top(should send a Spurs one), with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we appreciate it. So glad you had a comfortable stay with us - we would be delighted to see you again...oh and Kevin says please don't go to the expense of sending me a Spurs shirt - they're giving Man U shirts away free now!! More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Penny Lane Lodge proved to be a great find for me. The chalet was very clean and comfortable and had all that I needed. Diane and Kevin are great hosts. I travel through Cape Town airport quite a lot and I will certainly be using Penny Lane Lodge again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Penny Lane Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Tulbagh, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends in Somerset West. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony with the mountain view. Diane and Kevin made us very welcome and we loved the garden by the pool. We were hugely impressed by Diane's paintings - she even has her own... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice comments, Laura. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay...and my paintings! Hope to see you again if you're coming through to Somerset West. More

Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Thank you for the warm welcome. Really cool. 😊😊 Lol :-) - please keep the dogs away to allow use of the indoor pool. Perhaps regular check ups on the guests if they need anything. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and room. Thank you so much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and for reminding us that our friendly dogs don't always have free range of the garden. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you. More

Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed the first 10 days of this year. A perfect base for our family holiday! We stayed in the two bed cottage, it was great to have this much room as a family on holiday, rather than having to squash in one hotel room. Kevin and Diane were really friendly, although we were so busy we didn't see much of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We agree that the cottage is great for families...and there is lots to do in and around Somerset West. We would love to welcome you back sometime! More

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I need temporary accommodation whilst we are preparing to move from Somerset West, Cape Town, to Pretoria. I visited Penny Lane lodge on 19 Jan '14 to view the "chalet". I was, somewhat, disappointed as the "chalet", viewed, appeared to be an old, wooden-based, "Wendy House" converted to accommodation?? It was small and appeared cramped and "musty".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

We always welcome feedback - including from people who don't actually stay with us. A fresh eye is a useful marker. In response to this review, we would advise that our chalets are timber-framed and clad, insulated with plasterboard and were newly constructed just a few years ago. They are located in a secluded garden setting which many people enjoy.... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is great & offers a nice & quiet environment for resting. One thing that the hosts can improve on is separating their reception area from pets & smoking areas - visitors generally don't like both.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. It is good to know that you were pleased with your room during your short stay and we will pass your appreciation onto our housekeeping staff. More

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Penny Lane with my family. We had a really nice time. The owners and the dogs were all very friendly and the breakfasts were wonderful. No complaints from us! Kevin and Diane had lots amazing ideas for things for me to do. Thanks for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Brandon, so glad you enjoyed the safari, the golf and the surfing...and that you came back all in one piece from your sky dive! More

W Yorkshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 days on business. I was put up in one of the self catering chalets. Unfortunately being on business meant that didn't have much chance to take Dianne's and Kevins sight seeing advice, but they were very useful for recommending nice local restaurants. They were even kind enough to help me after I trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate it! So glad you had a comfortable stay. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again, whether on business or pleasure, we are here to make all our guests feel at home and you would be most welcome. More

Gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband, two young children and I stayed in the cottage at Penny Lane Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen which was perfect for self-catering for our young family. There is a private patio behind the cottage with a little garden and a barbeque. There is a nice clean pool in the main garden surrounded by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do appreciate your nice comments. So glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday here. It was such a pleasure to have you stay here. Have a lovely summer and hope to see you again one day! With best wishes, Diane More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Penny Lane Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Penny Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Lane Lodge

Address: 5 North Avenue | Westridge, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Lane Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Penny Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Lane Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the beautiful town of Somerset West with magnificent views of the Helderberg Mountains, and at the gateway to the winelands, close to the beaches of Strand & Gordons Bay, close to 5 major golf courses, we have 6 units to let on a self-catering / room only basis. Continental breakfast, served on a tray in your room, is available on request at an additional charge.We are 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and 35 minutes from central Cape Town, centrally situated for the tourist or business traveller. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer