We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Erinvale Estate Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    53
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
27
70
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful place to stay. Cannot get over how lovely the staff were... Dont think I saw an unhappy face during my entire stay. Wonderful setting, great food, good spa - all together fantastic. Thank you all

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your experience and your delight after staying with us at the Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. We are truly pleased that your stay was such a memorable and enjoyable time for you, and particularly that you enjoyed our Spa, the wonderful cuisine on offer, our gardens, rooms and the... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made arrangements through the concierge for a surprise birthday dinner for the love of my life. I was assured by the staff that we would be well looked after on the night. I can without reservation say they did not fail to deliver. We had a fireside table seating with a beautiful flower arrangement to adorn the table. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you very much indeed for your most positive comments with regards to your birthday celebration held at our Seventeen07 Restaurant. What a delight to hear that this was a very special and memorable evening for you. We do continually strive to always delight our guests, and to provide them with ultimate service and attention. On... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

A firm favourite of ours whether it's the Sunday buffet or a normal informal lunch. Love this place and the staff are always friendly and efficient. In summer the verandah under the Oaks is the place to be for long lazy lunches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments with regards to our Sunday Buffet in particular, as well as all the meals you have enjoyed with us. We do pride ourselves on having a wonderful and talented Chef, with a dedicated and professional team supporting her. They were delighted at your comments, I have also passed on to our... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

This destination is ideal for weddings where all the preparations,the reception and the accommodation and catering for wedding guests are catered for.There is a special package for the bride and bridesmaids to spend time in the spa.A chapel on the premises ,restaurants,a pub ,reception rooms and hotel commodation means quests can arrive early and only leave the day after the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your very positive and detailed review of our hotel, in particular with regards to Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa being a superb wedding venue. This is most appreciated. We are indeed most proud to be able to offer all our guests a wide variety of amenities and services, whether it be for a wedding... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We booked in for a weekend away to celebrate a very special friends wedding. Leaving the kids behind with babysitters for the first time we had no real expectations other than to just enjoy the rare moments of being a couple again. We were completely blown away by the hospitality and service - nothing was too much effort for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

What a delight to read your review on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the entire management and staff a very big thank you, and we are very proud and happy that we were able to make this special weekend a memorable one for you. The comfort and happiness of each and every guest is our prime concern, and I am delighted... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed for one evening at this most charming hotel in celebration of our wedding anniversary. It was fabulous, We were welcomed by friendly staff and made to feel at home. The room was absolutely fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the service of the highest standard. We will most certainly come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your very positive experience at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. We were most delighted that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate this very special event. Indeed the ambience and location, and our professional, friendly and efficient staff in all areas of service are something of which we are... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We got married at Erinvale and will cherish the memories for the rest of our lives... the charming white chapel on the property, the wonderful Cape Dutch architecture, the beautifully appointed rooms, the masterfully prepared food and attention to small details, and last but certainly not least, the amazing and warm-hearted staff make Erinvale Estate unforgettable. Dennis, who looked after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

First of all my sincere congratulations once again on your marriage from myself and my team. May you have a lifetime of happiness together. We are so pleased and honoured that you have chosen Erinvale Hotel for your wedding, and delighted that we made this very special occasion a memorable one for yourself and your guests. I will most certainly... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Very nice location and upscale food. Service is very nice and friendly. Atmosphere and interior design of the restaurant is an interesting combination of historical building and furniture combined with modern art. We really loved the food, it was definetely the best we had during our 4 days in Cape Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for posting your very positive comments with regards to your experience here at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your dinner, we do pride ourselves on having a tremendously talented team in the kitchen who strive to delight our guests at all times. I will certainly pass on... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

First room was a but tired and dreary but we asked for an upgrade and were rewarded with a great room. The spa is fantastic - extremely helpful and attentive, great massages. Breakfast pretty average to poor. No offer of eggs in a specific way other than the congealed scrambled ones on the buffet. Selection good but no Offer of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, we are always extremely grateful to guests who care enough about their experience and any concerns they have to inform us about them. I am very happy that you have enjoyed you stay with us, but have also taken careful note of the issues which you have pointed... More 

Gersau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We stayed at Erinvale Estate Hotel on the 3rd of April. We called early and asked for early check in which was provided at no extra cost as our room was available. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, but needs work. We had a friendly welcome on arrival but no help with getting our bags up to our first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

First and foremost I would like to apologise to you for the mishaps which you encountered during your stay with us. This is certainly not our normal standard of service, as we do receive many compliments and positive comments from guests, particularly with regards to service and our friendly and efficient staff. I am of course aware that there are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
0.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
3.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#4 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
14.7 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#35 of 72 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay