We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Willowbrook Country House

Certificate of Excellence
Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Willowbrook Country House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Simple effective accommodation / value for money in a beautiful quiet rural setting. Excellent restaurant / food with a twist. Worth a visit for the exquisite menu with freshly cooked local ingredients

Helpful?
1 Thank 39kaz
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It would be unfair to say that the rooms were not pleasant, clean and acceptable aside from being a bit overpriced, but I would not recommend it because of their billing policies and devious overcharges, especially in the restaurant. Here again I have to add that the meals were of a good standard, but here it is true to say:... More 

Helpful?
Thank 31Extensivetraveller
Willowbrook31, Owner at Willowbrook Country House, responded to this review

Dear Extensive Traveller, We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and well appointed rooms, our excellent food and service in our restaurant. It is however disappointing and extremely surprising to read your feedback when no problem was brought to my attention during your stay with us. We don't quite understand your remarks about "devious overcharges" as... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

I liked it so much that I returned 1 week later for another few days,,,, My first room was at the back, super quiet and had a beautiful view over the garden, huge comfortable bed and great sized bathroom... My second room was just as beautifully designed and overlooked the front gardens. Super pool where I enjoyed sampling their wines,,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simlyhippychic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Lovely hotel close to golf courses and wine farms. Try Erinvale for golf and then do wine tasting and dinner or lunch at Lourensford wine estate. Great day. The Hotel has nice, refurbished different size rooms with a nice garden and pool. Located in a very quite and safe neighbouhood. Lisa and her staff are incredibly nice and helpful with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

I specifically requested twin beds when I made the booking a few months before our arrival and was assured it will be no problem. However, upon our arrival late Thursday afternoon, there was only the 1 queen bed. All the other rooms were booked out so we could not get another room!

Helpful?
Thank Grobbies
Willowbrook31, Owner at Willowbrook Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay with us and we feel that a couple of points should be clarified. You reserved a Petite double room - by definition the smallest of the rooms available at the time - for a one night stay in November - high season - and asked to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

We booked out the lodge for our wedding weekend up the road at Lourensford and the team looked after our family and friends so well. Nothing was ever too much to ask and their service was very personalised. The rooms are all differently furnished and beautiful. The suite, which we used as the bridal suite, was spacious and elegant, opening... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Snelsie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

A perfect spot close to all shops and restaurants in the most divine setting. We stayed over for 3 nights, and would have stayed longer had we not needed to move on. Lisa and her staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The rooms are truly spacious and beautifully decorated. They have a hidden gem of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele B
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

The service here was fantastic and the ladies were always very attentive to my needs. I had a couple of terrific sleeps due to the quiet and laid back atmosphere. I highly recommend this hotel to whomever values personalized service and great value.

Helpful?
1 Thank sc0ttf2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

We were back at Willowbrook Lodge, and there was a good reason for our stay. Simply, we love the tranquility. Debora was kind enough to assist us on our arrival at Willowbrook and Maggie, whom we know from previous visits and is now part of the Willowbrook furniture, also ensured that our stay was filled with the most delicious farmhouse... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Excellent accommodation and service. Our room was upgraded free. Good value and Excellent restaurant. Ideal for a visit to Vergelegen, for Garden Tour, wine tasting & Lunch/Dinner. Best value off peak times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ishan B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#4 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
9.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#2 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 74 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay