We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Somerset West accommodations

Chelaya Country Lodge

Mondeor Road, Somerset West, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chelaya Country Lodge to your Saves list
Chelaya Country Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
96%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014
SassyMac84 Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (82)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
true
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable and inviting. The property grounds are serene and views are stunning. The hosts and staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. Great location, excellent atmosphere and accommodation that ticks all the boxes. Loved my stay at Chelaya and will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was totally bowled over with the welcome and kindness from the staff at Chelaya Country Lodge. I booked for 1 week and stayed for 3 weeks. In that time I had 2 parties there for around 40 people at a time. Both occasions were handled fantastic and allowed me to have a great time friends and family. Will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were part of a large group of friends all in Somerset area for a wedding! Everyone at Chelaya was accommodating! We all arrived at different times but there was always someone (Wickus) available to show everyone to their rooms and to ensure everyone is properly settled in! Brigit also spent a lot of time prior to my arrival to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madagascar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

As part of our honeymoon visit in South Africa we spent time in Cape Town and found our 'home away from home' in Somerset at Çhelaya Country Lodge. The staff was most welcoming and friendly. They took the extra step to answer questions and assist on all fronts. And went above and beyond what you might expect - assisting with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australind, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I spent six nights and five days at the Chelaya Lodge not far out of Cape Town. It was originally a farm house sitting on a large acreage that had over the years been renovated, extended and added to, now boasting at least 4 chalets, each with the capacity to sleep four persons or more, with other... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at Chelaya Lodge for 8 nights and the end of March/ first week of April 2014. We occupied the Garden Suite, Garden Cottage and Courtyard Suite. The lodge is ideally situated between Cape Town and the Winelands, and the beaches are not far away. The two cottages are well-equipped with everything that is needed for self-catering. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blackford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at Chelaya lodge in the garden cottage during February for 5 nights. The cottage is 2 story with lovely king size bedroom downstairs with roll top bath in the room. Upstairs in the mezzanine there are 2 single beds. It can be a bit warm up there, but fans are conveniently placed. This is a beautiful manor type... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winterton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked the Garden Suite for four nights. Loved the cottage. Very comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. Staff are really helpful and being able to do a large load of laundry for R50 was a bargain. The owners were lovely and very friendly. It is not in Somerset West Central and is a bit of a drive. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatSW, Owner at Chelaya Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I thought it important to point out that the ONLY time guests of other cottages cannot use the pool is when the Homestead is booked on an EXCLUSIVE USE basis. This generally only occurs over peak periods such as Christmas and New Year and,... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a calm place to experience the cape region and you do not need shops/ restaurants in walking distance then it is perfect. The area around is not good. The place gas a security system and should be save. Only some km from N2 - but you can not see and almost not hear the autobahn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very disappointing customer service from this guesthouse during the booking process. We booked one cottage for several nights and we received the confirmation that they will reserve the room.. Although we explained the reason why we would not be able to pay on-line because our credit card was fraud once using on-line payment, the owner demonstrated a huge lack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HatSW, Owner at Chelaya Country Lodge, responded to this review

I was deeply shocked when I read your review as it has tainted our thus far 100% excellency rating! Firstly I apologise unconditionally for the fact that you were so badly treated; I have investigated the matter and agree that it could be handled better by our admin department. Unfortunately we did not, at the time of your enquiry, have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chelaya Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelaya Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelaya Country Lodge

Address: Mondeor Road, Somerset West, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelaya Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelaya Country Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Somerset West with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelaya Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer