We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Cross Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Add Your Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
49
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Marc and Claudia were perfect hosts and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was served with a smile and a laugh, especially the poached eggs. The Zebra suite was spacious, comfortable and well appointed with access to the private garden and personal sun loungers. Marc and Claudia were very helpful and knowledgeable with regard to places of interest and local... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful place to either stay over or relax on holiday in the Cape Winelands and coast. Great service and good meal at breakfast. Spacious and scenic guesthouse like a small boutique hotel. Warm welcome from the owners on arrival. Good safe off road parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only spent one night at this hotel. My room was nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The grounds, pool and sun lounge also looked nice but I did not have the time to enjoy these. The hosts were also very friendly and helpful and tried to do everything to make me feel comfortable. They also retrieved some valuable items... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After 4 weeks in SA we stay the last 3 days of our holiday in Southern Cross, the hospitality was great. Claudia and Marc make give us feel as if we were at home,only we did not make breakfast, they did and it was great. the apartment was perfect everything was provided, only the seeview was not there , but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sint-Laureins, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We felt immediately welcome. The staff was not only very friendly but also very helpful in finding a restaurant and winetasting estate. Thanks to an excellent documentation map, we had all we needed to find our way in the city and around. Moreover we had an excellent breakfast.,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Just returned from SA to the UK and stayed at the Southern Cross for 5 nights due to a wedding. I have to say it was a fantastic experience, with Marc & Claudia both being friendly, welcoming & flexible. So much so, that the groom opted to stay at the guesthouse the night before the wedding over the Lord Charles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

excellent place to stay: bright, clean and cosy room (or suite it seemed afterwards), breakfast was super and the hosts took care of every booking we asked for - great! ideal also to start exploring Stellenbosch from here, or to go to the Cape or even Hermanus. if I can give only 1 recommendation: a stronger rooter for the wifi.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Our room was not 4 star quality I am sure the others were we were put into what they called budget room we thought we booked 4star acc but ended up in 1 star room however very friendly people no shampoo tv was 12" not 22" curtains only just meet in the middle

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

My wife, I and three kids stayed here for the final two nights of our three week holiday in south Africa. The owners were helpful in identifying and booking a nice restaurant for me via email in advance of our arrival when asked. This was very appreciated. We also received a warm welcome from Claudia on arrival and she showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Joe and Trish, we are very sad to read that we did not fulfil your expectations - moreover disappointed you. As a guesthouse owner we do have the possibility to reply to received reviews and that is what we would love to do herewith as some things must be corrected please. Please allow us to state that in our... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

because of being 30km from Cape Town this guest house is in an excellent position to see the whole cape area. The guest house is set in very pleasant surroundings and is attractive to stay in.The owners are welcoming, but could be a bit more pro active with information of what to do and see and to arrange trips and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dearest guests, We like to thank you for your comments received - although we have to say the final result is a little bit astonishing and also kind of disappointing to us - especially as you did judge the singe subject more positive than your overall impression. It would have been nice if you had talked to us personally -... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question