We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Somerset West B&Bs / inns

Southern Cross Guesthouse

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 72 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
553lynnp Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
39
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife, I and three kids stayed here for the final two nights of our three week holiday in south Africa. The owners were helpful in identifying and booking a nice restaurant for me via email in advance of our arrival when asked. This was very appreciated. We also received a warm welcome from Claudia on arrival and she showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Joe and Trish, we are very sad to read that we did not fulfil your expectations - moreover disappointed you. As a guesthouse owner we do have the possibility to reply to received reviews and that is what we would love to do herewith as some things must be corrected please. Please allow us to state that in our... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

because of being 30km from Cape Town this guest house is in an excellent position to see the whole cape area. The guest house is set in very pleasant surroundings and is attractive to stay in.The owners are welcoming, but could be a bit more pro active with information of what to do and see and to arrange trips and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dearest guests, We like to thank you for your comments received - although we have to say the final result is a little bit astonishing and also kind of disappointing to us - especially as you did judge the singe subject more positive than your overall impression. It would have been nice if you had talked to us personally -... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at Southern Cross Guesthouse. We had the Africa Room - very spacious with 2 floors and 2 bathrooms. Bed and linens were awesome. Air conditioner works really quickly! Nice information provided about the surrounding area. Breakfast was great. Only small issue was wifi. They warn you that it will not be as fast as your home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After over a years absence my wife and I found ourselves back in Somerset West and decided to revisit Southern Cross. We were not disappointed. Marc has been joined by his charming wife Claudia and between them have created a welcoming, comfortable guest house. All rooms and suites have been modernised since our last visit and we were particularly impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service, fantastic place in a quiet location. Breakfast was good and the rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Great sundeck area which overlooked the sea. Friendly hosts who were very welcoming and made us feel at home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

My husband, daughter and I only spent one night but have a wonderful stay. The room was lovely and clean and Claudia and Marc went out of their way to accommodate us with another bed in our room. The gardens are lovely and well kept and the pool was very inviting. We had a lovely stay and will definitely stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taby, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We stayed only one night and had a newly decorated nice room. We have absolutely nothing negativ to say. OK, maybe you could add a make up mirror in the bathroom. A perfect guesthouse at convenient distance from the CPT Airport, wine estates and the beach. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Wonderful guesthouse with an excellent sun terrace and very lovely hosts. Nice breakfast buffet and very good laundry service. Rooms tidy and comfortabel. Absolutely nothing to fault. 10 points! We would really like to come back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Whilst we only stayed a few hours due to the nature of our visit, we were very happy with all aspects of the guesthouse. The housekeeping was above standard and the rooms were of the top draw. very pleasant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

In a quiet street, a very modern place in a beautiful garden, with a lot of attention to details in the rooms. Close to the city centre, you will fin easily a plce to Our only comment would be that it is perhaps a bit expensive, with a breakfast which could be more generous. Nice stay anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback received and would like to comment as follows. We offer a wide buffet selection of cheese (at least 3) cold meat (at least 3 to 5), bread (3 different types of Toast plus fresh rolls), different jams, fresh fruit and yogurts. Even cake is often found on our buffet. A selection of warm meals with eggs... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Cross Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Guesthouse

Address: 20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Cross Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Guesthouse Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay