We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Cross Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
52
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked a night in the guest house online and my booking was confirmed. I arrived at the guest house at 7.45PM and ran the door bell for over 30 minutes. I finally got hold of Marc the guest house owner after googling the property and finding Marc's mobile number. He who told me they closed at 6PM. This was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jacky, Thank you very much for your nice review. It was great to have you as our guest. We apologize again for not being at the guesthouse when you booked later in the evening (shortly before 8:00 p.m.) and showed up at the gate just a few minutes later. As we do not have a 24/7 reception like a... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed with this place. My husband accidentally booked the "economy" Cheetah Room instead of the normal standard of accommodation we like. We were first made aware of this no more than a minute after arriving when our hosts informed us that we had booked their "economy" room. I must admit I found this to be quite rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
southerncross2, Owner at Southern Cross Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guests, We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are certainly not aware of having been rude with you at any time. Unfortunately you are mentioning some incidents and conversations that definitely dis not happen like this. We do not consider this as fair and polite. We are glad to mention that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my bridesmaids prepared for my wedding in the Africa room! And what a great experience! The room was spacious enough for 4 girls to get ready without getting in each others way! I felt well rested and the calmness of the guesthouse definitely contributed to a stress free day on my big day! Both Claudia & Marc assisted... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Secunda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wardrobe was reeking of damp and mould; the owner did not smell it. The breakfast fare was presented with small quantities and have to be frequently replenished. Two cup sizes used at various breakfast tables. The coffee machine filled the smaller cup to its capacity with no possibility for adding milk. Inconvenient location of TV set on foldable arm... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our "Elephant Room" was very comfortable. The owner helped us with our bags the moment we arrived and upon check out. Breakfast was delicious and eggs are cooked to order. I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Marc and Claudia were perfect hosts and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was served with a smile and a laugh, especially the poached eggs. The Zebra suite was spacious, comfortable and well appointed with access to the private garden and personal sun loungers. Marc and Claudia were very helpful and knowledgeable with regard to places of interest and local... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Wonderful place to either stay over or relax on holiday in the Cape Winelands and coast. Great service and good meal at breakfast. Spacious and scenic guesthouse like a small boutique hotel. Warm welcome from the owners on arrival. Good safe off road parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I only spent one night at this hotel. My room was nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The grounds, pool and sun lounge also looked nice but I did not have the time to enjoy these. The hosts were also very friendly and helpful and tried to do everything to make me feel comfortable. They also retrieved some valuable items... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

After 4 weeks in SA we stay the last 3 days of our holiday in Southern Cross, the hospitality was great. Claudia and Marc make give us feel as if we were at home,only we did not make breakfast, they did and it was great. the apartment was perfect everything was provided, only the seeview was not there , but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sint-Laureins, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We felt immediately welcome. The staff was not only very friendly but also very helpful in finding a restaurant and winetasting estate. Thanks to an excellent documentation map, we had all we needed to find our way in the city and around. Moreover we had an excellent breakfast.,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question