We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH The Lord Charles

4.0 of 5 Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NH The Lord Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH The Lord Charles
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    147
    77
    28
    21
See reviews for
71
135
17
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (431)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found Lord Charles to be nice and clean. The service was great. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious meals! They added so many nice touches to every part of the meal- even the cheeses were unique! The desserts were TOO delicious 😊 The breakfast buffet also had so many wonderful surprises- special homemade sauces to add to yogurts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very successful conference with high level clients was held at The Lord Charles 19th and 20 Jan. The key reason for the success was the level of service and friendliness of the staff. The Lord Charles is popular with return guests and conference delegates. the lovely grounds and 2 swimming pools lend itself to team building or to just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Martie Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback with regards to your recent stay . We are delighted that we have met every expectation from get go. We will communicate your positive feedback to the rest of the staff, as it is something they can pride themselves in. We hope to see you back at... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

NewYears eve dinner dance was fabulous. Great food and drinks. Rooms were apallng. We had booked 4 rooms and none of the air conditioners were working. Is this a ploy? After complaining a technician arrived with no tools and repaired it. The bathroom was terrible. Very old, handbasin full of cracks, very old taps that took a feat of strengh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Amy Thank you for your honest review with regards to your recent stay at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the New Year’s Eve Dinner Dance and that the food was n plus. Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with regards to our rooms and the state thereof. However,... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The Lord Charles for a wedding in December and really enjoyed my time! The pool was a great place to hang out during the day and the salad I had by the pool was amazing and was served by a friendly waitress. The staff at this hotel, especially the front desk/reservations people are very friendly and always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Estelle Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your latest stay at NH The Lord Charles. We pride ourselves in our great staff and the service they provide to our guests to make them as comfortable as possible. We are sorry that we have not met your expectations with regards to the... More 

Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the past few years, we have been of the opinion that there was a need for upgrading! TV's in bedrooms and of course the furnishing etc needs a brighter look. We leave the comfort of our own homes and look forward to something more comfortable and fresh! We were therefore happy to hear of the intended upgrading and look... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Pamela Thank you for your honest review. We value our guests’ feedback and strive to better where we can to improve the quality of our Hotel. We are delighted to report that you are correct and that we are busy with refurbishments for 2015. We look forward to welcoming you back to NH The Lord Charles in the not... More 

Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect relaxation and tranquility made for a great weekend away. Travelling with kids was not a problem and they were "treated" by the friendly staff. The pool is gorgeous and the outdoor Jacuzzi a perfect ending to a lovely day. Food quality for lunch and dinner is first class and although it took a little over 35 minutes, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Samantha We are delighted to have received your review with regards to your recent stay at NH The Lord Charles. Thank you for your detailed mentions about our outstanding service and good quality of food as this is some of our best attributes, which add to the ambiance of the Hotel as mentioned in your review. We look forward... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful, restful time. The front desk staff and the Concierge team did absolutely everything to help us relax and enjoy our stay. We had a superior room but another time I would book a suite as those are the rooms with good views and more space to sit outside the room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff made your stay as comfortable as possible. We will communicate your compliments to the staff. We look forward to welcome you back for another stay in the not so distant future. Warmest Regards... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Very clean, tidy hotel which is also very easily accessible from the main highway. Although I only stayed for 1 ight, all the meals were good. I would recommend this if you are staying in that part of Cape Town. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel and making positive remarks with regards to our clean and tidy room as well as our easily accessible location and great meals served. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another pleasant stay. Warmest regards The NH Management Team More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has 2 swimming pools - one of which is surrounded by a restaurant. Last summer I phoned in and spoke to the restaurant manager, requesting whether restaurant users, who are not staying in the hotel, were allowed to use the restaurant swimming pool and I was very clearly told that this was permitted. As a family, we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Tracy Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Hotel. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. We are really sorry that we were unable to accommodate you and your family at our poolside this year. Our doors are always open to local visitors, but being a hotel, our in-house guests are our top priority.... More 

Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights after new year. Hotel looks expensive from the outside and entrance is impressive. However the room furniture and amenities are outdated and needs a revamp. Not impressed with breakfast service. Staff not attentive and requests for coffee and cutlery had to be made more than once. Ultimately fetched cutlery myself. If SA Tourism council grading is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay at NH The Lord Charles. We are very sorry for not meeting your expectations. Please be advised that we are currently busy with refurbishments that will update and add to the quality of the Hotel. Being in the hospitality industry we rely heavily on constructive feedback... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to NH The Lord Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your NH The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay