We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH The Lord Charles

4.0 of 5 Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NH The Lord Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH The Lord Charles
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    138
    69
    27
    20
See reviews for
63
125
17
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (406)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great reception, friendly helpful staff. Rooms are a bit dated, but well appointed. Air conditioner didn't work and it was hot, but that was due to load shedding in Somerset West and Stellenbosch earlier. Excellent breakfast. I'll go back, thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Alwena

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
greyton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Reception great room clean and ready staff great positive critisism upgrade tv and leaky toilet room 1006 fantastic breakfast will definitly go again well done what the hell more must i write,covered everything i wanted to say

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pretty, historic hotel in a lovely setting. Excellent free and super-fast wifi available in hotel room. Safe and secure parking. Staff friendly and competent. Excellent amenities and conference facilities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service from staff was excellent. The rooms while clean and neat are a little dated and can do with a mini revamp. The kitchen staff catered for my vegetarian dietary requirements and I ate like a king!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was a memorable experience. I enjoyed the stay and the food was also good. Free Wifi was very welcome. The bed was comfortable and the aircon worked well. The TV is very old and was not working very well (colours mixed up)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review NH The Lord Charles. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and all the services we offer at NH The Lord Charles. We are happy to announce that we will soon be starting with soft renovations of which the TV sets is one of our main... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent one night, I wish I had booked for more.Good service from the staff; clean rooms, amazing breakfast buffet, well positioned surrounded by the winelands on the one side and the ocean on the other-what a view!!. I will be returning to enjoy a couple of days with them and visit the surroundings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are delighted you hear you have enjoyed your stay with us at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We pride ourselves in all our qualities we have to offer at our Hotel, from our food to our beautiful location. We look forward to welcoming you back to NH The Lord Charles Hotel to create more blissful memories. Warmest... More

England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 4 nights in this comfortable hotel. The rooms are spacious, well maintained and immaculately clean. Restaurants are very good with massive choice at breakfast and evening buffets and a good menu in the separate a la carte restaurant. Staff are all courteous and helpful. Its about 50km outside of Cape Town but is very easy and quick to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and for emphasizing our best attributes, such as our fabulous restaurants, clean rooms and perfect location. We will make sure that your feedback gets communicated to our staff with regards to their great service. We pride ourselves to always ensure that our guests are happy to return to... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bathrooms and shower arrangements require attention. The room TVs are a no, no. Most hotels provide even cheapest quality of plasma TVs but they are still TVs. The room furnisher also require some modernisation. Otherwise I like the tranquility, no noise, top quality service. Your dining rooms offere top quality and friendly service. Like it! Food is good. Some... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Phopho Thank you so much for taking the time to review NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met regarding the facilities of our hotel.. We are constantly working on improving the quality of NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are delighted to inform you that we will be starting with soft renovations... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived late left early but the experience was great. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurants were good. Ambiance was enjoyable. Room was spacious, quiet and clean. Good location for exporing the winelands.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Mark. Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we appreciate it the feedback from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and all the positive points you referred to with regards to our location, food and quiet and clean rooms. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.... More

Seattle, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Lord Charles for three days. It's a very comfortable hotel, and the breakfast is wonderful. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, and isolate the hotel from the bustle of the nearby roads.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to review NH The Lord Charles Hotel and for mentioning how much you had loved your stay and the food as well as our beautiful location. We take great pride in our services we have to offer to our guests. It’s always good to hear how much our guest enjoy... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to NH The Lord Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay