We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

4.0 of 5 Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    82
    31
    21
See reviews for
74
140
18
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (443)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

having stayed in a number of 4-star venues lately, this one disappointed. We were very impressed by the reception area and efficiency of the front staff, together with pleasant breakfast, but the room left a lot to be desired. Old tv, old fridge with no bottled water, and the bathroom was terrible - we challenge management to shower in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give such an honest review on your recent stay. We value the feedback of our guests and we will improve wherever we can. We will undergoing renovations on 100 of our rooms after May and all of your concerns as mentioned in your review will be touched on. We are terribly... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is always the small things in life that is neglected first that causes the proverbial "banana skin" on which the rest slips. We booked into the Lord Charles without any hitch and had a good reception though I would suggest that guests that have to wait in line for check in just be taken over to the lounge and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Adriano Thank you for taking the tome to give us such a detailed review and for voicing your concerns. Our sincerest apologies, if we did not meet your expectations. We will make sure to communicate all your concerns to the departments concerned. Our bar fridges are only available upon request and we apologise if the message was not conveyed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last stayed 12 years ago, and it would seem nothing has changed much. Booked a standard room, which on arrival was drab and disappointing. Asked at reception to upgrade and was moved to a junior suite the next night. We were prepared to pay extra, but the manager waived the charge. The junior suite was very good, spacious and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Denise It is with great pleasure to read that you have been treated well at our establishment. Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectation from the get go. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your upgrade to a suite as we strive to make our guests feel comfortable at all times. Thank you for mentioning... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Lord Charles as it was close to a wedding that we were attending, we had also heard that it was a good hotel. Sadly we were disappointed. The service on the pool deck was terrible we were told that they could not serve us as they were busy with a 500 delegate conference. The maintenance in the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Trish Thank you for your review and for pointing out some of your concerns. Your feedback is much appreciated. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the rooms, service at the pool and breakfast. We have taken your feedback into account and will take action wherever possible. We are thrilled to announce that... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here recently since it was close to a wedding we attended. We had researched it beforehand so we knew we wouldn't be staying at the Ritz. The hotel is just very dated. Old themes and finishes used in it's design. Our room was tidy and clean however and we had no issues when eating at the restaurant for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry to read that we did not meet any of your expectations of the Hotel upon arrival. We value the feedback of our guests and will strive to better where we possibly can. We are currently doing renovations to the hotel, that will give the Hotel an overall fresh look. We pride ourselves in our... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last time i stayed at the lord charles must have been in the 90's. It seems that the hotel has not done proper maintenance since then. On our way to the rooms you could notice the lack of attention over the years. Reminded me of some hotels i stay in travelling africa. A big modern time irritation: in our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Maurice Thank you for your detailed and constructive review of our Hotel. We value all our guests feedback, both negative and positive. We are thrilled to report that we will be doing renovations throughout the Hotel. We have already started to replace the old TV’s in some rooms with 42 inch flat screens. We have taken note of all... More 

Mazan, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food and service at this hotel, rooms large, but the complete renovation planned for later this year is much needed! The location is isolated, nowhere to walk to and the hotel shuttle too infrequent. A car is needed. I travel to South Africa from wintry Europe for the climate, therefore I like to be outside, sitting somewhere with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Alicia Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review. We value our guests feedback extremely and always strive to better where possible. As you have mentioned we will be doing renovations in the hotel, which we all are looking forward to. Thank you for mentioning what great service you have received during your stay.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is large with great facilities and the staff are attentive and helpful. The hotel gardens are beautiful and definitely with a stroll through. The location is great for exploring the wine farms in the Somerest West areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Adrian Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review. It’s always a pleasure to read how much our guests enjoy their stay. We pride ourselves in great service, therefore we will make sure your message gets communicated to all staff members for a job well done. Thank you for also mentioning our great location... More 

Wilderness, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Frankly speaking the Lord Charles in Somerset West can do with a renovation. Does this make it a bad hotel to stay in? Definitely No! We have been using the venue for seminars since 2002 and we have always been very happy with the out come. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are old but clean and comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Thomas We are happy that you have chosen NH The Lord Charles Hotel for over 10 years. We always strive to delight our guests. We are thrilled to report that we will be starting renovations to improve the overall look and feel of the Hotel and this will add to the ambiance of the Hotel in a great way.... More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about my stay at the Lord Charles was very good indeed. Most of all the service and friendliness of staff made my experience memorable and one to be repeated! The food in the hotel restaurants is excellent and the St. Andrews Bar is interesting and novel as well as serving very reasonably priced drinks!! Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Senga Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on you latest stay at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are pleased to read that we have met every expectation of your stay. From our food to our excellent representation of great service. You have highlighted all the positive attributes that add to the overall... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to NH Cape Town The Lord Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay