We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Review This Hotel

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    154
    84
    31
    21
See reviews for
75
142
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (450)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Far from the Cape town center city and touristic places (around 50 km), but with a good structure. Good to rest. The breakfast was quite good, a lot of option (warm and cold), fruits, juice. The staff are quite good, try to help you with everything is possible. The room was clean. They offer transfer from the hotel to airport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review on your recent stay. We value our guests’ feedback tremendously. Thank you for mentioning all our attributes we pride ourselves on, such as the location, our staff, great breakfast and clean rooms. Our Hotel is our pride and joy and we always strive to make... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely time stayed 2 nights on arrival and again 2 nights before flying back to UK. Airport just say 20min down the road easy access . Beautiful setting close to Strand and the winelands. Staff all round great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Sonia It is wonderful to read such positive reviews. Thank you for mentioning all our brilliant attributes that make our hotel stand out in our area. We hope we will see you in the future for a longer stay, so you can have the opportunity to see more of our magnificent surroundings. Warmest regards The NH Management Team More 

Citrusdal, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff with two super restaurants. Roomd are getting a little tired. Lovely and big open gardens for walks. Can recommend this for families. A summer haven when it is hot in South Africa. Children would love the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review on your recent stay at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that we have met the expectations of our guests. It’s with great delight that I can report that we will be doing renovation on the majority of our... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed another stay at the Lord Charles. The staff are exceptional, Mr Fortuin, restaurant manager even made our omelettes as the dining room was busy. The rooms need a facelift but the food very good, breakfast, La Vigne Restaurant and room service. The Superior rooms on ground floor in front are a must as they give you the opportunity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Louise We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed yet another stay with us here at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for your great review on the rooms and breakfast experience, we always go above and beyond to create an exceptional experience to our guest. Allow me to report with great pleasure that we will be... More 

somerset west
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to Lord Charles for many years, and have a great fondness for it in general. Before Christmas we had two very nice meals in La Vigne restaurant. We came again this week, and were really disappointed. The waiter seemed flustered and busy the whole time, which was not at all relaxing. The head waiter solved various... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Jane Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your overall experience in the restaurant. We will communicate you feedback effectively to the kitchen and food and beverage department. We assure you of our best attention always and hope that you will give... More 

Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to visit the Lord Charles frequently for business( we had many a conference here). In those days it was really a great venue. On a recent return I was surprised to notice how the hotel went backwards. The staff checking you in is not friendly or helpful at all. The hotel desperately need some maintenance and our shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give such an honest review on your recent stay. We value the feedback of our guests and we will improve wherever we can. We will communicate your feedback to the relevant departments accordingly. We are terribly sorry that we could not meet your expectations, however we are delighted to report that... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

having stayed in a number of 4-star venues lately, this one disappointed. We were very impressed by the reception area and efficiency of the front staff, together with pleasant breakfast, but the room left a lot to be desired. Old tv, old fridge with no bottled water, and the bathroom was terrible - we challenge management to shower in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give such an honest review on your recent stay. We value the feedback of our guests and we will improve wherever we can. We will undergoing renovations on 100 of our rooms after May and all of your concerns as mentioned in your review will be touched on. We are terribly... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is always the small things in life that is neglected first that causes the proverbial "banana skin" on which the rest slips. We booked into the Lord Charles without any hitch and had a good reception though I would suggest that guests that have to wait in line for check in just be taken over to the lounge and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Adriano Thank you for taking the tome to give us such a detailed review and for voicing your concerns. Our sincerest apologies, if we did not meet your expectations. We will make sure to communicate all your concerns to the departments concerned. Our bar fridges are only available upon request and we apologise if the message was not conveyed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Last stayed 12 years ago, and it would seem nothing has changed much. Booked a standard room, which on arrival was drab and disappointing. Asked at reception to upgrade and was moved to a junior suite the next night. We were prepared to pay extra, but the manager waived the charge. The junior suite was very good, spacious and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Denise It is with great pleasure to read that you have been treated well at our establishment. Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectation from the get go. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your upgrade to a suite as we strive to make our guests feel comfortable at all times. Thank you for mentioning... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We chose Lord Charles as it was close to a wedding that we were attending, we had also heard that it was a good hotel. Sadly we were disappointed. The service on the pool deck was terrible we were told that they could not serve us as they were busy with a 500 delegate conference. The maintenance in the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Trish Thank you for your review and for pointing out some of your concerns. Your feedback is much appreciated. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the rooms, service at the pool and breakfast. We have taken your feedback into account and will take action wherever possible. We are thrilled to announce that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question