We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We last stayed at the Lord Charles last January and have returned again as we enjoyed it so much. In the last year the public areas and the buffet restaurant have been completely changed and refurbished. Some of the rooms have also been modernized and changed and we were lucky enough to get such a room. The staff are so... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaroleBradford
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Carole Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to the rest of the staff to make their hard work worth while. We pride ourselves... More 

Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was excellent very friendly nice rooms extensive breakfast nice Hotel in the City Concierge was always strived to give the best offer Restaurant with good offer and fine southafrican wines i will come again

Helpful?
Thank Anton_Laucher
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Anton, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. It is with great pleasure that we read about your enjoyable stay. Our concierge indeed goes out of the way for all of our guests, which is something we are very proud of. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future. Warmest regards, Daniel... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a whole month at this amazing hotel for the 8th year running. Everything was great. The management and staff were so caring and nothing was too much trouble. Service was excellent. Christmas and New Year were splendidly catered and each occasion had a good atmosphere. We are looking forward to returning at the end of the year.

Helpful?
Thank finchley2014
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear that you are coming back to the hotel over and over again! Our Christmas and New Years events are definitely something we are proud of and we are happy that you enjoyed it so much. Looking forward welcoming you... More 

Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's been a few years since I last stayed at The Lord Charles and I used to be a regular business traveller there. This time was purely for vacation and how lovely to still see many familiar faces still working there. Always a good sign in my book. The lobby are is totally refreshed, bright and spacious with lovely seating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive and positive review. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you are a content returning guest. Moreover, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay both as an business traveller as well as a leisure guest. We are also very satisfied with... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My experience in capetown was absolutely thrilling and the service at NH hotel lord Charles was fantastic and the service given by Winifred from swift and Angeley Basson they were super excellent. Also Michael dobie was very excellent as well ill defenitly come again 😀😀

Helpful?
Thank andykm2016
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you also for mentioning the names of the staff, we will make sure that they get your compliments. Looking forward welcoming you again. Warmest regards, Daniel Méndez, Hotel Director More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 10 days over new year and were largely happy with our stay. The only down side is the service around the pool and 19th hole bar. Around the pool I think it depends on who is working / managing as to how quickly you are served - if at all. Their much vaunted 19th hole bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickjulia2016
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Our TripAdvisor comments are from huge value and it is therefore always made sure that all the staff, and especially management, is aware of what is mentioned. I am very sorry to hear that the service at the top pool and in the bar was not... More 

Bingley,UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent four nights at this hotel, our fourth visit in the last six years. Since we were last there in 2014, they have completed a huge refurbishment of the hotel and it looks delightful, particularly the reception area and the dining room. As far as I am aware, all or most of the rooms have been decorated... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlistairCoy
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive and positive review. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Please be advised that we do offer extra luggage racks for guests that are staying with us for a bit longer. Thank you so much for... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was quite disappointed with the condition of the room (6008) I was allocated to at the Lord Charles during a recent business trip. Upon entering the room, I was hit by a mouldy- off putting smell, that lingered in the room. I call reception to report the room and requested to exchange my room for an alternative one, particularly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank moyanamatilda
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected and that the solutions taken were not sufficient. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate you to another room, as we were fully booked as my colleague explained. The manager on duty did report... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My parents and I stayed at the Lord Charles over new year for two weeks. It was our first trip to Cape Town, partly to watch England at Newlands for five days and partly to travel in and around Cape Town for the remainder of our trip. We were met at the airport by a driver whom the hotel had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SairaAnna
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is always good to see that guests are having a great time at our property and that our employees are helping to create this experience. We will pass on the... More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights November 2015 , realy nice grounds , rooms comfortable, need to watch the bathroom floors can become slippy . Good buffet restaurant no complaints on food well presented and hot.hotel is set in very lard well maintained grounds , would I return YES.

Helpful?
1 Thank TezFoster
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is with great pleasure that we hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will address the matter on the bathroom floors with the maintenance department. Looking forward welcoming you again. Warmest regards, Daniel Méndez, Hotel Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
22.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
3.1 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
21.9 mi away
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
#1 of 2 in Century City
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay