We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    172
    169
    88
    32
    23
See reviews for
79
149
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (484)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Gansbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Lord Charles very often and also had two functions there. The rooms are very comfortable and the food and service are very good, the breakfast is one of the best. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoy the pillow bar where one can exchange the pillows to your personal needs. I can really recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment during your most recent stay. It’s always a pleasure to read when our guests had a pleasant experience. Thank you for mention our best attributes that makes us stand out, such as the comfortable rooms, exceptional service, friendly staff and the magnificent breakfast. We pride ourselves in each... More 

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My little sister and I stayed here the night before her wedding and for the pre wedding prep the next day. What an amazing experience. Beautiful rooms, all amenities you can think of are available, stunning views and brilliant staff. Thanks to everyone involved you made our stay truly memorable and we cant wait to visit again. ps they even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are thrilled to read that you had such a positive experience at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mention out outstanding attributes that make our hotel standout such as the beautiful rooms, stunning views and brilliant staff. We will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff to make their hard work worthwhile.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to thank Lord charles and all the staff that was involved for making my boyfriends birthday a very memorable one!!! I have received the most excellent service and I would really recommend this place to anyone! THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN for making our stay lovely!!! You guys really went out of your way and I'm so grateful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Noorunissa and Darryn We are extremely pleased to read that you had such a spectacular experience during your boyfriend’s birthday celebrations at our establishment. It was a great pleasure to serve you and to go above and beyond to make this a memorable evening. We will pass on your appreciations to all the departments involved, to make their hard... More 

Libreville, Gabon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best, most friendly well balanced establishments in the Western Cape - I have experienced. Excellent cuisine with 5 star accommodation. Easy access to the Cape Wine areas (Stellenbosch) and 20min drive to the famous Waterfront. Thank you all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We always strive to go above and beyond to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for mentioning our unique selling points such as die friendliness, the excellent food and easy access to the wine farms... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled through from Simons Town and was looking forward to having a light lunch in a pleasant garden setting. Instinctively the distinguished name Lord Charles jumped out at us. We where shown through to a back yard garden that was lacking any initiative in deco and Ambience. We where shown some outside tables, which had table clothes that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Suz Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sad to read that your previous visit to our establishment did not meet any of your expectations. We have addressed the issue with the relevant departments in order for this not to happen again. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

......We showered with cold water for 2 days because of the renovations, besides that I received an excellent service as always.the breakfast was excellent as you have a variety to choose from. the chefs were great. To angela and the great staff keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Thabo Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our establishment. Thank you for mentioning some of our unique selling points we pride ourselves in such as the excellent breakfast and exceptional service. We apologize for the trouble caused with regards to the cold water, we try our best not to inconvenience our guests during... More 

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The foyer is under construction with a result that they have a small unmanned table serving as reception. There was no-one there when I arrived nor where there anyone to assist me when I signed out. In addition it took them 40minutes to provide me with ice. Compared to my previous visit that was absolutely amazing, this was dismal. Based... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Ronald Thank you for your honest review on your recent stay. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. As you have mentioned your experience during your previous stay was close to perfect and we always strive to make all our guests feel comfortable and at home. Our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that may been caused... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Stay well clear of hosting any function here ... It was one disappointment after another ... From the Lord Charles trying to cancel it a week and a half before the function was due to be hosted, to changing the venue an hour before the guests were due to arrive, to stained table clothes with holes in on tables with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Thank you for your review with regards to your most recent visit to our establishment. We are extremely sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations during your 40th birthday high tea celebrations. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing a makeover and our lobby area, where we normally serve high tea, was under construction... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

The Hotel offers good restaurants, and the staff is very nice, but, the maintennace is horrible, the a/c doesn't work propperly, and the hotel does not provide good TV with cable service, and if you requiers a mini bar in your suite, they spend at least 2 hours to provide. This is a shame because the hotel accomodations are nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Rudolph Thank you for your honest review on your most recent stay with us here at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mentioning some of our unique selling points such as the good restaurants and friendly staff. Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectation with regards to the maintenance of the hotel, the TV quality and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

It's always nice to go there. The interior has been refurbished now. I liked it before but now it's nice and futuristic. The staff is very friendly if you are friendly too. At times, when there were only British people it was a bit hard for them to smile but now that it's mixed with tourists and business people from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your most recent stay. Thank you for mentioning the great service delivery from our staff, we pride ourselves in always going the extra mile for our guests. We are delighted to confirm that we are busy to renovate the hotel due to be finished by August 2015.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.1 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#4 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
6.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 72 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay