We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    173
    170
    88
    32
    23
See reviews for
81
149
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As regulars at the hotel we are always amazed at the friendliness of the reception staff from the porter on arrival as well as the check in personnel . In addition since we are always accompanied by our grand children the willingness of the staff at the breakfast buffet to make us as comfortable as possible and also to cater... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Mogamat We are very delighted to read that you had yet another pleasant experience at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We always strive to go above and beyond to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. We will pass on your gratitude to Anneline, Angus and the rest of the Staff to make their hard work worthwhile. Thank... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The very first striking feature of this hotel is its perfectly maintained and extensive grounds. The second distinguishing feature is their awesome staff, always attentive, helpful and with a friendly smile. Their names roll off the tongue, Corne, Carter, Henry Prens, Margarita, Oscar, Pretty to name but a few. Yes, the grand gent has a few blemishes but the ambience,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Gordon We are delighted to have received your review with regards to your recent stay at NH The Lord Charles. Thank you for your detailed mentions about our outstanding service and good quality of food as this is some of our best attributes, which add to the ambiance of the Hotel as mentioned in your review. We will pass... More 

Gansbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Lord Charles very often and also had two functions there. The rooms are very comfortable and the food and service are very good, the breakfast is one of the best. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoy the pillow bar where one can exchange the pillows to your personal needs. I can really recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment during your most recent stay. It’s always a pleasure to read when our guests had a pleasant experience. Thank you for mention our best attributes that makes us stand out, such as the comfortable rooms, exceptional service, friendly staff and the magnificent breakfast. We pride ourselves in each... More 

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My little sister and I stayed here the night before her wedding and for the pre wedding prep the next day. What an amazing experience. Beautiful rooms, all amenities you can think of are available, stunning views and brilliant staff. Thanks to everyone involved you made our stay truly memorable and we cant wait to visit again. ps they even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are thrilled to read that you had such a positive experience at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mention out outstanding attributes that make our hotel standout such as the beautiful rooms, stunning views and brilliant staff. We will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff to make their hard work worthwhile.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I would like to thank Lord charles and all the staff that was involved for making my boyfriends birthday a very memorable one!!! I have received the most excellent service and I would really recommend this place to anyone! THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN for making our stay lovely!!! You guys really went out of your way and I'm so grateful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Noorunissa and Darryn We are extremely pleased to read that you had such a spectacular experience during your boyfriend’s birthday celebrations at our establishment. It was a great pleasure to serve you and to go above and beyond to make this a memorable evening. We will pass on your appreciations to all the departments involved, to make their hard... More 

Libreville, Gabon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

One of the best, most friendly well balanced establishments in the Western Cape - I have experienced. Excellent cuisine with 5 star accommodation. Easy access to the Cape Wine areas (Stellenbosch) and 20min drive to the famous Waterfront. Thank you all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We always strive to go above and beyond to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for mentioning our unique selling points such as die friendliness, the excellent food and easy access to the wine farms... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We traveled through from Simons Town and was looking forward to having a light lunch in a pleasant garden setting. Instinctively the distinguished name Lord Charles jumped out at us. We where shown through to a back yard garden that was lacking any initiative in deco and Ambience. We where shown some outside tables, which had table clothes that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Suz Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sad to read that your previous visit to our establishment did not meet any of your expectations. We have addressed the issue with the relevant departments in order for this not to happen again. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

......We showered with cold water for 2 days because of the renovations, besides that I received an excellent service as always.the breakfast was excellent as you have a variety to choose from. the chefs were great. To angela and the great staff keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Thabo Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our establishment. Thank you for mentioning some of our unique selling points we pride ourselves in such as the excellent breakfast and exceptional service. We apologize for the trouble caused with regards to the cold water, we try our best not to inconvenience our guests during... More 

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The foyer is under construction with a result that they have a small unmanned table serving as reception. There was no-one there when I arrived nor where there anyone to assist me when I signed out. In addition it took them 40minutes to provide me with ice. Compared to my previous visit that was absolutely amazing, this was dismal. Based... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Ronald Thank you for your honest review on your recent stay. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. As you have mentioned your experience during your previous stay was close to perfect and we always strive to make all our guests feel comfortable and at home. Our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that may been caused... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Stay well clear of hosting any function here ... It was one disappointment after another ... From the Lord Charles trying to cancel it a week and a half before the function was due to be hosted, to changing the venue an hour before the guests were due to arrive, to stained table clothes with holes in on tables with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Thank you for your review with regards to your most recent visit to our establishment. We are extremely sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations during your 40th birthday high tea celebrations. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing a makeover and our lobby area, where we normally serve high tea, was under construction... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.1 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
3.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#4 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
6.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 72 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay