We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amblewood Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Amblewood Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #6 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
travellerjunorm Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
95
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Trevor and June were very welcoming and gave us lots of information about visiting the Cape peninsular, Cape Town, Robben Island, and Table Mountain. The visit information was invaluable because arriving at the 'wrong' time can mean very long queues. our room was excellent. We were on trhe top floor and the room had a small lounge as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind and encouraging words and we're so glad the information we passed on was helpful. You were very wise to book ahead for places like Robben Island and Table Mountain because, as you say, queues in the peak season can take up to two hours! We always recommend that people book ahead online. It is also... More 

Holywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights in Amblewood in March and found it a wonderfully relaxing location. Stunning views of Hout Bay harbour are available from every room. There is an inside/outside area where you can enjoy the view and incredibly mellow music. Our room was very comfortable and homely. Breakfast on the terrace was perfect. Our hosts were charming and very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We appreciate your comments so much and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us and to Cape Town! We hope you'll be able to visit again sson. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had two nights at Amblewood at the start of our holiday in South Africa. Our hosts were wonderful and very hospitable. Our room was incredibly spacious with lovely views across Hout Bay. Breakfast was delicious and served on the deck. Trevor helped us out with restaurant accommodations at the last minute which was very much appreciated. We would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely encouraging words and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit! We certainly try our best to make our guests' holidays memorable and if we were able to help out with a last minute restaurant reservation - well, I'm so glad! Hope you'll be back soon! More 

Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amblewood Guest House is the best Guest House that I have ever stayed in. The Breakfast is excellent.Its fabulous hosts June and Trevor are what makes Amblewood really special. Great location in a lovely setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words which are greatly appreciated! We're so glad you had a wonderful visit to South Africa and that we were able to play a small part in making it memorable and happy. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Amblewood during February for a few days at the end of our amazing holiday in Cape Town. Unfortunately two of our party ran into a bit of trouble on the first night of our stay, and definitely spoilt the lovely peace and quiet of Amblewood in the process! But a special thanks to Trevor who went above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderfully kind review! We loved having you to stay and you certainly brought some excitement into our lives! I'm so glad we were able to help out in whatever way - however small - and we would love to have you all back soon! More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed 2 nights in Amblewood It is conveniently located near Cape Town Int. Airport. ( 3/4 hr. drive, the Houtbay area is a lovely area to explore. ( You' ll need 2 days at the max ) of course you need a car. Amblewoods hospitality by Trevor and June is wonderful and a very personal one too. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We had been on an arduous 3 week cricket tour and were looking to relax. Amblewood was recommended. If there are better and more attentive hosts than Trevor and June (together with their helpers) then I have yet to meet them. The breakfasts were outstanding. What a boon is the shuttle service. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're so happy you could relax at Amblewood after your hectic cricket tour! We've sent on the photos which we hope you've received safely. So glad you want to return and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Our Stay was perfect at Amblewood, our hosts Trevor and June were on hand for anything we needed, I mentioned the hair dryer was getting too hot, a replacement was provided the same day, nothing was too much trouble, Trevor even provided us with a cool box and ice pack, umbrella and chairs to take to the beach. A wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and we're so happy we were able to help make your trip to South Africa memorable and happy! We're thrilled that you would like to visit again and we look forward to welcoming you. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My fourth visit to June and Trevor at Amblewood and I wouldn't miss this venue. The care and comfort and genuine friendship is second to none. Eating one of Trevor's delicious breakfasts overlooking the bay with the mountains behind you is an experience to remember! I suggest you book as soon as possible as long as it doesn't mean I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderfully encouraging words and it's always a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. We've certainly had many memorable and happy times when you've been with us over the years. We hope you will be back soon! More 

New Providence, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The Amblewood guest house has a great lookout to the Hout bay. Comfortable rooms, with caring hosts Trevor and June. Its not too far away from table mountain and cape town. The town of hout bay has some good restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question