We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amblewood Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Amblewood Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #7 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Add Photo

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    108
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
97
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was great to stay with Trevor and June for a week from March 30 till April 6. Trevor was always interested in our plans en helped us for instance with the tickets for a visit of the Tafelberg. That saved us one hour waiting time! They arranged a shuttle from and to the airport. If we needed a reservation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I love it when things turn out as planned. Judging by the reviews on this B&B, we had high expectations, and i'm happy to say that we certainly weren't disappointed. Trevor and June are the quintessential B&B hosts, and it's hard to imagine how we could have enjoyed our stay more than we did. The GREAT: Well....everything. Spotlessly clean rooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights end of March before the closing. Room is very clean and comfortable. View is fantastic on the bay. We had the nice room on the first floor with a separate entrance. The decoration is subtile and we feel like home. Breakfast is good : full of choices, with some white eggs on my husband special request.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and encouraging words. We never thought we would have to use our secret trick for removing the egg yolk but we're so glad your husband liked his eggs and enjoyed the breakfasts!! More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Trevor and June were very welcoming and gave us lots of information about visiting the Cape peninsular, Cape Town, Robben Island, and Table Mountain. The visit information was invaluable because arriving at the 'wrong' time can mean very long queues. our room was excellent. We were on trhe top floor and the room had a small lounge as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind and encouraging words and we're so glad the information we passed on was helpful. You were very wise to book ahead for places like Robben Island and Table Mountain because, as you say, queues in the peak season can take up to two hours! We always recommend that people book ahead online. It is also... More 

Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Spent two nights in Amblewood in March and found it a wonderfully relaxing location. Stunning views of Hout Bay harbour are available from every room. There is an inside/outside area where you can enjoy the view and incredibly mellow music. Our room was very comfortable and homely. Breakfast on the terrace was perfect. Our hosts were charming and very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We appreciate your comments so much and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us and to Cape Town! We hope you'll be able to visit again sson. More 

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We had two nights at Amblewood at the start of our holiday in South Africa. Our hosts were wonderful and very hospitable. Our room was incredibly spacious with lovely views across Hout Bay. Breakfast was delicious and served on the deck. Trevor helped us out with restaurant accommodations at the last minute which was very much appreciated. We would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely encouraging words and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit! We certainly try our best to make our guests' holidays memorable and if we were able to help out with a last minute restaurant reservation - well, I'm so glad! Hope you'll be back soon! More 

Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Amblewood Guest House is the best Guest House that I have ever stayed in. The Breakfast is excellent.Its fabulous hosts June and Trevor are what makes Amblewood really special. Great location in a lovely setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words which are greatly appreciated! We're so glad you had a wonderful visit to South Africa and that we were able to play a small part in making it memorable and happy. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed at Amblewood during February for a few days at the end of our amazing holiday in Cape Town. Unfortunately two of our party ran into a bit of trouble on the first night of our stay, and definitely spoilt the lovely peace and quiet of Amblewood in the process! But a special thanks to Trevor who went above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderfully kind review! We loved having you to stay and you certainly brought some excitement into our lives! I'm so glad we were able to help out in whatever way - however small - and we would love to have you all back soon! More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed 2 nights in Amblewood It is conveniently located near Cape Town Int. Airport. ( 3/4 hr. drive, the Houtbay area is a lovely area to explore. ( You' ll need 2 days at the max ) of course you need a car. Amblewoods hospitality by Trevor and June is wonderful and a very personal one too. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We had been on an arduous 3 week cricket tour and were looking to relax. Amblewood was recommended. If there are better and more attentive hosts than Trevor and June (together with their helpers) then I have yet to meet them. The breakfasts were outstanding. What a boon is the shuttle service. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardent-t, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're so happy you could relax at Amblewood after your hectic cricket tour! We've sent on the photos which we hope you've received safely. So glad you want to return and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay