We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Hout Bay B&Bs / inns

Villa Montebello

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   72 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added Villa Montebello to your Saves list
Villa Montebello
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
99%
Ranked #3 of 56 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014
Denish10 Sydney Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (246)
  • Photos (102)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
151
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had the pleasure of a 3 night stay in the Rhodes Suite (Villa Montebello) in April 2014. The B&B is within easy driving distance to Cape Town and areas south e.g. Cape Point. A car is necessary. The room was beautiful and large with great views over Hout Bay. Our hosts, Patrice and Catherine, were very hospitable and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puurs, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Coming into Cape Town from the garden route, one amazing view after the other brought us to Villa Montebello. Upon parking our car, Patrice and Catherine were already there for a warm welcome and to give us a hand with our luggage. Patrice showed us to our room which was very comfortable and very clean. Large room on the ground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent a superb couple of nights at Villa Montebello. Delightful, charming and welcoming hosts, Patrice and Catherine made our visit really special. Sensational views from a pretty and shaded garden. Extremely comfortable and well appointed rooms and fantastic breakfasts with wonderful home made jams and preserves courtesy of Patrice's experimentation and creativity. Delicious ! A perfect location outside of Cape... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. I hope you will bring more time on your next visit, so we can point out... More

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Villa Montebello. We stayed in the Rhodes Suite which is really spacious, lovely decorated and has a stunning view over the Bay. The owner Catherine and Patrice are really, really nice and helpful and completed our wonderful experience at the Villa Montebello. We just loved it and will definitely come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. I hope you will bring more time on your next visit, so we can point out... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The owners are great people and make you feel welcome, what you see in the photos is what you get. Real upper class accommodation with clean crisp linen and a stunning view, a bit expensive for SA visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Gerrit, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. I hope you will bring more time on your next visit, so we can point out... More

Knokke-Heist, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The last week of our holiday we spent at Villa Montebello, who became our second home, this was our fifth time there since 2011...for us it is the 'place to be', every day starts with a big smile, a fantastic breakfast and a nice chat with Patrice and Catherine, who are always very interested in what we do, where we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MONTEBELLO72, Owner at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Marianne and Dear Yvan, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. Thank you for your visit and the review and see you soon for... More

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

after a long trip it was quite a relief to arrive in this guest house. Beatiful setting, marvellous room and wonderfull hosts. We really enjoyed our three days stay and the many practical tips (where to go, what to see, where to eat, etc.) given by Catherine and Patrice were really top. We couldn't dream of a better place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Hans, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. I hope you will bring more time on your next visit, so we can point out... More

Tervuren, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fantastic views from the room and garden towards the back of table mountain, Chapmans peak and Hout Bay, very well situated to explore the surroundings. Wonderfull hosts, warm welcome and very good breakfast at the poolside. Was perfect to end our holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Marc, We are pleased that you had an incredible experience at Villa Montebello Guesthouse. It is always a pleasure to have nice guests. Our interaction with wonderful guests like yourself, from all over the world, are the reason why enjoy running a guesthouse. I hope you will bring more time on your next visit, so we can point out... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The location and guest house was superb but please get rid of all the instructions on how to behave. No beach towels at a venue close to so many beaches, please replace the garden furniture, avoid sun tan lotion on linen. Here is what it will cost if you don't adhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MONTEBELLO72, Owner at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Dear Robert, first of all we would like to thank you very much for recognizing the location and the guesthouse as superb. That’s the most important thing to be known by our guests. However you decided to rank our guesthouse on Tripadvisor as poor because we did not provide you with beach towels! Is it a joke as far as... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

You will not be disappointed when you arrive at Villa Montebello!! We stayed for two days but wished it could have been a week. The setting & views are extremely impressive. Patrice & Catherine were so welcome & the guesthouse was spotless & very well maintained. The room was clean modern & had everything I needed plus a lovely setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MONTEBELLO72, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was our pleasure to have you at home. Let's hope to see you again ? Patrice & Catherine More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Villa Montebello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Villa Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montebello

Address: 72 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Montebello 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montebello Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)

Amenities

Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Villa Montebello, a Luxury Guest House, Bed & Breakfast, is very well known for its best and exceptional location in Hout Bay in a very much protected environment .... And for its 4 stars services as well. Nearby Cape Town and all Cape Peninsula stunning tourist sites, on the heights of Mount Rhodes (with a private access to the Mount Rhodes Natural Park), this elegant guest house provides the ideal retreat in peaceful surroundings, complimented by panoramic views on the ocean and of the Constantia and table Mountains. The views are simply magnificent. Hout Bay is considered as well to be one of the most beautiful sights of the Cape Peninsula for its valley surrounded by the mountains of Constantia and the end of Table Mountain, for the very scenic Chapman's peak drive, for its fishing harbor and the duikers Island with 9.000 Seals. Friendly and attentive French hosts welcome you. Villa Montebello is closed to Sandy Bay and Llandudno, 2 of the most beautiful beaches of South Africa. Villa Montebello offers 4 luxury / exclusive and spacious rooms with private entrance and with en-suite bathrooms. Each room is with double king size bed or twin king size beds (on request), private terrace, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, mini bar and mini fridge. Enjoy delicious full gastronomic continental and English breakfasts on the garden terrace closed to the solar heated swimming pool with an amazing view and environment. Quality restaurants and shops are nearby. Family and children welcome. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer