We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Franschhoek B&Bs / inns

Les Chambres Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Les Chambres Guest House to your Saves list
Les Chambres Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Ranked #27 of 55 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014
Naomi T Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
106
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised by Les Chambres. Our room was beautiful and really spacious, and there was a lovely pool set in stunning gardens that was perfect for relaxing by. The staff were really friendly and Bill even booked us into some fabulous restaurants before we arrived which was really helpful and well advised! It was great to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Naomi Thank you for the review. I've been meaning to upgrade that sign for some time now. I'll move it up the priority list. Kind regards Bill Stemp More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I only stayed for one night and was disappointed especially after staying in another guesthouse nearby for much cheaper that was much better. On the plus side...the accommodation itself is beautiful and very stylishly decorated. Nice location within walking distance from the main street. Great breakfast. Nice towels and amenities. Good parking. On the negative side.....there is no WiFi in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Andrew I’m very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. At present we don’t have Wi-Fi in the rooms, but this is why we advertise as only having Wi-Fi in public areas. We have previously tried repeaters (boosters) which simply did not work and now we are looking into ‘Ethernet over power’ which seems as though it... More

South East
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent the last 4 nights of our memorable South African holiday at Les Chambres and it was everything we expected and more. It is very quiet and the rooms are spacious and nothing could be faulted. Great swimming pool too so at least there is a chance to burn off some of the calories from Bill's breakfasts and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent two nights at Les Chambres. The rooms were nice and spacious, the breakfasts were excellent and the location was fantastic. Unfortunately, we had an issue in our room with ants. We noticed this problem first when we saw a line of ants walking up and down the bedroom wall. We brought this to attention of the owner who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review

You rated the cleanliness of your room as 1 out of 5 stars which is the equivalent of ‘Terrible’. In your review you did not mention your room being unclean, so this rating is presumably because of the ants you encountered. This seems to suggest that you think there was something I could (or should) have done to further prevent... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Me and two friends from the UK had the most special time at Les Chambres. Bill, the owner, is a great host and breakfast chef. The other guests were engaging and we felt relaxed and taken care of in the most beautiful spot in the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Johanna I was lovely to meet you all. I hope to see you again next time your are all on the same continent together. More

Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent the last 4 nights of our trip to SA in this beautiful guest house. Our first visit to SA has been wonderful and this guest house the best stay of all. Beautiful rooms, bathrooms and gardens. A pretty pool surrounded by flowers and trees, with plenty of shade and comfortable sun beds. Bill cooks breakfast to order, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We could not have asked for a better place to spend Christmas. It is the second time we have stayed at Les Chambres and it continues to impress. The guesthouse is Victorian and is situated in a lovely garden complete with a heated pool, which was a welcome relief after a day spent touring the local wineries! The rooms, complete... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roesrath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

again we spent three wonderful weeks in Les Chambres Guesthouse. It's located in the center of Franschhoek near to the Police Station so that you need not to care about security. The main street with its boutiques, shops and famous restaurants is in walking distance. You definitely don't need a car. Taxis are available at reasonable cost if ever needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Peter and Helga Thank you for the kind words. I'm so pleased that you had another enjoyable stay with us and I hope to see you again in November. P.S. The chameleons are still in the garden, but we have not yet seen any babies. Kind regards Bill Stemp More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Franschoek is Janine's favourite town and Les Chambers made it even more special. Great place, beautiful setting and a immaculate run guest house. A must stay when in Franschoek. Bill, the owner is a fantastic host, and cooks a mean breakfast!!!! Bill, many thanks for a brilliant weekend. Steve & Janine

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

wonderful room, incredible garden, helpful advices and a great breakfast with a massive highlight being the home made granola! Bill and team combined with a wonderful city made the stay a highlight during our 2 weeks trips! Next time we'd like to spend a few more nights at this wonderful place!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Chambres Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Chambres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.