We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Special Price
10% Winter Special Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    105
    79
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
114
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was looking for a place to stay near Boschendal wine estate where I had to attend a wedding & found their accommodation rates too expensive. Klein Waterval is close by- a lovely looking homestead & very fair rates. The thatch roofed rooms are comfortable & simply decorated with a rustic feel. Each room has a little patio & overlooks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Allison, Thank you so much for a really interesting and wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you stay over, if only for 1 night. Thank you too for the Story on Steller; so entertaining and thoughtful of you. We hope one day for a longer return Allison. Safe travels when you get the chance. Warm regards, Greg, Ezna &... More 

Hoeilaart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only here for 1 night, unfortunately! Very nice place, very well located if you want to visit Franschhoek and the wine route. The rooms are very nice, and we had a wonderful view. We received a warm welcome and lots of tips what to visit and where to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for a lovely review. Hopefully next time you can spent more time with us at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge. We look forward to your return. Safe travels! Warm regards, Greg, Ezna and The Klein Waterval Team! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Klein Waterfal for 2 nights of a long weekend as we were part of a wedding at a wine farm a few minutes away. What a fantastic weekend we had, apart from the wedding at the neighbouring farm, the Saturday night at Klein Waterval was my highlight, eating pizza's in front of a massive fire place (thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Genevieve & Jean, Thank you for the most amazing review ever. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Klein Waterval. You guys were amazing too; the entire group was a pleasure to deal with. We thank you for your kindness shown throughout the weekend to all our staff and we gratefully appreciate it. Here's... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge is situated just off Route 45 in the enchanting Franschhoek valley. It offers lovely country style well sized rooms overlook the vineyards and dramatic mountains in the background. It is easily accessible and a good base from where to explore the beauty of Franschhoek. They offer free wifi and the service is superb. They also offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jana, Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I will pass on your kind message to our Chef as well who will be delighted to have received another great accolade. We do hope that you will return one day to enjoy the splendours of Klein Waterval and the surrounding, most beautiful Winelands as well. Take care and warm... More 

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had nothing to complain about (but the weather perhaps) and lots to be happy about. The location is beautiful, and there is lots to do nearby. Walking in the mountains, visiting wine farms and eating well in Franschoek. The room was very pretty with just lovely views. Breakfast was lovely and served in a personal, friendly way. The shared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you too for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you can frequent our shores one day soon and come see us again at Klein Waterval. Next time hopefully the weather will have improved. Warm regards,... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Facility was spacious, clean and extremely well maintained. Appreciated the early breakfast on Sat. morning because of our race, and the toasted sandwiches on Sat. evening after a disappointing afternoon in town trying to find somewhere to eat! The only negative was finding two single beds after we'd requested and had confirmed a double bed would be provided - not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Adrian & Sandy, Firstly, we sincerely apologise for not having your twin bed converted to a king-size bed. But, we thank you very much for the most positive feedback, it is much appreciated. Glad you’ve enjoyed the rugby, food and atmosphere of our guesthouse. Can’t wait to have you back with us. Best regards Greg, Ezna and Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Could not have asked for a warmer reception on a cold winters day! Greg & Ezna & the 3x dogs welcomed us like old friends, yet completely professional - didn't feel like our first visit to SA wine region. Good local knowledge. The Lodge is just out of Franschhoek - perfect location during busy Bastille Day festival. Walked through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Gary & Trudy, Thank you SO MUCH for a fabulous review. We are so grateful for your honesty and kind words. It was just wonderful having you stay over and we cannot wait for your return. Travel safely around Sunny SA and we hope you have a tremendous time of what's left of your vacation. Warmest regards, Greg, Ezna... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The staff were efficient, friendly and extremely accommodating - the owner even assisted us by lighting a log fire in the lounge solely for our use when we returned from dinner at a local restaurant. Excellent client service - thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for a most wonderful review. We really do strive to make our guests happy and as comfortable at all times. We do hope that you will return one day soon. Warm regards, Greg & The Klein Waterval Team! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Just around the corner from Cape Town, we had a wonderful stay at Klein Waterval Riverside lodge. Close to all the wonderful historic wine farms and beautiful museums and many little boutique shops. The views over the vineyard with rolling clouds and early morning mist was spectacular. Fantastic hospitality, cozy rooms and a first class breakfast. Well be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Grant & Catherine, Thank you so much for a fabulous review. It means the world to us to have you guys give us such praise. We do hope you return one day soon to enjoy another weekend away. Take care and safe travels! Warm regards, Greg & The Klein Waterval Team! More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Wonderfully friendly and accommodating staff - Greg looked after us fantastically. He organised transport for us and made us feel very welcome. The main area and rooms are lovely. The breakfast was delicious and we had great fun in the bar!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
kleinwaterval, Front Office Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Georgina & Mark, Thank you so much a most wonderful review. It was just great to have such a happy crowd like yourselves stay over. For a change the bar was used well. Gift has never been the same since though - LOL! We look forward to another visit some day in the near future guys. Stay safe! Warm... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#8 of 8 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 8 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#12 of 59 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#3 of 59 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay