We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rickety Bridge Country House

R45 | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rickety Bridge Country House
Professional photos View all
Rickety Bridge Country House
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding here and it was perfect! The setting is stunning. Our wedding was small with only. 30 people but it didn't look too big a venue at all. Michele ( the functions manager) was great and delivered our specific requirements throughout the day and made sure everything ran on time. Nena of Ivy Blue flowers and decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I visited Franshhoek for our 33rd wedding anniversary and took the wine tram tour. The last estate on the red route is Rickety Bridge which we found really charming. There was a wedding on so we could not eat and only enjoyed the wine tasting. Unfortunately the service was very slow and we were rushed to finish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We have been here twice and enjoy it, lovely breakfast and spacious lounges.The lunches are good but it can get very busy so book up. However area around pool is a bit cramped.Good wine tasting (free if you stay) and you can board the Wine Train here as this is one of the stops, no need to go into town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review and great to have you back at Rickety Bridge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer, including lunch, wine tasting and the Wine Tram. Next time, try your hand at a bit of Boules on the lawns, or cornholing in front of the tasting room, both... More 

Gateshead,England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Rickety Bridge is a place which I will remember all my days and it is very difficult indeed to fault it. The setting is beyond beautiful, the food excellent and the wine superb (of course). We stayed in the Manor House for my daughter's wedding and from the moment we checked in I knew that I wouldn't want to leave.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Dear Martin Many thanks for the lovely review. It was great to have you and your family stay with us and thank you for sharing such a special day with your friends and family on our lawns. I will pass all of the compliments on the Martha and her team and we look forward to seeing you back at Rickety... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Thank you, Rickety Bridge, for making our dream wedding come true! My family and I enjoyed three nights in the Manor House, with ample space, a private swimming pool and fantastic staff who cooked us breakfast every day and looked after us so well. We had our wedding on the lawn area, and we could not have asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, General Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had such a magical time with us and it was such a pleasure to be the setting for your special day. We hope to see you back in Franschhoek sooner rather than later. Best regards Andrew More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This beautifully restored historic house was a true delight to stay in. Five minutes from the centre of Franschhoek, with stunning views of the mountains on both sides of the valley, the ambience was a heady mixture of romance, tranquility and polished rustic charm. The bed was exquisitely comfortable and the bathroom completely luxurious. The staff were very welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Many thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate all the subtle details that have gone into creating the charm at Rickety Bridge. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rickety in the near future. Best Regards Andrew Harris More 

Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Our second stay at Rickety Bridge and it certainly did not disappoint. The bed was so comfortable and the breakfast delicious with so much choice. Very well looked after by Martha and the team. We enjoyed time spent around the pool with our friends and felt extremely privileged to be staying at such an exclusive house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Dear RubyTuesday, Many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had such a great visit to Rickety and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Andrew Harris More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Our accommodation was a lovely ground floor studio with a separate lounge for television~~~peaceful time~~~arriving we were met by Martha & Heidi~~who gave us a lovely welcome and proceeded to share everything necessary to know to make our stay even more enjoyable~~our daily breakfast was a treat and again the girls making it even more enjoyable each day~~~

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Dear Joan M, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for the kind comments about Martha and Heidi. All of our staff are a real asset to us and we are glad that we made you feel like part of the Rickety family. We look forward to seeing you back at the Estate soon.... More 

UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed here for just one night during our visit to the wine region. The hotel is in a lovely setting and the rooms in the manor house are large and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the burgundy suite. We went on the wine tram (see separate review). This stops at Rickety Bridge near the end so we stopped here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Dear Chris and Clare, Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and also that you experienced the Wine Tram, a definite while in in the area. Safe travels and we hope to see you back at the Estate soon. Warm Regards Andrew Harris More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were very fortunate to receive a Giftbox voucher. Rickety was fully booked for the weekend and they booked us at their sister farm – Bass Provance. We were pleasantly surprised by the setting and quality of accommodation. The skylight bathroom and stunning bed made us feel like we were on honeymoon again! The voucher included a free dinner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewRoyHarris, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience. We try to treat each one of our guests as members of the Rickety family and look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate. Warm Regards Andrew Harris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question