We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Protea Hotels to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived at the Hotel at about 3:30 in the afternoon and checked in. Was put in room number 8 next to the conference centre,upon checking my booking reservation the following morning,I discovered that I was meant to have a pool view room. I then approached management about why I was placed in the wrong room and here the story... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme119
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Sir We are really sorry and excuses are not sufficient. We have discussed this particular issue with our Front Office TEAM and unfortunately, the server crash took place last Friday from 4pm through till Tuesday morning and I think here, that there has been a misunderstanding and I would like to communicate directly with yourself to solve this matter,... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Protea hotel in Franschhoek from 11th Jan 16 for 3 nights. Being in Franschhoek and being. protea chain you expect a certain standard, we have visited Cape Town area on 4 occasions and this is the worst place we have ever stayed. The room 17 was dated, the floor was damp on arrival and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank LynW1
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Dear Lyn I am taken aback at your complaint that I have just read and there are a number of your points that I do not agree with, however, I am extremely sorry that you you were so unhappy and dissatisfied with your visit. I will immediately investigate your payment errors and will have no hesitation in refunding any overpaid... More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel, nicely situated. Rooms large and clean, and very comfortable. Wonderful choice at Breakfast, lovely pool area. Two negatives - wifi intermittent, and rooms at front of hotel are noisy from road traffic - we asked to move and they accommodated the request very efficiently. Value for money stay in this beautiful town. Just make sure you pre book... More 

Helpful?
Thank julesfinnis66
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and thank you too for pointing out the Wifi which we will look into immediately. Kind regards, Errard More 

Towcester, Northants, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of our Cape and Winelands tour and were very happy with our choice. We requested a ground floor room and were allocated a good room facing onto the pool area. The pool area is a reasonable size for a fairly small hotel with plenty of shade, chairs and sunloungers. Breakfast on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelLover91
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your comments and positive feed back, this is much appreciated. We are fortunate to be well located here in Franschhoek. Kind regards, Errard More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here before and found it comfortable and as it is in the main st close to various restaurants and bars.The personnel are well trained and very friendly i.e. great service.The best tip is to phone on the day you wish to stay as the rate drops to R1,500 from over R2,300!

Helpful?
Thank JBLEROUX
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. Our prices do vary on demand and sometimes we have late cancellations and therefore are able to sell rooms at a discounted value - but not that often, very seldom in fact. Kind regards, Errard More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights last week and were very impressed with this hotel. Position is great at one end of the Main Street in town. - close to a wide range of restaurants. Very safe area, no problem walking out at night. The room was bright and fresh - very clean - even had an evening turn down service. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lewnatic
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive and helpful comments. Kind regards, Errard More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The corner room we both stayed in was excellent. Masses of space and comfy with everything you need. We were not let down by wifi or anything else. The pool area is adequate with loungers and umbrellas so good for that. And the location is tops as well. Close enough to everything in the town and with the petrol station... More 

Helpful?
Thank beermatt31
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our Hotel. Kind regards, Errard More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights. Good staff and service. Location at end main road is excellent for all the local services. Secure car park. Deluxe garden/ pool view room spacious and airy. Did not see the rooms in the main reception building which adjoin road, did see a more expensive suite which had kitchenette but very dark inside. The furnishings are adequate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonbon55
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments and helpful advice. kind regards, Errard Sullivan More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved staying at this hotel. So central - close to everything. Bed extremely comfortable, room spacious and staff very friendly. Delicious breakfast next morning. Pool looked inviting but didnt have costume with so had to leave. Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank BrendaJB
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary comments which WE all appreciate very much so. Kind regards, Errard More 

England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, my daughter, 21, and my son, 16. This was the second hotel we stayed in while travelling along the Beautiful Garden Route. This was a beautifully kept hotel with a lovely fenced pool area offering complimentary pool towels, and great spacious bedrooms that had lovely bathrooms - they had both a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayeEngland
Errard, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful and kind words regarding our Village and Hotel. Kindest regards, Errard More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 9 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#2 of 9 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.5 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#5 of 9 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay