We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Tzaneen hotels

Coach House Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Coach House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tzaneen
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
LanaKotze Pretoria, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our quarterly cycle meeting at Coach House with 30 people attending. What a great experience. I can recommend it as a conference venue. The rooms are beautiful and large, the staff is friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lana Thank you for the kind words and compliments. We agree that our facilities for conferencing are great and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Coach House Hotel More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to spend Christmas and New Year regularly at this hotel in the early 1990s, when it was one of the best hotels in the Northern Transvaal and its restaurant unrivalled in the area. I returned this month after an absence of more than ten years and was amazed to find so many of the same staff, who have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review following your week at Coach House. You have raised some valid points which we assure you will be looked into immediately. At Coach House Hotel, we strive to provide each and every guest with memorable experiences which will ensure that they return-We rarely disappoint our guests. Coach House Hotel tries to maintain... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed over at this lovely old hotel two week ends ago as part of a week end motorcycle tour. As I have had the pleasure of staying here in earlier years, it was a trip down memory lane. Insofar as the obvious age of the hotel, we had a wonderful stay. Dean, the manager and staff were most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tony Thank you for your review. Trips down memory lane are the best and always brings smiles to anyone! We sincerely thank you for your kind words and acknowledge all the work we are putting in to make sure guests such as yourself return and experience our establishment again. We will look into your suggestion as well. Warm Regards... More

JHB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was obviously once a majestic and magnificent hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable but unfortunately this hotel it has been allowed to go to seed. There is an air of neglect about it. There are very obvious maintenance problems everywhere. The gardens have been totally neglected and it is not cheap. Some of the staff are very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Coach House Hotel. We do appreciate your kind words and will pass your compliments to the relevant parties. You have also raised a few valid issues which we will see to immediately. Coach House Hotel does pride itself with its old-world charm so we do try to... More

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nostalgia took us back despite the appalling reviews. Boy were we sorry not to have listened to fellow travellers. Grotesquely over-priced. Excrementally bad food - cold, grey, piped mashed potato, string beans (5 of), quarter can of tinned tuna and some olives represented the sum total of their 'tuna salad' - a brief apology was offered that no lettuce or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our apologies for your experience at Coach House, we are steadily improving and the renovations are being done in sections so as to not inconvenience the guests...We are very proud of Coach House and the new team and hope to have the chance to show you around the improved Coach House. Sincerely Staff and Management Coach... More

Mokopane, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I decided to risk staying at the Hotel as it was hosting the Tzaneen Marathon that I was coming through for and logistically it just made sense, but having read some of the reviews here I was a little concerned at what I was in for. However, I can say on review that I was pleasantly surprised, and that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our Coach House Hotel. We appreciate your compliments and kind words as well as pointing out an issue which, thanks to your review, will be dealt with promptly. Coach House is filled with old-world heritage and we are ecstatic that you took time to appreciate just that. We definitely look... More

Johannesburg,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a shock it was to see this once beautiful old hotel having been neglected so badly and in such a rundown state. Very sad to see the rotting walls , broken roofs and totally overgrown and untidy gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Coach House Hotel. We are happy to announce that the renovation program has started and we look forward to welcoming you back at Coach House soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Coach House Hotel More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our room, or rather our suite was pure luxury. That was excellent and we were made to feel special. On the other hand the hotel is in severe need of a makeover. The gardens which used to be pristine are now very neglected. The evening meal we had was by far the worst meal I've had in ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kim Thank you for your review following your stay at the Coach House Hotel. Thank you once more for your compliments with regards to the suite you stayed in. You have highlighted some areas that we are currently working on with renovations having already started up. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the hotel. Heard things are getting better, but this is sadly not true. The food are really bad. I had the worst rump in my live and my husband had awefull trout. The pudding was old. We didn't finish it. Will never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are investing a significant amount of capital both human and other into the Coach House. We are rebuilding the kitchen staff and have just finished re-doing the kitchen itself. We apologise for any shortfall in meeting your expectations and are confident we will not only meet but exceed those... More

Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
47 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I felt like I was on a stage coach making a stop over. We loved the cottage style rooms where your wake up call is a door bell ringing as your morning coffee or tea is delivered through the door in your dresser in the room. The rooms were well appointed with fireplaces and a sitting area. For those who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, It is so very nice to hear from people such as yourselves that truly understand and appreciate the nature of a heritage property such as Coach House. History, antiquity and heritage all combine to tell a story, a story that is uniquely Coach House. We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms. Your home away from... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Coach House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 7 in Tzaneen
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
126.2 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel
Shangri-La Country Hotel
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
44.7 mi away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#6 of 15 in Polokwane
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer