We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Tzaneen hotels

Coach House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Coach House to your Saves list
Coach House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
44%
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Tzaneen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Bondinixinixiseven Mokopane, South Africa
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mokopane, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I decided to risk staying at the Hotel as it was hosting the Tzaneen Marathon that I was coming through for and logistically it just made sense, but having read some of the reviews here I was a little concerned at what I was in for. However, I can say on review that I was pleasantly surprised, and that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a shock it was to see this once beautiful old hotel having been neglected so badly and in such a rundown state. Very sad to see the rotting walls , broken roofs and totally overgrown and untidy gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Coach House Hotel. We are happy to announce that the renovation program has started and we look forward to welcoming you back at Coach House soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Coach House Hotel More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room, or rather our suite was pure luxury. That was excellent and we were made to feel special. On the other hand the hotel is in severe need of a makeover. The gardens which used to be pristine are now very neglected. The evening meal we had was by far the worst meal I've had in ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Kim Thank you for your review following your stay at the Coach House Hotel. Thank you once more for your compliments with regards to the suite you stayed in. You have highlighted some areas that we are currently working on with renovations having already started up. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the hotel. Heard things are getting better, but this is sadly not true. The food are really bad. I had the worst rump in my live and my husband had awefull trout. The pudding was old. We didn't finish it. Will never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are investing a significant amount of capital both human and other into the Coach House. We are rebuilding the kitchen staff and have just finished re-doing the kitchen itself. We apologise for any shortfall in meeting your expectations and are confident we will not only meet but exceed those... More

Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I felt like I was on a stage coach making a stop over. We loved the cottage style rooms where your wake up call is a door bell ringing as your morning coffee or tea is delivered through the door in your dresser in the room. The rooms were well appointed with fireplaces and a sitting area. For those who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, It is so very nice to hear from people such as yourselves that truly understand and appreciate the nature of a heritage property such as Coach House. History, antiquity and heritage all combine to tell a story, a story that is uniquely Coach House. We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms. Your home away from... More

Sandton
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent a night at the Coach House In February 2013. It is sadly neglected, dirty and not worth the rates charged. Management was absent. The staff were friendly and the food tasty, but staff can only do so much. THe hotel has not been painted in years, the showers were mouldy, the bar fridge dirty, plant pots were empty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Betsie, We apologise for your disappointing trip and have taken to heart all of the issues raised pertaining to Coach House. We are happy to say that these issues are all fixable and you will be happy to know that we are finally starting the renovation program, with gardens tamed, pathways cleared and new management en-route. Success is a... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We did not stay at the Hotel, only had Christmas lunch with our family. We had a lovely meal, with all the trimmings and could not have asked for more. The hotel does need some TLC compared to the grand establishment we remember of 15-20 years ago, however the views have not changed and given a good chance we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you, thank you, thank you.. We cherish your positive attitude and compliments, customers like you make our job so much more than just a job. You help us to believe and live the passion that is hospitality. Not much more to say other than thank you, thank you, thank you. Restoring glory one customer at a time.... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sadly, she seems to have abdicated and is no longer a shadow of its former glory. Having stayed at the Coach House on numerous occasions dating back to 1984, we were terribly disappointed to see this wonderful establishment going to seed. On arrival, the all pervasive smell of kitchen drains seems to set the scene, the litter strewn in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Tim, It is not often that I get the chance to read a review that raises serious questions and highlights the challenges ahead of us... I must thank you for helping to refocus us on the task ahead and motivating us to take on the challenge. As you may have read in previous responses we are actively restoring Coach... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not only are the facilities run down and desperately in need of upgrading, but the food was poor too. We spent a weekend there and tried to find alternate accomodation after the first night. The website advertising the rates was misleading as it seemed to provide rates per room, not per person. The rates do not provide good value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you for giving us a transparent and honest review of Coach House, rest assured we do not take service delivery issues lightly and have used your comments as part of our Management and Staffing review. Please accept our apologies going forward. You will be happy to know that we have committed plenty of resources both financial and... More

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been very sceptical about the hotel due to the reviews i have read about it, despite my husband trying to convince me of how nice the place is. I finally decided to judge for myself and i must say I went there with very low expectations. Needless to say i was proven wrong, the place might not be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coach H, Manager at Coach House, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property, we are always grateful for compliments such as yours and we use these as our prime motivator for our team. Your comments on "underrated" were well taken and fit in to our service ethos: (loving to serve our guests better every day). Hoping to see you... More

Been to Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House

Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen
Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coach House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.