We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Jeffreys Bay accommodations

All Africa J Bay Lodge

5 Schelde Street | Central, Jeffreys Bay 6331, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added All Africa J Bay Lodge to your Saves list
All Africa J Bay Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
86%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sophie S Germering, Germany
  • Overview
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germering, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The place doesn't look like much on the outside, but once you're in it's a different story, and there's a lot of atmosphere. There's a hands-on quality to it, as lots seems to be self built (which I very much appreciate). The rooms are clean, atmospheric and well thought-out. It may not be a perfectly organized place, but instead it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concordia, Argentina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Really nice place to stay, rooms are always clean, in the kitchen you have everything you need to prepare a good meal, and you can feel like home. The owner, Tyron, is really nice person, and if you stay on sunday you can have Potjie, wich is a traditional food in SA. I would highly recomend All Africa J Bay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Upon our arrival at the lodge, our room was not clean from the previous people and smelt of stale beer. We arrived late afternoon and the room was not ready - totally unacceptable. We found our experience/stay generally unpleasant. Very, very dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jbaylodge, Owner at All Africa J Bay Lodge, responded to this review

We are terrible sorry that your room was not ready on time as it was in the middle of our peak season, we had extra staff to clean but due to so many guests leaving and some leaving late it was really hard getting all the rooms ready in time. Sorry about the beer smell but if someone spills something... More

Kathu, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Being my first time staying in a backpacker's lodge, I was a little bit worried. This was totally unnecessary as the stay I had at All Africa J Bay Lodge turned into one of the most memorable experiences of my holiday. The rooms were tidy and clean and exceeded our expectations. Convenient stores and the beach is within walking distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the double room with private toilet and bathroom It was a bit like staying with family as we felt very comfortable and were made to feel welcome Good location and very near the beach. Theres a laundrette just a short walk away - very reasonably priced. Loved the 2 dogs in residence - as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After an exhausting 13hour drive from durbs All Africa Lodge welcomed us with open arms and a few drinks! Reg was extremely helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the rustic showers and amazingly comfortable beds!!! Overall a relaxed place and a highlight of this surfing paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a room to myself during the quiet season after Easter holidays. Walked to beach front restaurant alone at night. Cash machine and convenience store across the road. Friendly owner kindly allowed me to use internet at no charge. Slept well on a chunky design, wooden bunk bed. I would recommend this place to anyone and plan to stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place is fab. Had two of our most memorable nights of our South African trip here in All Africa. The hostel is extremely clean and comfortable. We stayed at Easter and had a lovely surprise of an Easter chocolate bar on our beds to welcome us to the hostel. The atmosphere here is incredibly warm and friendly and Tyson... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I came to Jbay by myself with no clue what to expect at all, but I could not have been happier staying at All Africa. Met the nicest people the first night I was there. Tyron and Reggie are amazing, make you feel right at home and part of the family. Never a dull moment at All Africa, but you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

I ur looking for a place to stay where u can go barefoot all day long, stay 100% chill and get the best shots and sleep at the same time - don't hesitate to stay here a while. I stayed for almost 3 weeks and I loved everything about it, and the service is great. Chilled, but great. I even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage All Africa J Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to All Africa J Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Africa J Bay Lodge

Address: 5 Schelde Street | Central, Jeffreys Bay 6331, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your All Africa J Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jeffreys Bay Accommodation located right in the centre of J Bay within safe walking distance of shops, restaurants and nightlife. A mere 100m walk from town centre and Main Beach the perfect place to swim or learn to surf in the perfect surfing waves of Jeffreys Bay. All Africa J Bay Lodge offers clean, comfortable, budget accommodation with quality, duvets, pillows and sheets supplied with ample bathroom facilities offering dorms, twin rooms, en-suite double room, luxury safari tents and camping facilities around the bon fire. There is private girls only bathroom and dorms available for privacy and comfort of the ladies. We offer meals all day long, laundry service and free internet and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer