We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Jeffreys Bay accommodations

Island Vibe Backpackers

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   10 Dageraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Island Vibe Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island Vibe Backpackers to your Saves list
89%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Louis_Stuart_Kelso Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    42
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
34
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Okay, so even in low season if you want to party this place is sick! Most of the guests and all of the staff are keen for some beer pong/pool or any other game you can drink too! Charmaine on reception is an angel. Attentive and kind hearted, she will make you feel welcome and at ease in a new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel is right on the beach - it's worth staying there just for that. It did seem a little run down but it was under renovations so I guess plans are under-way to fix it up a bit. The security is good and we felt safe there. Staff were quite relaxed and joined in partying with the guests which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espelkamp, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After all good reviews I was really excited to come to this hostel but when we got there it was awful. First of all we were 5 girls and booked a 6 bed dorm . We got a 12 bed dorm . They didnt want to give us refund or anything. Then 3 of 5 beds had hairs in their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The name is Programm :) The hostel really has a special relaxed vibe, which i really enjoyed. Being there for just one night was almost too short. Perfect for surfing, hanging out a bit and having a little of a party :) Would come back anytime :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

..for R500, the double room was way too shabby. There were red and brown stains on the linens, suggesting that they were NOT fresh. But the biggest problem was the smell in our room, which the stuff described as "wood smell", but in fact was more of a chemical type of nature, just NOT healthy. We could barely sleep...so check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Island Vibe Backpackers is a lovely place for people who want to get rid of the hectic city life for a while. The sound of the waves early in the morning dawn is a beautiful experience...Just the sea and sand, and ofcourse surfing to get the touch with powerful nature! I wished I could stay longer. Hopefully next time I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Island Vibe in August. Really didn't feel comfortable in this place. The staff refused to give us a key for our door and people came into our room on 3 separate occasions claiming to be looking for their friend. That's just unacceptable! It doesn't take much to give someone a key so that they would at least feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day! We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. We are looking into a solution to lock the dorm rooms - however it is difficult because they are glass sliding doors. We chose glass sliding doors because of the beautiful view, and because it provides good ventilation in the rooms. The locking mechanisms do not... More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel has a great atmosphere and friendly staff. It does not hurt that an amazing view of the ocean is waiting for you in the morning, and the sunset is beaming every night. The beds seemed clean, the staff was friendly and the kitchen was fully equipped. Here you can stay a while and many did. This hostel had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We didn't have a ton of time here, but it was a worth-while stop. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the food was good (although portions were only ok), nice self-catered kitchen, clean rooms (our dorms room was even self-contained), and gorgeous view of the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day! We are glad you enjoyed your time here - even if it was a short stop! We will look into our portion sizes. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed in the Beach House which was really nice, however it was a bit quieter so would loved to have stayed in the Main House too (they're both great however so it doesn't really matter). The location is awesome as it's literally on the beach, & you can hire surfboards & skateboards from the hostel. The food is really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day, Ashleigh! So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on the message to Freddy, Freddy and Daniel! Hope to see you soon!! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Do you own or manage Island Vibe Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Island Vibe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Backpackers

Address: 10 Dageraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Vibe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Island Vibe Backpackers