We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort

On the Beach at 500 East Orchid Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    34
    23
    34
See reviews for
83
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
bethesda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is right on the beach, but there are plenty of other hotels that are also on the beach, if that is a must. As noted here many times, the "lady" behind the counter is ridiculously rude and unfriendly. Not sure why she chose that job unless she enjoys making people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry for your inconvenience during your stay with us. The property has been totally updated for internet service this past year and the vendor promises no problems. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I have stayed here before a couple times. I have tried other hotels but seem to keep going back to this place. The views are absolutely breathless especially at Sunrise! Has an elevator which is great because I am disabled and cannot walk that much, especially steps. They even have the convenience of having wheeled luggage carriers that you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Me and my family have been going to Wildwood Crest and staying at the Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Hotel for over 10 years. It is the BEST!!! It is convenient for the family to come and go to the beach, enjoy the heated pool, and the poolside as well. The hot tub is a nice added bonus that no other hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. More 

Ledgewood, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We just returned from a five night stay at the Royal Hawaiian....had a good time overall but there are definitely pros and cons... PROS Location is on the beach, rooms have an ocean view Walking distance to several breakfast places Room rates were very reasonable! Room was cleaned promptly each day! Our room had a separate bedroom with two double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not advertise to be a non smoking property only the rooms are smoke free. The Hot Tub is kept at 98 degrees which is acceptable for a hot tub. We do have a restroom in our Game Room for our arriving and departing guest to use during... More 

Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We haven't visited Jersey in many years. We booked later confronting limited vacancy options. Through reviews, internet search, availability, we found the Royal Hawaiian. As we have posted in past, the definition of “resort” for many East Coast hotels is very different from the “resorts” you find in more extravagant locations. Readers also need to analyze content, differentiating between subjective... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will look into the complaints and try to correct. More 

Huntington, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just came home today so this is fresh off the press. 2 days prior to checking in I called to confirm our reservation. I was disappointed to learn that the amount quoted on my receipt that I received in the mail was less then what I was told when confirming. When I inquired I was told weekends start on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we will look into your concerns. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have been going to wildwood for years and the past three times have stated at this hotel . I have always brought our small dog ( the reason we stay here ) and have never been charged ! This year in early July I called and booked a room for 5 nights it was about 165.00 a night for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was unpleasant, you had no complaints till we confronted you about the dog. When we allow pets we charge because the rooms are sprayed and all bedding is washed and carpeting is shampooed. this is a time consuming process for all. More 

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Royal Hawaiian resort needs to put $ back into the hotel. The rooms are DIRTY and very OUTDATED! The management is awful and are not friendly at all. The pool is nice but that's it. If they updated the rooms and management was more friendly this place would do very well but until then we won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhawaiian, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The rooms are updated every couple years, We recently updated all bathrooms and carpeting. More 

Riverdale, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

location good..right on beach..rest was baaaaaad. DIRTY outdated place..crappy shower pressure and virtually no wifi.....i was told to go on the balcony to get service?????? what about in the room? parking was good but my family of 4..2 small kids slept on our air mattress we bought in case..and glad we did....did not want to touch anything...kept yelling at kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we will look into your concerns. More 

East Hanover, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our family has come here for a few years now. It is great because it is right on the beach, the pools are very nice, clean, and has a large walk in hot tub. Our rooms were updated and very clean. Beds were nice. Had microwave, and small fridge. They also had a big table in the unit which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look into your other concerns. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities