We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Coronado Resort

8501 Atlantic Ave., at East Preston Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Coronado Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

This is a very nice hotel and my wife and I have stayed there in the past. We stayed the night of October 17th. The room was neat and clean; we were happy to be there. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were told that there was no heat in the entire building. Room was about 65F when we when to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry1337
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Barry1337: I apologize your room was chilly during your stay. I contemplated switching over to heat the week prior (it takes 3 days to do this) but I didn't want our guests to swelter if the weatherman was wrong like last year. I took a chance. I'm sorry I was wrong. Enjoy the upcoming holidays! More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Been staying here for 10 years + and it's so relaxing waking up to seagulls and the peaceful sounds of the ocean. The friendly staff are the real luxury they make you feel like family keeps my family and I coming back every year. This year was a real celebration it was my daughters 1st experience at the Coronado at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian Q
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, LillianQ...my staff and I really appreciate our long-term guests and we'll keep trying to assure your future vacations remain to your liking! Enjoy the upcoming holidays. More 

Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Stayed there 20 out of 24 days in September. The pool was clean and warm, the kids areback to school so Iit is not noisy at all, almost too quiet. While the wi-fi was in and out, I really didnt care because I go there to get away from the rest of the world news, lol.The front desk people are... More 

Helpful?
Thank WildwoodBrian
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of our hotel, Brian. We shall continue to strive to keep you and all our guests pleased they have chosen our resort! Happy Holidays! More 

Vestal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We had hardly any interaction with staff except to check in and that was an ok experience. She never offered any information about the hotel just gave is the key and that was pretty much it. The pool area is nice and they keep things clean of course there was hardly anyone there due to the bad weather. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank wolfie1newyork
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Sorry for this mistake, Wolfie1NewYork. I did not hold any guest liable for non-stayed nights due to this "state of emergency". I refunded your credit card today for the night of your check-out. Please forgive this oversight. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We stayed here to be close to Cape May (wedding) and because it was so much cheaper than Cape May. This hotel was so clean, the rooms were large, the beds comfortable.. We were very surprised! Our room came with a small fridge, a coffee maker, a small sink, 2 burners, a toaster, and a round table that could sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our hotel, OliviaC...please come again when the Wildwoods feature in your plans! More 

Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We stayed for 1 week this past summer. The first night the A/C broke down for several rooms (12, according to the "management"). It was not fixed until the late the next day. "Bruce", the so-called manager, only "managed" to avoid my phone calls. When I finally reached him, he refused to refund that night's stay. The best he would... More 

Helpful?
Thank yoitseman
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Good morning, Yoitseman...so sorry you feel I fell short in accommodating your request. I wish you well. More 

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I booked directly with the hotel, which called itself a resort, but was not very nice at all. They had a large pool area that they used photos of to make it all look grand but it was just a dumpy 2 star (at best) motel. There was a balcony with no privacy curtain, just a heavy darkening curtain so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Hi, SandraR: I'm sorry you felt you experienced less than stellar service at my resort. I will personally inspect your unit and take whatever steps are necessary to rectify these issues for the next guest. Thank you. More 

Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

I just returned home a day early on what was supposed to be a anniversary trip for me and my husband. We arrived Monday and all was well .The hotel is about what I expected staying at a privately owned beach front hotel. Room was fine my husband was informed it would be a firemen convention, for witch we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deedee660
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Deedee660: As you acknowledged, you knew at booking that your stay was during the Firemen Convention (with seven Fire Depts) which usually use the entire hotel. However, as I explained to you, the hotel does not assign the Hospitality Rooms as these are chosen by the various precincts. We informed the handful of guests that stayed here during the fire... More 

Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We had a 3 day getaway with family ,with two rooms with kitchenettes. We were very happy with our stay. The building is not new, but it was very clean and modestly stylish. both of our rooms had beautiful ocean views, small decks but great to sit and drink coffee and see the sights. Our daughter's room also overlooked the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pam r
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

It was great to read of your stay with us, Pam r. Please think of us when next visiting beautiful Wildwood Crest! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

This is an exceptional resort we have stayed here over 6 years but never in room 220 and will never stay in that room again. This room is over the laundry room and you can hear the washers filling through out the evening. The vent for the laundry room is under the balcony making the environment unbearable. This room should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
Bruce R, General Manager at El Coronado Resort, responded to this review

Sorry about the noise, RobertA...I will look into this right away so no one else has this problem. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
1.4 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#26 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#19 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#13 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#11 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gondolier Motel
Gondolier Motel
#27 of 73 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay