We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant

7400 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant
Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant
Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant
Add Photo

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this motel and found a bed bug in the bed. After killing the bug, we took the bug down to the office where the kid apologized and moved us to a different motel. When I went back in the morning for a refund for all the trouble, the manager was very rude. Wouldn't even get out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angela T, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you found a bug near your husbands head while you were in bed. I called our Pest control company and they came out. They did not find any evidence of bed bugs in the room. I am truly sorry you were so upset. When it comes to a guests concern of this nature, we take it very serious. More 

Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

When i stayed everything was outdated the room was dark the carpet was sticky. Dead flies on the window sills. Certain rooms have balconies and i personally enjoy balconies, But atleast there was a restruant attached..that made me and three of my friends sick the restruant was dirty... IT NEEDS THAT HOTEL IMPOSSIBLE SHOW AND RESTRUANT IMPOSSIBLE SHOW.. I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Magalas, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Deciding a week before we were going to Wildwood Crest for a couple of days in the peak of the season didn't leave us much choice. We signed up for the Sand Castle and hoped for the best. We found a clean, friendly hotel with a great location. We wound up paying $150 per night for a room with 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Any time you need quick getaway in the heart of summer, we're here for you, Mike. Thanks for taking the time to share this review. Can't wait to welcome you back! All the best, Management Team More 

Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I've never written a review let alone a bad one but I'm so upset with the management at this place, especially Angela the so-called manager there. My parents are in their 80s and not well. My mom booked an efficiency on 8/18 by calling and speaking to Angela. She never spoke to my dad or us before doing so. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Two good things about the Sand Castle are the nice check in lobby and location in relation to beach, across the street. Rooms are small, dated, and very dirty. Appliances were dirty and rusty. No electrical outlets in bathroom. Caulking was cracked & broken around tub. Even the chairs by the pool were filthy. Disgusting. Wouldn't stay there again if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed the check-in lobby and location, but we're sorry to hear the rest of our place didn't match up in your book. We're always looking to improve and this feedback really helps. That said, we do keep to the highest cleanliness standards, so if something isn't spotless, let us know when you're here. Take care, Management Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was by far the most dirty and unkept motel I've ever stayed at in Wildwood . The room smelled dirty and for good reason, because it was. I only stayed here because I booked last minute in the summer and every other place I called was booked. No wonder this place had vacancies.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay here. Rest assured, we keep to the highest standards of cleanliness and sanitation. If you ever see anything out of order, let us know and we'll fix it immediately. Take care, Management Team More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Sand Castle Motel is indeed old (as other reviewers have noted), and so the rooms are small and do not have modern amenities (no outlets in the bathroom, only one outlet available to plug in phones, old AC unit installed in the wall, no full-length mirror, etc.). It is a real motel, so our room looked right out onto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thrilled you and your family felt welcomed when you stayed with us! It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our Sand Castle Restaurant, too. That said, we want you to feel as comfortable in the rooms as possible. We'll definitely take your feedback into account -- we're always looking for ways to improve! Hope to see you again soon!... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed in this motel for 5 nights in August 2014. Though quite old and in need of renovation, this motel is clean with very friendly staff and nicely located about a 3 minute walk to the beach. At our arrival the 2 ladies working at the front desk took care of us immediately and were very helpful during our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you felt welcome here! There's not much better than to hear you had a great stay. Can't wait to welcome you back to Wildwood. Take care, Management Team More 

Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Need to gut the bathroom and start over would be a good place to start. The caulk in the tub was separating and the tile needed to be replaced. The tile floor is old and dirty. As someone who lives in an 85 year old home and loves restoration, some things just can't be saved. This motel is so poorly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Rest assured, we take every measure to ensure each room is cleaned well. That said, we are always looking to improve, and appreciate your comments. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you a great stay! Take care, Management Team More 

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The rooms smell, and need to be updated really bad. No place to plug in blow dryers etc. in the bathroom. Very small room. The pictures they show make the place look better then it really is. And someone took some items from our room...not cheap things either. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Manager at Sand Castle Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Kelly. We're disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here. Next time, if there's anything we can do for you, let us know and we'll take care of it. All the best, Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay