We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Somerset Hills Hotel

200 Liberty Corner Road, Warren, NJ 07059
Hotel amenities
Somerset Hills Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mauisurfman West Paterson, New Jersey
Add Photo

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    33
    26
    30
    46
See reviews for
48
30
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
West Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I almost did not stay here because of reviews - my wife wanted to change to a Hilton on Route 22. BUT - I decided not to cancel and see what was "really" awaiting us. It was a real nice hotel! Some of the reviews are just not indicative of my stay. The place is easy to find, it has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There was a hotwire special for this hotel making it much cheaper than the other hotels in the area. After major travel delays, I arrived at Somerset Hills to check in late and while the good news is they didn't give my room away, the bad news is that it smelled like a petting zoo. I went back down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

First and utmost thank you for selecting The Somerset Hills hotel and please accept our sincerest of apologies for the unpleasant experience. We are undergoing a renovation and although our contractors are repeatedly told not to start construction until 8 AM on weekdays and 9 AM on weekends every so often the rules are not followed which is probably what... More 

Travelers are raving about these Warren hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We planned on staying in Warren NJ for two nights for a family function. We picked the Somerset Hills hotel because it was the closest hotel to where we needed to be. Although it is an older hotel, it was nicely decorated and very clean. There was plenty of parking and the staff were polite and helpful. The first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We recognize that our guests have many options so to be your hotel of choice means so much to us. I will certainly share your comments with our staff and please accept our sincerest apologies for the bathtub issue. We are undergoing a major renovation and hope we... More 

Cotati, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

This was my first and last time to the hotel. You walk in and it smells like my grandmothers living room where she poured on the air freshener to mask the smell of smoke. And as with this place too - you can still smell the smoke. Room was outdated, no fridge, wifi was horrible. They say they are updating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. All too often a guest has an unpleasant experience and does not take the time to share and we wake up one day and have no business and wonder why. We were a smoking hotel and are now non-smoking and we do experience issues with those that fail to honor hotel policy... More 

Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

The staff (at the front desk and in the hotel's restaurant) was friendly. The hotel itself needs some work. I spent the first 30 minutes in my room swatting gnats...about 5 of them. Then I noticed the spider webs covering the top of the lamp next to the bed (seriously covering it) and also hanging from the drapes...Apparently the housekeeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest of apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us at The Somerset Hills Hotel. We take all our guests comments seriously and yours is no exception. I have brought these issues to the attention of our staff and I assure you we have taken appropriate action. Once again thank you for your... More 

Arlington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We stayed in room 302 on the end. It was large and had a lovely wooded view. The room and bath were clean. This room was not renovated. I'm surprised with the number of coffee comments that the issue was not addressed. One in room coffee for two people staying three nights is stingy. Still no complimentary coffee on weekends.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your comments and for selecting The Somerset Hills as your hotel of choice! We apologize for the inconvenience with your credit card and the fact that the complimentary coffee service was not available the day you were here. We take all our guests comments seriously and will review our... More 

Canaan, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

When I pulled into the parking lot late last night, I should have been warned...only a handful of cars for a multi-hundred room hotel. I stayed while on a business trip, primarily because it was close to the company I was visiting. About halfway thru a miserable night of tossing and turning, I thought seriously about packing up and going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

First and utmost we wish to thank you for selecting The Somerset Hills Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience and offer you no excuses. We are in the midst of a renovation and yes things are not as they should be. Please know we appreciate your business and hope you will allow us the opportunity to show our... More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I recently stayed at this property and had a fantastic customer service experience. Anastasia at the front desk was very friendly and extremely accommodating in assisting me with a room selection to meet my family's needs. The restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you soooo much for your comments! We are fortunate to have someone like Anastasia on our staff and we are so thankful when our guests acknowledge our efforts. We realize you have many options so to be your hotel of choice means so much to us! We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future! Have... More 

Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I stay here quite often, i go to a near by hospital for treatment and just feel so at home at this place. One of the main reasons is the staff. Kevin has been wonderful in helping coordinate my reservations. The girls and guys at the desk are always so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast at the hotel is highly recommended,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are fortunate to have someone like Kevin on our staff and we so appreciate your kind words. We realize you have many options so to be your hotel of choice means so much to us! We look forward to hosting you once again in the... More 

Polk City, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed at the Somerset Hills Hotel to be close to family in NJ. Room was OK, typical 1980's room. No refrigerator or microwave, found in all the budget places around. ONE cup coffee maker in room, Why bother?? NO complementary coffee on the weekends, how cheap can you get? Comfortable and clean room, very basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew P, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review

First and utmost thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to The Warren, NJ area. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our guest feedback is very important to us and we take your suggestions very seriously. We hope if your travel plans should bring you back to the NJ area that you will give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay